We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Service, hotel with Character, yummy Swiss Breakfast.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swiss Hotel
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
“Lovely Service, hotel with Character, yummy Swiss Breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

This hotel is very close to downtown. 100m to the main street. It was renovated last year so the rooms and bathrooms have modern decor with very comfortable beds and a great showerhead. Each room has an Ipad and free internet. Very affordable for the location especially compared to chain hotels nearby.
The owner and all staff were absolutely lovely, very friendly and helpful. The optional Swiss Buffet breakfast was delicious especially very good coffee and eggs cooked to order, the scrambled eggs are great and traditional bircher museli.
Be aware there are steep stairs up to the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnyTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    114
    31
    8
    9
See reviews for
27
163
45
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

Once again, the Swiss Hotel near the University of Ottawa was a standout! Fresh espresso every morning, full breakfast, ease to walk where ever I needed to go, This time I got a room with a fireplace and for the winter it was wonderful. I've stayed at the Lord Elgin, but this is the one I'll keep coming back to! Thoughtful hosts. Private without being faceless. Great bedding, European design, ipads (wi-fi if you've brought your own computer). A couple blocks from Byward Market food and art scene. Quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REJ810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

They got my attention with the iPad and I was very happy with my stay I'm the end. The room was cosey and comfortable. Cool design. The breakfast was fantastic. And sabina was lovely. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeflanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Spent 3 nights here and was very comfortable. The place has been well thought out with some excellent finishing touches. Only let down is paper thin walls and being able to hear everyone else go about their business. Despite that though, I would stay here again, the advantages outweigh that.
Location couldn't have been better. 5 minutes walk to Byward market area and a wealth of shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

When I met Sabina at reception, it was as if I knew her for years. She was very accommodating and courteous. The service was impressive. The rooms are clean and the beddings are new and very clean. My stay there was fantastic. Vanita, the housekeeper was wonderful too. I had a swell time with new friends from different countries. Sabina is a mother indeed. Thank you Sabina and Vanita.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezekiel16088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

The Swiss Hotel offers great value for business or vacation travellers, singles, couples or families. The hotel is in a perfect location within easy walking distance to downtown, the University of Ottawa, the Byward Market, and the Rideau Centre. Sabina and Jacob are wonderful hosts and the hotel is a great home away from home. The rooms are comfortable, spotless, and well furnished, and the breakfasts are delicious and more than substantial (cereals, fresh fruit, cheese, baked goods, eggs, toast, juice, great coffee). I had not visited Ottawa since the late 1990's when I used to stay at the Swiss Hotel regularly. When I visited again this month, I was not disappointed. The Hotel is still perfect but now has free wifi, flat screen televisions, updated rooms, and the same great hospitality and breakfasts. The rates are extremely reasonable for what this hotel has to offer. I would highly recommend the Swiss Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

After landing in Toronto 4 days ago we left the city after two days and came up to Ottawa. We didn't have anywhere pre-planned to stay but came across the swiss hotel. Sabina was more than acommodating to us and got the four of us in a room together. We only intended on staying one night but ended up staying an extra 3 nights! The room is extremely nice and comfortable and the beds are lovely and comfy. Bathrooms spotless and whole place is very nicely decorated. As four travelling students in a new counrty we felt safe and very looked after. All four of us would highly recommend the swiss hotel to anyone :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#18 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARC The Hotel
#21 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Property: Swiss Hotel
Address: 89 Daly Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6, Canada (Formerly Gasthaus Switzerland Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiss Hotel is ideally located in downtown Ottawa in the heart of the Nation's Capital within easy walking distance to tourist attractions, shopping, restaurants, bars, and convention sites. This European-style boutique hotel has modern flair and offers its clients a warm, cozy and intimate accommodation experience with friendly service in a quiet, stress free environment. Each of the 22 rooms has private bathroom, A/C, European style white bedding that is 100% cotton with plush duvets, hardwood floors, free hi-speed wifi internet, an iPad and a Nespresso coffee machine in every room. For business or pleasure, choose from standard, superior, deluxe rooms with a fireplace or our romantic getaway suite with a double Jacuzzi. The hotel offers an optional healthy Swiss buffet breakfast, as well as opportunities for small meetings. The hotel also has a pretty courtyard garden patio for relaxation - a true oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing