We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you need Wi-Fi, this is not the place for you” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you need Wi-Fi, this is not the place for you”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

As an airline crewmember I've been staying here for several years now. The wireless internet has always been bad and I was reminded this past week just how bad it is. I stay at over 100 hotels per year and I can honestly say this hotel has the worst internet service of all. That's why I am writing this review - so hopefully management will take note and fix it!

Even though I was on the 7th floor the best signal was "Holiday Inn roof." I think the building has about 15 floors so you can see I was far from the roof and a lot of concrete between me and the antenna. I tried calling my wife on Skype and the connection was so bad we terminated the call. Facetime did not work any better. I was able to check my email during the day, but after returning from dinner I could not even connect to the internet. Time to bring this hotel into the 21st century!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geraldz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear geraldz,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    108
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
72
60
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Location is convenient, room was clean and comfortable, and price was reasonable. However, I was particularly impressed with the friendly and efficient service provided by everyone I encountered, especially Shelley at the front desk who cheerily found me a phone charger when I lost mine. I did find the internet to be rather slow at night, but everything else was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiceC1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've stayed at this HI many times while in Ottawa and have always enjoyed my stays. The rooms are clean, well appointed, and everything works. It is a high rise style hotel, so you need elevators. The elevators are older, slower, but not enough to prevent me staying there. You just have to spend some time waiting for elevators! From this hotel, you can walk anywhere in Ottawa that matters. The Parliament Buildings, Byward Market, restaurants, bars, attractions, everything. That's why I like the location. The parking at the hotel is limited, and the underground? Well if you have an SUV or larger vehicle? The entrance is larger than the exit! You may get in, but not get out! They have oversize vehicle parking, but it too is limited in size. Last time I stayed here, they recommended I park at the City Hall parking lot, just around the corner. I did. It was way cheaper and larger!

Room Tip: The north views are great if you get up above the 10th floor. If you like the sunshine, take the sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms! The Suites were very spacious, staff couldn't be more helpful and the area is perfect to explore Ottawa!

The only negative was something that couldn't be helped. Construction in the underground parking and maintenance on the elevator was a little annoying.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheProbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at this hotel. We had no problem whatsoever, our 16th-floor room was clean and quiet. The three elevators were quick and efficient, resulting in minimal waits despite a full hotel. Service was excellent, every minor request was promptly followed-up on. The location is great, tons of restaurants nearby, but one block away from the main road (Elgin), and a stone-throw to the canal. Highly recommended overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Clean, spacious rooms,friendly staff, parking for big & small vehicles, close to downtown amenities.

This is a reasonably priced hidden gem in Ottawa !

I have stayed in various Ottawa Hotels and this is by far my favorite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKRMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I really like this hotel. It is less than 5 minutes walk from the Rideau Canal, 10 minutes from the Rideau Centre and the University of Ottawa, and 20 minutes walk to anywhere in downtown. It is also reasonably priced.
The room I had was a queen bed suite with a kitchenette. The kitchen was reasonably equipped, although not exactly generously equipped. The nearest grocery store is about 10 minutes walk away. The room is not huge, but it is reasonably comfortable. A little table with 2 chairs, a comfortable chair and ottoman and a smallish TV.
The only real complaints were that the refrigerator was noisy, and since the room was a studio style the bed is only 10 feet away, so as a light sleeper it was somewhat difficult to sleep. The other minor complaint is that all of the taps are backwards. They are all single handle taps with hot to the right instead of the traditional to the left. Confused me for the first couple of days.
There was no shortage of hot water, no noise from the hotel. Breakfast was good. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Both the front and the back are quiet, but if you are a late sleeper and you are there during the sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NamedePlumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.6 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#28 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Address: 111 Cooper Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing