We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant and helpful staff made the stay better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is our second stay at the Ottawa Marriott both during the winter festival called Winterlude. They serve a wonderful breakfast buffett with fresh fruit and fresh om, ets to our order. This gives a good and hearty start for a day in the cold weather. A short walk gets you to the confederation park to view the many ice sculptures. Real design and artistic technique talent and time are dedicated to this amazing art form. We arrived in time to see some of the artists at work on the projects on opening night January 31st.
Last year we also toured the lovely and interesting Parliament which is only a short walk away as well.
Agreat location and great helpful stafg.
The crowds and lines were very long on the weekend days. We peeked thru the official lines and then returned on Monday night and saw them all without any crowds. Stay for a weekday if you can to enjoy the art in peace.
Skating on the UNESCO Heritage Sight Rideau Canal is also within range. Over 7 kilometers of groomed jice for some of the best outdoor skating anywhere. There are skates to rent and places to rest as well as snack places. We used our own skates that we bought there.
The Ottawa Marriott discovered we had a terrible travel day and surprised use with a lovely note and coupons for the first days breskfast . A really thoughtful comforting gift obviously thanks to an attentive check in person.
Our luggage was lost in transit to add to the travel woes. They provided us with robes to help us out.

Room Tip: Some rooms have just been redone. Ask for one snd ask for a view of the Parliament aldo.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
There are newer reviews for Ottawa Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently and must say that the renovations of the guest rooms are amazing and truly represent the class of the marriot brand. They have gutted the rooms and replaced the beds, floors, paint and furnishings. They are very modern, bright and stylish. Doesn't seem pretentious or the wall color doesn't keep you awake or feel uncomfortable like most modern rooms in this category of hotels. They have changed their bath products to Thann which is a high quality rice derived product, great smelling and not full of nasty chemicals. Smells like citrus and wood. The bathroom is small as others have mentioned on previous reviews, but it's clean, bright and works. The shower head was good pressure. The bed is very comfortable, clean duvet and pillows are great too. The views on a corner suite are quite something else. You can get great parliament and river views in a corner suite. The balconies are sadly sealed up now. I'm not sure if this is just for the winter? That's the only downside. Business area is simple and clean and has a lot of room to work on. No fax machine though but front desk can accommodate. Pool area is clean and they changed a bit of its appearance. Didn't check the gym. The sauna is great. Always piping hot. Very large. Largest in Ottawa compared to all other hotels I've stayed at and also is separate by gender. Theres s tim hortons actoss street. Some food places nesr by and its very centrally located inside the downtown ottawa "core". buses close by and attractions. The front desk team is great, always smiling and always exceeding expectations. Sarah the weekend manager is friendly, kind and even went through the trouble of coming up to room to speak personally since phone disconnected. Simple stuff. The little things. She compliments that Marriot team. Hiram is also a very attentive and very accomodating manager. Always a pleasure speaking with him. Housekeeping staff are very friendly as well in the halls and they always seem organized. I've had some flaws before or mishaps with previous stays but they really make the effort to redeem themselves and set things right. They put guests
first and for that, I'm returning. I highly recommend this hotel for all purposes.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanJAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My spouse and I participated to the 2011 and 2012 Army Run in Ottawa. On both occasions, we stayed at the Marriott on Kent Street. They offered a substantial discount for people registered for the run. Rooms are well furnished, very clean and the King size bed is comfortable. For sure I will book again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

i have stayed at the ottawa marriott several times and have always been satisfied - my last visit was no exception. the staff are consistently courteous and attentive, even in the face of my prevailing persnicketiness: l am always well equipped with extra towels, my room is fastidiously maintained, and every other request is met with grace and courtesy. the rooms are spacious and offer decent amenities. and the location cannot be improved upon - it's in very close proximity to all major attractions and holt renfrew is located directly across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mundabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

room -
we had a great room, a larger room, as we asked for this, that was a king with a pullout couch. We had 2 adults and two kids in the room, and the pullout would have sufficed but we asked for a rollaway, and were given it without hesitation and it was in our room within a half hour.
The view was of downtown Ottawa and many of the capital buildings. Great view.

Kids -
They have a whole floor for a play area. It includes a swim area, a floor hockey and basketball court area with foosball,and then another room for xbox, indoor play slide and castle and area for kids under 4. We were there with a hockey team and the kids had plenty of places to play and get their energy out with the whole hockey team without bothering other guests.

Starbucks - in the lobby. Need I say more?

Restaurant in lobby with bar - very good food. Very expensive, $28 for breakfast buffet for adult and $8 for kids. They had a full hot breakfast that was excellent though, and was worth it when we had very little time to prep before our day.

Parking - you do have to pay for parking, which was expensive. We ended up doing the valet as it was $6 more than regular (total of $26/day) and we would call down to them 5 minutes before we were leaving. Our car was there waiting every time. It was worth the extra $6 as we came and went 2 or 3 times each day. They also left it close to the entrance so it was watched daily.

close to shopping and bars downtown, close to parliament, 10 minute walk. Great location.

Honestly, Ottawa is cold in December. Who goes there in December? Just crazy hockey families like us. But this hotel was in a great location for downtown. They were extremely courteous and helpful, recommended many restaurants and just very nice all around.

Room Tip: rooms that end in 22 (IE 2222) were a larger king room with pullout couch, chair, desk, etc. Tons of...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colleend24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

To make it short:
1. Very good location, Close to parliament hill, Core DT, a few minutes drive from the highway.
2. Very good management. They know how to take care of the customers. (Specially if you are staying there for longer period).
3. Good service. Love the Lounge. The ladies serving at the lounge are excellent. I feel like at home only :).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I travel to Ottawa at Christmas time each year and stay in a hotel for a few days before the big event. This year I chose the Marriott for a change and I was quite impressed. Checkin was smooth and efficient even though there was a huge group checking out at the same time and the lobby was full. The front desk staff were so calm and very informative.
One of the programs the hotel has (and I cannot remember the exact name) was one where if you did not require housekeeping services during some/all of your stay, they gave you a $10 voucher/night for use in their lobby bar/restaurant. I know some folks like to be looked after (have their bed made/towels changed, etc) every day but when I am staying for a few nights, I find it a waste of time and the environment. I don't change towels every day so for 2 nights, I don't need them changed in a hotel either. Plus, the hotel is actually giving you an incentive not to. There program worked for me anyways and yes, I did use my voucher in the lobby bar!
The rooms were quite large and well appointed with free wifi.
Overall, it was definitely a hotel I would happily recommend to both family and friends as well as business colleagues. It is just so centrally located in downtown Ottawa.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms...you can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillYTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
2,137 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottawa Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottawa Marriott Hotel

Address: 100 Kent St | Enter on your left from Kent Street (corner of Sparks Street), Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#7 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#7 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $158 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottawa Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodations in the heart of Canada's capital city, Ottawa Marriott Hotel will exceed your expectations with impeccable service as well as beautifully designed guest rooms. Business and leisure travelers appreciate our Ottawa hotel's premier amenities, which include free in-room Internet access and luxury pillow-top mattresses. Flat-screen TVs and Marriott's exclusive Plug-In technology help you stay connected and productive while you are a guest in our Ottawa luxury hotel's rooms and Executive rooms. Additional hotel perks like a heated indoor pool and our popular Kids' Zone ensure an enjoyable stay for guests of all ages. Enjoy comfort food with a modern twist at our "spin" Kitchen & Bar and sip fresh-brewed coffee at our onsite Starbucks(R). Meetings in our Ottawa hotel's meeting and conference rooms are memorable, thanks to more than 35,000 square feet of business and event space. Ottawa Marriott Hotel also offers expert meeting and event planning services. Our Ottawa luxury hotel's superb location makes it easy for you to explore famous Ottawa attractions, including Rideau Canal and the National Gallery of Canada. For a restorative and thoroughly enjoyable stay in the nation's capital, choose Ottawa Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ottawa Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ottawa
Ottawa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing