We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for Sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our room was upgraded, as I am a IHG member, and it was a lovely room, very large with a jacuzzi bath, which was perfect after a long day of sightseeing. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was really good, and included in the rate. We were only a short walk from the river and many of the attractions.
My only gripe was the cost of the parking, which I thought was high at $17 per night. We loved the hotel and loved Ottawa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 255 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Weekend of Aug. 23rd to 26th, we stayed at this hotel. We found it to be very comfortable and close to the downtown stores and restaurants, walking distance to everything. We went to the
farmers' market near the Rideau Center, and the Parliament building. Everythng is nearby.
The staff there is very friendly, at reception and the restaurant. Very good food also.

Room Tip: Highest floor is 16th floor, view of the Ottawa city hall. Really nice view over all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25KenBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose this hotel based on Price and Location. And as the saying goes you get what you paid for. The room is Dated and the room Decor was vintage. That being said you are two minute walk the Rideau Canal another 15 minutes and you are at the Rideau Centre and Byyard Market. The staff are friendly and our room was clean. The WIFI worked very well. Underground Parking is avaiable but has very limited height restriction. Was able to use the well equiped Business Centre to print off boarding Passes with ease. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get an east facing room you can view the Parliament Buildings from ninth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Rob.canada,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here recently on a business trip, we were on our way to Montebello QC and stopped here for the night to break up the trip.
We arrived late and being a saturday night saw alot of people around in the surrounding area, I can only assume a nightlife center isn't too far away.
We walked into the hotel around 12:30am, one thing that did disappoint was we were told their parking was full and we would have to park at a nearby parking lot in City Hall, the directions we were given were poor but eventually we found it, it was only about a 5 minute walk, but with bags and 3 people walking through the streets at almost 1am it could have been very different.
I had a room on the 14th floor, the view was ok, the room was very spacious and seemed pretty clean, with a semi-comfortable couch to sit on and a nice size bathroom.
Overall not a bad place to spend the night if you're in the area, I wouldn't suggest using it for a long term vacation stay, just a one / two night stay if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyfarty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear martyfarty69,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel was clean, rooms were clean, staff was very friendly, no complaints there.
Only complaint I had, was there was no food service of any nature (even room service) open before 7AM. I was there for my son's regatta and we had to be at the water by 7am, so this made our morning a little more challenging.
Otherwise, good hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were upgraded to a queen exec. suite! Front desk service has been awesome and the room is fabulous! Everything is very clean. The parking garage is very limited in spaces and is having a few repairs done.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my partner. We were given a large room with a kitchenette and two double beds. On the surface appeared to be very clean and well kept. Only issue was on clearing the room to check out, we found a used condom under the bed. Had we found this at the start of the week we probably would have complained - but as we were checking out we didn't see the point. Other than this the stay was good.

Great location and well within walking distance of the Ottawa sights. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If you have any questions about the local area, then the man at the front near the elevators was very happy to help!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
0.7 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#33 of 68 in Ottawa
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#14 of 68 in Ottawa
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Address: 111 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: $95 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing