We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely home, gracious host and quiet comfortable room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely home, gracious host and quiet comfortable room.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This B&B provided a lovely 3-day escape after a hectic week long business trip.The house has been beautifully restored and is filled with antiques, plants and sunlight. I stayed in the Tower Room as I like having my on bathroom. The room was comfortable and quiet, the windows completely kept out the traffic noise. I often feel like a guest in someone's home when I stay in a B&B but I felt at home here. Richard is a gracious and unassuming host and we had some lovely conversations about his world travels. His dog Sunny is a delight, well-behaved and friendly. I had my own key to come and go at my convenience, breakfasts were simple but tasty and everything is within easy walking distance. The house also has two comfortable sitting rooms for guests to enjoy. My only regret was that the weather was still cool and I could not sit out on the balcony or enjoy his garden full of flowers. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    101
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
99
267
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

King Edward B&B is a large old Victorian house with lots of character which has been lovingly renovated by the owner Richard over a period of over 30 years. We arrived by train - just a ten minute taxi journey from the station to King Edward which is in the university area of the city and is just a pleasant short walk to see all the main sights of Ottawa. We stayed in the Tower room during a hot spell in May and much appreciated being able to relax on the balcony with a drink following a full day walking around Ottawa. The breakfasts were plentiful and Richard was extremely helpful as to how to make the most of our 2 night stay and he also arranged our early morning taxi to the train station when we left. We would recommend King Edward to anyone and would definitely use again if we were to return to Ottawa.

Room Tip: The Tower Room is very large, has its own en-suite and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

It was wonderful event at the Auberge B&B in Ottawa, over 2000 tulips welcome visitors from across the globe to one of the most attractive heritage buildings in Canada, a unique setting of furniture, artwork and a fantastic decor combined with an incredibly wonderful host.

Richard, our host prepared the most exquisite dinner accompanied with the finest wine together with great friends, thank you Richard for a wonderful evening.

Zaki & Alissar

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at the King Edward. My room ("Green room") was quiet, beautifully decorated, and the bed large and the mattress, firm. The house feels like a home and the owner, R. Gervais, is generous and ready to help one with any questions about Ottawa, tourist sites, university locations, etc. The "household" also has a delightful dog named Sunny. Breakfasts are beautifully served and the eggs, delicious. I would recommend this b&b to anyone travelling through Ottawa; it's a great find.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are equally pleasant, for having seen two of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A super B&B. Richard has lovingly restored this historic home. He is a great host, interested and friendly. Great location to walk and see the sights of downtown Ottawa. Free parking is a bonus in this prime location. Breakfast was great with fresh fruit salad, fresh croissants, homemade muffins, yogurt, mushroom cheese omelet. Very nice presentation. I had access to two large sitting areas and the dining room on the main floor as well as outside deck and gardens.Richard was knowledgeable about Ottawa, as well as almost any other travel destination in the world. He had lots of international travel books scattered about and we had a great conversation about the not so common sites to see in Paris! Private balconies come with the tower and burgundy rooms. I would definitely return if going to Ottawa again. I felt at home and much more comfortable than in any hotel. Thanks for a luxurious stay in the Burgundy room.
Rosemary

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The King Edward B & B is conveniently located in Sandy Hill near the University of Ottawa, a short walk to the Byward Market, Rideau Canal, Parliament Hill, National Gallery and Museum of Civilization. Richard is a very helpful and informative host and his non-shedding dog Sunny is friendly and well behaved. The B & B is a tastefully decorated character home and the bedrooms are well separated. I stayed in the green room which was spacious and clean, the bed very comfortable and included a flat screen TV. The breakfasts were delicious, hearty and are served in a very comfortable Dining Room. I will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deseronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The King Edward B&B was a wonderful welcome back to my old Sandy Hill neighbourhood. Richard is a warm and attentive host and Sunny the dog makes you feel you're one of the family. The Burgundy room is beautiful and spacious -- just wish the weather had been warmer to take advantage of the great balcony. The breakfasts are plentiful and tasty -- I never left feeling empty! The B&B's location is within easy walking distance of the Transitway, downtown and the Byward Market. And what a delightfully international place -- while I was in residence I met guests from Germany, France and Canada. I would happily come back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast

Property: Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast
Address: 525 King Edward Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7N3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Edward B&B is a century-old heritage home in the downtown area of Sandy Hill. It is the closest accommodation to the University of Ottawa. Because of its central location, this B&B is within easy walking distance of all major attractions in the city including Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre, the National Gallery, the Congress Centre, the Museum of Civilization and the ByWard Market. Most guests who come here never use their car because of our location. In its 20th year of operation, this B&B offers unsurpassed Victorian decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing