We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We stayed here on Priority Club points in February - right at the start of Winterlude. The front desk staff at the hotel were great at check-in and included a lovely upgrade for us.
The rooms were relatively clean although there were a few cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling and the bathroom looked like it could have used a new counter or a bit of an upgrade.
It's a great location: close to the market & Parliament and also Elgin Street which has great pubs and shops.
I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Ottawa.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 255 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2010

So just got back from Canada, and spent 2 nights at this hotel. I enjoyed the hotel and Ottawa so much it had me wishing i had booked an extra day in Ottawa. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel is well located and a 5 minute walk from the canal and close to the downtown area. Rooms are great, large and spacious with full kitchens (Microwaves, fridge etc)

Regarding the staff, here is an example how friendly and efficient they are. I had checked out of the the Fairmont and took a taxi to the Holiday inn, i payed the driver and then went in. While checking in, i was asked for my credit card when checking my pockets i realised i had left it in the taxi. Within a few seconds the guy helping me was on the phone with the phone company, i was really worried as my wallet had most of my travelling money + credit cards etc. Within 30 mins he had gotten the driver to come back and return my wallet.

Great Service and the hotel is highly recomended

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I Booked the hotel 3 weeks in advance. The parking was sold out to NON-HOTEL guests before the 4pm check in time. There was no Valet or Doorman. I was told to park at the city hall parkade and given a tiny map. I got lost. My car was damaged at the public parkade. The manager's response was "TOO BAD"
Don't stay here.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank tigger6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday for two nights on the 16th floor, the very top, and it was excellent. The rooms are quite large with a kitchenette to make a quick breakfast and keep your beverages cold, etc. The rooms were very clean and the beds quite comfy. The only thing that bothered me was the noisy fan for the air conditioner.
This hotel is 5 minutes walking distance to the downtown area, parliament and Rideau Mall. Great location!! We would definately go back to Holiday Inn Suites again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielaKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

nice cosy hotel, room are large and with full kitchen. a no brainer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elhajeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

It could do with some interior updating. But overall it was a ok experience - close to the major sights, room I stayed in (for 4 adults) was big, it included a kitchenette with only a microwave oven, mini-fridge, coffee-maker. Coin-operated washing machines are available (on each level, I think).

Would have been better if they included breakfast in my package.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
Thank travellingbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I have travelled a fair bit over teh past 25 years from every province adn territory to southern resorts adn international destinations as far awy as China. I have encountered varying levels of service and I was truly amazed at teh positive attitude of the staff. The Hotel is conveniently located down town Ottawa and within an easy walk or short cab ride. Parking is available at a nominal charge ( $12). The rooms are very large and the price you couldn't beat at average $105 per night for 3 night stay. The Kitchenette was very well equipped and the hotel, though a little dated is exceptionally clean. Every staff member we encountered always greeted you pleasantly and positively, and when special attention was required, the reply was always a simple, "No Problem" from the request for a bottle of wine upon check in, to the addition of a cot when requested and to the acceptance of our small dog at teh hotel. I will be in Ottawa again in the near future and I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerfromNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.7 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#35 of 68 in Ottawa
379 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa East - Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Address: 111 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: $95 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing