We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
London, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

Great spot, very clean, great large rooms, heated bathrooom floors etc. 10 minute walk from Downtown Ottawa and Parliment Buildings.

Could have a pool and hot tub that would top it off :)

  • Liked — distance to downtown
  • Disliked — no pool or hot tub
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    108
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
72
60
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

i stayed in Holiday Inn, Maidenhead, UK Nov '07 and it was far better than this with respect to room maintenance. Here the bathrooms weren't that tidy.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank inbaselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

Nic enough business hotel.

Good size room, 2 double beds, little kitchen area with a kettle, fridge, coffee maker and toaster

the hotel has a gym in the basement but there are no changing facilities so you need to wander around the hotel in your sweaty gear after you work out.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank scottishpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

We recently visited Ottawa as we had never been there before.
The hotel is fairly convenient to downtown, and Parliment buildings etc. Nice room, we had a one bedroom suite, full kitchen and 2 TV's. Had a minor issue with the thermostat in the bedroom which was taken care of in less than 5 minutes. Staff was very helpful in giving recommendations and directions, very friendly. Parking was a little inconvenient if you were checking in with luggage as there are stairs and multiple doorways to navigate. Overall a great stay, nice clean room....GREAT shower.

  • Liked — Shower
  • Disliked — Having to drag luggage up and down steps and thru doors
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank megary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

First the positives: Location is at short distance of many attractions. It took me less than 10 minutes to reach the Congress Centre where I was attending a conference. Staff at the front desk is friendly and helpful. Good selection of TV cable channels. Kitchen in the standard room had the basic necessities. Small but well equipped gym in the basement. Internet wi-fi works great!!!

Negatives: The hotel does not have a swimming pool. However, they have an arrangement with a sports facility a few blocks away that does -- for a fee. I never tried that but the hotel will reimburse you the fee. Parking in the basement is secure but there is a daily fee (~$12). The refrigerator in the room was set too cold and it was freezing the food. I used a coin to adjust the temperature. The cleaning services was somewhat sloppy. They didn't vacuum the carpet floor too good. But the issue wasn't egregious enough to complain at the desk. They charge for breakfast but they offered some free kids meal coupons but it's a gimmick.The problem is the coupons are only good if you order from a specific menu selection that's far more expensive. In the end, it all amounts to the same cost as paying for it individually.

Overall, we all (wife and kids) enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Wi-fi internet access
  • Disliked — Carpet floor cleaness...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank descobridor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

I have just returned with my family from a very good 2 nights stay at this hotel. I am not saying it was 100 per cent perfect but it was very close - taking into account you get what you pay for I'm sure some of the much more expensive hotels offer different things.
Booking was very easy, and enquiries after booking were dealt with quickly.
We thought we may be later than the book-in time so advised them of this (we weren't as it turned out) and they had no trouble with this and marked their computer to show this.
The room was great very big compared to most hotel rooms even with the 2 beds and a sofa bed open we still had more than enough room to move around.
The kitchenette was a very good idea, a seperate room with sink/fridge/kettle/microwave/toaster/coffee maker and cups etc.
Kids eat free and I expected very small portions...nope their meal was only slightly smaller than the adults meal.
The staff were very friendly and helpful all of them !
I left my bag in Lanes after breakfast one day, and when I got back upto my room realised what I had done. I went to go to the elevator and a member of staff was coming out with my bag for me (much less than 10 mins had passed).
One of my young children managed to lock the bathroom door after he had left the room (don't ask how I don't know!), within 5 mins it was sorted.
This hotel is on a quiet street and very easy to walk to everything in downtown even for children (they walked slow and still managed to get to Parliament within 20 mins).
Overall GREAT !

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithkidsmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

This could be a really great hotel. It has all the important things going for it. Large rooms and in a great position - quiet side street but within easy walking distance to most attractions. The bad things could so easily be improved.
We arrived at the hotel at about 7 p.m. after taking our time driving from Toronto - only to be told that they had given our room away!!! I had seen a previous review on tripadvisor saying that they had done this to them but, as they hadn't arrived unitl 1 a.m. I thought there might just be some justification. But I would hardly call 7 p.m. a late arrival and, in any case, seeing they charge you for the room anyway if you don't cancel by 6 p.m. they have no right to give it away no matter what time you arrive.

We had booked a king bedded suite and when all they could offer us was a double room we told them we would go elsewhere. At this point they suddenly found a queen bedded suite (pity the poor person who had actually booked this).
To be perfectly fair, at this point they went out of there way to be helpful. We were promised our booked room first thing the next morning and they were true to there word - the room was ready as soon as we'd finished breakfast. They gave us all three nights at a much reduced rate and gave us breakfast vouchers for all three mornings.

The breakfast vouchers probably worked against them. We were supposed to have a suite with kitchen. This never eventuated even when we did get our King suite. In that event we would have eaten breakfast in the room and not used the restaurant/cafe and not been aware how awful it was. We would arrive each morning to a cold, bare and completely uninviting room. None of the tables were made up - cutlery, cups, etc. are only brought once you've ordered. The breakfast choices are appalling with only one remotely healthy choice. Our waitress must have taken lessons on how to be impolite. When we handed her our breakfast vouchers she informed us that 'you don't get juice with tha you knowt' as if this was something we obviouslty couldn't afford to pay for and would immediately cause us to cancel our order for juice. We never could work out why the room was freezing cold. Everyone was complaining and I heard one member of staff say something about it being to do with the humidity. Our coffee and tea arrived approximately at the same time as our breakfast but we saw one poor guy still begging for his well after he had finished.

Our king suite, when we eventually got it was large and light and nicely furnished with a beautiful view over the city. The bathroom was also quite nice and fully marble. It was interesting to have seen the queen suite however, as obviously only the top rooms have updated bathroom. The one in the queen suite was plasticy and horrible - totally univiting.

The linen in the queen suite was nothing short of disgusting. I peered at the bottom sheet for some time but could still not decide if it was actually a sheet or just a mattress cover. It was so rough and scratchy I couldn't sleep on it and, as the sheets on the fold out bed looked suspiciously as if they hadn't been changed. I ended up sleeping on top of the sofa with a blanket thrown over me. The linen in the king suite was better but far from good and the bed was so rock hard even my husband, who loves a hard bed, woke up with sore hips.

And, finally, the elevators. These were so slow all you could do in the end was laugh. Lifelong friendships were built up by fellow guests waiting for the elevator. As we were just on holiday we could make a joke of it but if you were on business and needed to get to a meeting it wouldn't be funny.
All of the bad points I've mention - linen, bookings, breakfast room - could so easily be rectified for little cost so I hope someone in charge reads this.

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — shoddy linen, hard bed, terrible cafe, slow elevators
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#28 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.9 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Address: 111 Cooper Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing