We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend Time in Ottawa”
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Ottawa
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tecumseh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spend Time in Ottawa”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

The hotel was great. We were on the 21st floor. The view was wonderful and at night the Parliament buildings are lit up and spectular. The service was very good, hotel very clean, if you called the desk you were looked after immediately. Beds were very comfortable. Walking distance to the market, boat tours, shopping etc.

Room Tip: High up facing the Parliament Buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Janet S,

Thank you for your feedback! I’m so happy that you had an excellent stay with us here at the Westin Ottawa.

The view of parliament is one of our favorites, it never gets old. Ottawa is such a beautiful city and we are happy you were able to enjoy it! It’s also wonderful to hear that you had a great experience with our staff and you were looked after immediately.

We hope to see you again soon!

Be well,
Ross M
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    598
    214
    86
    32
See reviews for
418
509
97
831
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Very nicely appointed hotel post renovation.
Links in with Rideau Mall which is of benefit in the Winter.
Bar/Restaurant is excellent providing a good menu and range of drinks.
Staff service is great, rooms are comfortable.
Gym/Pool provides a greater than normal range of weights etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear TorontoRN,

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is quite convenient that our hotel has access to the Rideau Centre, we hope you had time for some shopping! I’m also happy to hear that our staff was great, we try our best to make sure each guest has a special stay.

Please come back again soon!

Be well,
Ross M
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2014

My family stayed here while visiting Ottawa last week. The location of the hotel is ideal as you can walk to everything and never need the car. The room was very nice and well appointed. It was fine for what we needed while in Ottawa. My only complaint was that the price seemed rather high especially for the parking but as I stay with Westin for business travel I try to stay at Westin properties as much as possible but compared to other hotels in Ottawa it seemed rather expensive. Otherwise a good hotel and a great location.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Directly in the mall thats cool in the winter, close to everything, nice modern room,

Few problem at the check-in because of my last minutes booking with booking.com but thats fine

Staying in december 2012

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dany651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear dany651,

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your room and the close proximity to the Rideau Centre. I do apologize about any problems at the front desk and trust our staff was helpful and accommodating.

Please come back again soon!

Be well,
Ross M
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Beautiful hotel to stay and it's very close to all the activaties,located in the center of the city,walking distance to every thing.The service at the hotel is excellent ,the checkin, hotel staff and concierge,can't want anything better.The hotel shower will blow your mind. highly recommended this hotel .

Room Tip: club room is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KISH60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear KISH60763,

Thank you for your feedback. I am beyond delighted that you had such an excellent experience staying with us here at the Westin Ottawa! I will make sure that our team is recognized for the service that they provided you.

I’m happy you enjoyed our Westin Heavenly Shower system, we love the large droplets that cascade down creating the effect of a warm and gentle rain!

Thank you again for your wonderful comments, we hope to see you again soon!

Be well,
Ross M
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I will stat with the parking, there is construction on the main street in front of the hotel, so its hard to figure out how to enter, but once you do, there's plenty of parking spaces, however, these are not for the hotel, and they are not very close to the door. There were no signs to show where to drop off luggage and passengers. On the checkout, only one of the two self-pay machines was working.

The front office staff are some of the rudest I've encountered in all my travel.

And another first, the hotel was out of blankets the night we checked in.

Rooms were good, bathroom was as large as the room.

This is a fairly expensive hotel, and the neighborhood was a bit dodgy.

The Four Points in Gaintanu (please see my other review, is a much better option)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear MikeyR,

Thank you for your feedback.

I apologize for any inconvenience that parking may have caused you. We do not actually own the parking lot so the self-pay machines are not controlled by us. I will note your comment on signage as this is something we can definitely look into.

It is concerning that you have identified a disappointing experience with our front office staff, if you would be interested I would like to hear more details about this experience. I invite you to email me at rmeredith.01083@westin.com.

We do hope to see you again.

Be well,
Ross M
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our stay at the Westin Ottawa was really great. It comes with everything you expect from the Westin brand: great service, high quality rooms in every way, and super location. The parking situation isn't great. One has the option of choosing valet at an exhorbitant rate, or there is a self-parking option that doesn't allow in and out privileges. Other than that, it was a great say and I look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suitcaseismycloset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
191 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Ottawa

Property: The Westin Ottawa
Address: 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is near Parliament Hill and the scenic Rideau Canal, historic sights and world-class shopping at the adjoining Rideau Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Westin Ottawa
Westin Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing