We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and hotel”
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Ottawa
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 22, 2014

What more can I say? It has a good gym with two rooms and a lot of equipment, jacuzzi, swimming pool, quiet rooms, large wonderful beds and a unique system for the elevators (advertised as the only one in North America). They care about their customers: the stopper in my bathroom sink was not working but I did not bother to report it, since it is common to find this issue in many hotels. However, the maid must have noticed it while cleaning the room because an employee of the hotel knocked on my door, saying that he had come to fix the problem with the sink stopper. Also, one morning I woke up to find a note under my door: it explained that the hotel was very sorry for the noise outside the previous night, but it was caused by construction being performed by the city of Ottawa and that the hotel had contacted the city to complain about it. I am a light sleeper and did not hear any noise, although I understand that some people staying in rooms in a different location, heard it. These examples show the care the hotel administration has in relation to its guests.
The only negative point about the hotel is that its restaurant, Daly's, is extremely expensive, so be aware that breakfast is not going to be any cheaper than, at least, $20.00. It is a robbery! Since there is a mall attached to the hotel and you have no need to go outside, you can always avoid the exhorbitant prices for breakfast in the hotel by going to the options offered in the mall.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,183 - 1,189 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with the whole experience. I am generally not one for larger chains, preferring boutique and BnBs, but the conference convenience in the cold won. The room was clean and well appointed (so happy they had not surrendered the room beverage service to those dreadful Keurig machines! I love tea that doesn't taste like coffee). The view of Parliament Hill both day and night was lovely.
The best part of this place is the staff. They are friendly, helpful and just the right amount of outgoing. From the moment they greet you to take your bag after a long trip, you feel welcome. Clearly, the place is well managed and customer service is at the core. Nicely done!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeophyteHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear NeophiteHiker,

Thank you for reviewing the Westin Ottawa. I am thrilled to hear that you decided to stay with us and that the experience exceeded your expectations.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Be well,

Ross M
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently for a conference at the hotel. I have to say we were quite impressed. The staff were so attentive and welcoming. We had a lovely room with amazing view of the canal, Parliament Hill, the National Gallery, etc.
Having visited Ottawa only a few times in the past for the National Gallery, we would definitely stay here again. I want to mention that they catered the conference dinner and the food was very good. So good in fact, we ordered room service twice for dinner.
A really pleasant stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: starwood members have their own floor-amazing, panoramic views from large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had our wedding reception at the Westin and stayed for 2 nights following. Our suite had a wonderful view of the canal and was spacious and clean. The location is fantastic being attached to the Rideau Centre Mall and 2 minute walk into the downtown Byward Market. Hubby and I spent the day wandering the little streets together and checking out the many restaurants.

The staff leading up to the wedding and during our stay were phenomenal: super attentive, courteous and made us feel like royalty. Highly recommended for a short stay and especially for a wedding reception!

Parking is Rideau Centre parking or you can pay extra for valet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Anne P,

Thank you for your comments. I am honoured that the Westin Ottawa was your destination choice for your wedding reception, and very happy to hear that your stay was wonderful for this very special occasion!

I hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Be well,

Ross M
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Travel quite often worldwide but first time to Ottawa. The familiarity of the staff in checking me in, greeting and answering all my very specific local questions (dinner, where to rent skates to blow some steam off on the frozen canal out front, etc) was WELCOMED and exactly what I have become accustomed to in every country I visit. It was refreshing the comfort I felt (almost like home) when I checked in!

Room Tip: Rooms one the front of the hotel are just fine unless there is a big accident out front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anton_new_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

With great views of the parliament buildings, The Peace Tower, and the Rideau Canal, The Westin has indoor access to The Rideau Centre, and is a short walk to The Byward Market. The rooms are spacious and clean and check-in service fast and efficient. Excellent valet and concierge service. Pool and gym are just slightly dated but its an older hotel in the heart of the city, and not expected to have water slides or a grandiose pool as in some of the suburban hotels. My kids wanted to know when we'd be returning next.

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining rooms and a view of the canal on a upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melmotheroftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our 6 yr old for 1 night. The check-in process was fast and professional. We used the valet parking which was also great. My daughter received a welcome pack with all kinds of fun things to keep her busy during our stay.
The room was large and clean. The "city view" is not very nice. Rooftops and construction.
The only negative comment is that the noise from the ice machine just down the hall was very loud and made it difficult to fall asleep.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Bellatraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
418 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 68 in Ottawa
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Ottawa

Address: 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $153 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is near Parliament Hill and the scenic Rideau Canal, historic sights and world-class shopping at the adjoining Rideau Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Westin Ottawa
Westin Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing