We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very close to Rideau Canal and Parliament Hill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very close to Rideau Canal and Parliament Hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

nice cosy hotel, room are large and with full kitchen. a no brainer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elhajeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    108
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
72
60
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

It could do with some interior updating. But overall it was a ok experience - close to the major sights, room I stayed in (for 4 adults) was big, it included a kitchenette with only a microwave oven, mini-fridge, coffee-maker. Coin-operated washing machines are available (on each level, I think).

Would have been better if they included breakfast in my package.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travellingbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

I have travelled a fair bit over teh past 25 years from every province adn territory to southern resorts adn international destinations as far awy as China. I have encountered varying levels of service and I was truly amazed at teh positive attitude of the staff. The Hotel is conveniently located down town Ottawa and within an easy walk or short cab ride. Parking is available at a nominal charge ( $12). The rooms are very large and the price you couldn't beat at average $105 per night for 3 night stay. The Kitchenette was very well equipped and the hotel, though a little dated is exceptionally clean. Every staff member we encountered always greeted you pleasantly and positively, and when special attention was required, the reply was always a simple, "No Problem" from the request for a bottle of wine upon check in, to the addition of a cot when requested and to the acceptance of our small dog at teh hotel. I will be in Ottawa again in the near future and I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerfromNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

Booked this hotel as it was very close to walk to the Rideau Canal for skating. We booked a two double bed room that came with a pull-out sofa bed and small kitchenette (kettle, toaster, microwave, mini fridge and utensils) as we were a family of 5.
On check in we were offered an upgrade to a king room (Priority Club Platinum member) but decided to keep our current room.
Our original room had a problem with the pull-out sofa and on discussing with the staff they were very responsive to correct the problem. The found us another room, offered to carry our luggage to the new room, checked out everything while we were there to ensure everything was satisfactory.

The rooms were quite large. There was some peeling paint and the temperature could not be adjusted in either room we had (too hot) but were able to open windows, but overall I would say we were all very satisfied with the room.

The staff were very friendly and willing to assist to ensure our stay was enjoyable.

We did not eat at the hotel restaurant - plenty of options very close to the hotel from chain, fast food and local.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

Great spot, very clean, great large rooms, heated bathrooom floors etc. 10 minute walk from Downtown Ottawa and Parliment Buildings.

Could have a pool and hot tub that would top it off :)

  • Liked — distance to downtown
  • Disliked — no pool or hot tub
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

i stayed in Holiday Inn, Maidenhead, UK Nov '07 and it was far better than this with respect to room maintenance. Here the bathrooms weren't that tidy.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank inbaselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

Nic enough business hotel.

Good size room, 2 double beds, little kitchen area with a kettle, fridge, coffee maker and toaster

the hotel has a gym in the basement but there are no changing facilities so you need to wander around the hotel in your sweaty gear after you work out.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank scottishpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.6 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#28 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Address: 111 Cooper Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing