We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 54 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in this guest house and can see why it has the number one ranking. Richard is a perfect host and on arrival makes you feel welcome with a tour of the house and lets you know the must see sights in the city. Sonny is an absolute delight and gives everyone a friendly welcome in a morning. He has his own chair in the dinning room and sits quietly whilst everyone has breakfast. A good breakfast is provided which sets you up for the morning and it is nice to smell the croissants baking before you come down.

I stayed in the green room and had a good nights sleep each night. My room like the rest of the house was a perfect period piece with retro furnishing. It fact the house felt like it was a slice of the 1930s which works well. Byward Market and Downtown are both 15 minutes walk away and there are local shops and a pub on the doorstep. Richard kindly drove me to the station to catch my train which was very nice of him. Would stay here again if in Ottawa.

Room Tip: Be sure to follow instructions on how to lock the front door. Richard is particular regarding house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    101
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
99
268
39
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pistoia, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Elegant and old fashioned house, with a gentlemen owner that will give you all precious information you need for visiting Ottawa and Ontario also.
We stayed in the green room, that is sunny and spacious, with a shared bathroom.
Breakfast is great, and Richard will be careful with all his guest that everything is going to work out for the best.
And remember in the house hall there is a reserved seat for Sunny, the lovely owner's dog.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ombretta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Richard was an excellent host. He was informative, friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was so relaxed and like a family gathering with all the guests, our host and of course Sonny joining in the conversation. In fact Sonny was the icing on the cake. He was an extremely friendly dog - you must ask for him to do some tricks! He makes this B&B an unique experience. A most enjoyable stay in a very comfortable and homely B&B. The Tower Room was quiet and provided the best nights sleep we've had away from home. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Ottawa.

Margart & Howard UK

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We found The King Edward B & B on TripAdvisor and decided to stay there for our couple of nights in Ottawa. As reported elsewhere, Richard is great with providing information about the area and based on your interests help guide you. He responded to me regarding questions I had even prior to our visit. We ended up staying a couple of nights in Montreal also based on Richard's suggestion. Breakfast was good with fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade muffins, and eggs if desired, coffee and juice. We were in the burgundy room with its private balcony. It does have a shared bathroom but this was not a problem. We arrived early as planned and were fortunate enough to be able to check in early. We enjoyed the Parliament building tour and the evening light show there. Make sure you carry great walking shoes as you will need them! We also toured the Canada War Museum which my husband greatly enjoyed. We wandered through the Byward Market and went into the church. We were fortunate to have had great weather the entire time we were in Canada. If you like B & B's, this is one I would highly recommend. Richard will ask you about arrival time when you book. It is helpful if the time changes to let him know so he can be available to greet you.

Room Tip: Front room has private bath and a balcony. Burgundy room has private balcony. Middle room shares a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in Ottawa for 3 nights with Richard and his dog Sunny at Auberge the King Edward B & B. Richard is a fantastic host who goes out of his way to ensure you find attractions in Ottawa that suit you.
We stayed in the Burgundy room which has a shared bathroom. The bedroom was spacious with quiet air conditioning, a screen door for fresh air and a circulating fan. The house is centrally located, and once we got our car parked in his driveway, we were able to walk or ride our bicycles to everything that we wanted to see or do. Ottawa is a very friendly, cyclist city. Paths along the canal and rivers are both scenic and safe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planahead_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We've stayed in multiple bed and breakfasts over the years and Auberge The King Edward was one of the best. The inn itself is lovely, clean and beautifully furnished. My husband could not stop taking pictures of the staircase and all the beautiful antiques!
But no bed and breakfast is complete without the host and Richard is the best around, he's not only a great cook but he's also a great tour guide. He knew our stay in Ottawa was short so he gave us all the "must dos" therefore we were able to make the most out of our visit, and with everything in walking distance, we were able to get our exercise too!
We travelled with another couple and I can honestly say that all of us recommend the Auberge The King Edward.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms have balconies which provide great spots to enjoy a glass of wine outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clg923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Recently had a super 3 night stay at Auberge King Edward. The best way to get the most from a trip to central Ottawa.
On arrival Richard gave us a half hour intro to the highlights of Ottawa. This included a map, an insiders guide to the best routes to view the daily changing of the guard between barracks and Parliament hill. He also covered the major museums, the evening "Son et Lumiere" at parliament square, the nearby 24 hour supermarket and LCBO.

We had an excellent breakfast to start each day, (puts most hotels to shame). Then we followed the soldiers to Parliament, so enjoyable we did it again the next day again.

The bedroom was very pleasing, all the mod cons (A/C, WiFi, TV and mini fridge) in a well preserved century+ townhouse setting. The front garden was beautiful, hope the Chinese banana tree makes it through the Ottawa winter.

I heartily recommend this B&B, and especially Richard and Sunny who so obviously enjoy running it.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
196 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast

Property: Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast
Address: 525 King Edward Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7N3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Edward B&B is a century-old heritage home in the downtown area of Sandy Hill. It is the closest accommodation to the University of Ottawa. Because of its central location, this B&B is within easy walking distance of all major attractions in the city including Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre, the National Gallery, the Congress Centre, the Museum of Civilization and the ByWard Market. Most guests who come here never use their car because of our location. In its 20th year of operation, this B&B offers unsurpassed Victorian decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing