We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel - little touches make all the difference”
Review of Swiss Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swiss Hotel
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique hotel - little touches make all the difference”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is lovely. The rooms are decorated in a fun way with lots of colour, ipads and homely touches. I would take a room here above a 4/5 star sterile hotel any day.
The staff were really friendly, the whole hotel was immaculately kept, the rooms were quiet, great mattresses.. etc. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanBotham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    119
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
29
170
45
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The first day I arrived in Canada, I fell down and cracked my elbow. The Swiss Hotel owners and staff proved to be my family in this country. I have been in 5-star and luxury hotels in different places, but I don't think I would have found this feeling of being cared for anywhere in them.

Sincere human interaction aside, the place is clean, close to OCC, restaurants, the mall, market.

The room is small, but very clean. The bed is really comfy. The toilet is small, but well equipped.

Their buffet breakfast is small but rich (only CA$15, and need to book the night before). I loved it. I stayed for five days, and have breakfast for 4 days (I slept and missed the 5th).

I would definitely recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Short story:
Hotel is clean. Rooms are small, bathrooms are small, great location.

Long story:
Booked two reservations through their website. Because their reservation system could only book one room at a time, I booked two separate reservations. Upon arrival, they only had one of our reservations and had no record of the second reservation that was made (I had both confirmation emails; I assume that the purpose of a confirmation email is to confirm that the reservation was received).

Because of this error, our group of four had to be split up. The lady at the reception (who I believe was the owner) immediately called up the Albert House hotel and got the other couple a room and stated that she would absorb the difference in price. The Albert House is quite a distance away (i.e. had to drive, not within walking distance), so for the first night the four of us were not able to spend a late night out with wine. The Albert House did provide free breakfast, so we ended up having breakfast over there instead of at the Swiss Hotel.

During the second night of our stay, the owners had a cheese fondue which while I'm sure it was very good, the odour permeated the building. Let's just say, stinky cheese that wafts from the basement up to all floors is not a pleasant odour.

It would have been very nice to have received something for the major inconvenience that our group had to endure on the first night. The owner did cover parking (which worked out to $24), however breakfast for four would have been much more appreciated since parking can be found for free around the neighbourhood on the weekends (and we were there on the weekend).

While it is tempting to rate the hotel low (losing our reservation and the odour), the response was okay (it wasn't spectacular and it wasn't poor, it was reasonable). I would have probably rated this a four (and certainly it could have been a five), but a three seems right.

Room Tip: Try to stay on a top floor; Room 103 and 104 are quite loud because one faces a somewhat busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toronto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a true value - the hotel is very clean, decorated tastefully, with outstanding service and very comfortable bed. The room we stayed in was a queen size standard with very clean and crisp linens (white, European style down comforter), comfortable firm mattress, very clean bathroom and shower. There was an electric water boiler for tea or coffee, flat screen TV, and even an Ipad for our use in the room. The old historical building is charming and the hotel is very elegantly decorated in European modern style. The breakfast, although not included, is well worth it! Eggs made to order, an assortment of fresh fruits, home-made musli, and a variety of home baked breads and pastries and excellent coffee. The location could not be better - we walked to restaurants, shops, galleries, and the art center easily even in real winter-like conditions of sub-zero temperatures. Outstanding service, very friendly hostess, great service - all in all a truly wonderful experience.
All in all, a truly wonderful experience

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannerottolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

As I write this review I am sitting in the lounge area of the hotel, in front of a fire lit for me by the owner so that I can do some work in the warm!

The family that run the hotel do a wonderful job. My room was clean, very comfortable, stylish and quiet. With free wi-fi and french press coffee available in the common area, this hotel ticked all the boxes for me and I would definitely visit again.

Thanks for such a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Swiss Hotel is a tucked away gem close enough to the Byward Market to be considered prime location, but embedded within more residential streets. The rooms are nicely decorated with a clean, modern aesthetic and the bed is immaculate (rid of the usual nasty unwashed throws and pillows!). If that's not enough, Sabine is one of the warmest most genuine people you'll encounter. Highly recommended for anyone visiting the Capital!

(We stayed in a Double Room, which was rather small, but well worth the Winter Rate!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Swiss Hotel was awesome! I stayed here when attending a conference at a ridiculously overpriced hotel nearby and it was so great. Great central location, easy access to all kinds of transport, restaurants, centres, shops, etcetera. The hotel itself is also great. The rooms are clean, trendy, very European-style. The people who run this hotel are also extremely friendly and accommodating. I can't say enough about how great the breakfast was. My only recommendation is that if you're traveling in the winter, spring for the room with the fireplace - the heat is through radiator and doesn't quite reach through the entire room as much as I'd have liked, but it wasn't that big of an issue. Apart from that, the bedding is very soft and the beds are so comfortable. Free wi-fi, available printer for boarding passes, etc., the iPad in the room - all so great! I'll definitely be back (probably in spring, haha)..

Room Tip: Spring for the fireplace room if you're going in the colder months! The rooms have hardwood floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jailynnleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
247 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
1,401 reviews
ARC The Hotel
#23 of 67 in Ottawa
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Property: Swiss Hotel
Address: 89 Daly Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6, Canada (Formerly Gasthaus Switzerland Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiss Hotel is ideally located in downtown Ottawa in the heart of the Nation's Capital within easy walking distance to tourist attractions, shopping, restaurants, bars, and convention sites. This European-style boutique hotel has modern flair and offers its clients a warm, cozy and intimate accommodation experience with friendly service in a quiet, stress free environment. Each of the 22 rooms has private bathroom, A/C, European style white bedding that is 100% cotton with plush duvets, hardwood floors, free hi-speed wifi internet, an iPad and a Nespresso coffee machine in every room. For business or pleasure, choose from standard, superior, deluxe rooms with a fireplace or our romantic getaway suite with a double Jacuzzi. The hotel offers an optional healthy Swiss buffet breakfast, as well as opportunities for small meetings. The hotel also has a pretty courtyard garden patio for relaxation - a true oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing