We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Ottawa
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
British Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location, location, location...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Each time I travel to Ottawa or Gatineau, I stay at The Westin. Its location, which is adjacent to The Rideau Centre, renders it the ideal place to shop, grab a coffee, or dine. In close proximity to the Hotel are prime tourist sites such as the Byward Market, the Parliament Buildings and the National Arts Center. The rooms are modern, well appointed and maintained. I highly recommend the Westin to those travelling to Canada's capital.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear amelot,

Thank you for posting your review! I am thrilled to hear that we are your hotel of choice in the Capital region! Thank you for recommending us to the Trip Advisor community, and I hope to welcome you back for more great stays in the future.

Be well,
John J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    575
    209
    83
    31
See reviews for
404
494
94
795
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Westin is very nice. Recently renovated, very nice lobby, slightly small rooms on some floors but very nicely appointed with large bathrooms and nice seating areas around windows with good views. The room service breakfast is excellent and the location couldn't be much better. Staff are excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaEricM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived in Ottawa in the fall to see the Autumn colours, we spent three nights at the Westin to acclimatise. the hotel is very busy with business and political personnel as it is near the Parliament building. It has excellent rooms, ours had a view of the city towards the canal and the parliament.
FLOOR 19 ROOM 1917 to be exact. we based there for a few days looking around the area and city, the hotel facilities are excellent the staff do everything to make your stay memorable, buffet breakfast with a wide choice and all you can eat. we toured around the east of Canada for five weeks returning to the Westin for a further 4 nights to ROOM 1916 again on the 19th floor, again with the same city views before returning home to Scotland.

Room Tip: Room towards the city best room 1917
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
310 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

You won't go wrong whilst in Ottawa by staying at the Westin. The location is great - attached to the Convention Center and the Rideau Shopping Center, and mere steps away from the Byward Market area and, of course, the Parliament, National Arts Center, etc.

Very comfortable and, for Ottawa, large-ish rooms, many with fantastic views of the city, especially lovely at night. Great Westin bed and bedding, quiet floors, in-room coffee and small fridge, although the mini-bar configuration of the fridge is, sadly, no longer in use and you'll have to BYOB. Many people have commented about the unusual elevators, but the hotel appears to have worked the bugs out and I found them most fast and efficient compared to traditional elevators.

The rather limited toilet amenities seem always a bone to pick with Westin, and the mis-matched coffee pot and filter packs do bring out the MacGyver in you. The lack of a lobby bar is unfortunate - they've packed the bar into their upscale SHORECLUB restaurant which is insanely good but even more insanely expensive. Opt for the third floor restaurant instead, or, better yet, walk two blocks to Byward Market where an incredible array of pubs and restaurants awaits.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Parliament building or National Arts Center. If you're a Starwood Pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holokauahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Holokauahi,

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our downtown location, and that you enjoyed the view from your room. I am also very happy to hear that you found our elevators to be fast and efficient compared with a traditional elevator system - our renovation is now complete, and all elevators are back in service!
With regards to the coffee pot and filter packs in the room, although it is a tight fit, the filter packs were actually designed specifically to fit the machines we have in the rooms. If you every require extra toiletries or amenities, we are happy to supply extra upon request.

Be well,
John J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

i stay here 2 or 3 times per year, always consistent quality. The do a great job recognizing repeat customers, it is close to most parts of the downtown core and has very good amenities on site - gym is decent for a Hotel, and the restaurant is very good, for a hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have a much better view of the city, but otherwise it is quite consistent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6bills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Have stayed at the Westin Ottawa several times for business and find it to be so conveniently located that it's my favorite. This is a hotel who's standards never drop. Always clean, comfortable and peaceful sense of luxury that's not too ostentatious and they are very customer service-oriented. This is the side of the Rideau Canal to be on, for Byward Market, great restaurants and if you need to shop, Rideau Centre is attached directly from one of it's levels right into the hotel - nice touch! It's only a short walk over the Mackenzie Bridge or through the covered walkway over the canal near the Chateau Laurier to get to Parliament Hill. Highly recommend it and use whatever plan you can to get some $'s off the rate (AAA, CAA, Government employee, Senior...whatever) - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Higher is better but really any room is good in the Ottawa Westin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_infinity_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear j_infinity_w,

Thank you for posting your review! We take our pride in our consistently high levels of service and standards, and it's great to hear that our efforts shone through during your past visits. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future when you travels bring you to Ottawa.

Be well,
John J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse,ny
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

As a SPG, I used my points to book 2 rooms the first weekend in September. The rooms were clean, spacious and bright from the large windows. The hotel connected to the Rideau Center for shopping and eating and was very convienent. The staff and reps at the SPG desk were very courteous and helpful. A short walk to the Byward Market and Parliament. Unfortunately the changing of the guard ended for the season but the light show on Parliament Hill was excellent. I would stay at the Westin again when visiting Ottawa. Great experience overall.

Room Tip: SPG members have a separate floor. Ask for a view of Parliament Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
0.7 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#10 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#20 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Ottawa

Property: The Westin Ottawa
Address: 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is near Parliament Hill and the scenic Rideau Canal, historic sights and world-class shopping at the adjoining Rideau Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Westin Ottawa
Westin Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing