We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas at the Westin Ottawa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Ottawa
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Christmas at the Westin Ottawa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Our family spends every other Christmas at this hotel so are quite familiar with it.
It is a very good hotel but needs some attantion for it to be really excellent.
The rooms overlooking Parliamant Hilll boast one of the most iconic views in Canada, particularly with all the Christmas lights.
The beds are very comfy and the room temperature easily adjusted. Staff are invariably considerate and helpful.
Some negatives though. The coffee machine serves one cup at a time and all you get to brew it into is a paper cup! We got a microwave when we asked for one but they didn't have a toaster for our bagels. They boast how green they are but offer no towel racks if you want to hang up your towel to reuse. Low flow toilets sound like a rocket ship but no toilet brush to clean up. Valet parking is well done but I found $30 plus taxes in ottawa to be excessive.
They are very pet friendly and produced a bed, water and food bowls and mat for the dog at no charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a Rideau Canal or Parliament view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandNMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    575
    209
    83
    31
See reviews for
404
494
94
795
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

have stayed in ottawa a number of times for business and personal reasons - the westin, though a bit more than other downtown hotels is 100% worth it for sheer convenience alone. Stayed a 4 day weekend here recently with my husband - who loved sleeping in, while i walked out the third floor doors straight into the mall - no coats/mitts/taxi needed! Rideau centre joins with the Bay downtown and then empties out into Byward Market, hub of so many awesome shops and yummy restaurants, and adjoining a number of Parliament/Government related buildings.
The hotel is warm, inviting with a smashing lobby, great weekend brunch, lovely hot tub and fitness room and pool to relax in. I didnt try the massage/spa options but they seemed quite reasonably priced.
the bathrooms were clean, and with Euro-style showers, never had to worry about hot water. the walls seemed thin - but we never heard our neighbours, only the occasional parade on Rideau.
and...the beds are heaven - no wonder they have a price list to buy one if you so choose! they are fabulous!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatetwistcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Had a great stay there this past summer. It's benefits are well-known: an amazing location for Ottawa business or pleasure, a beautiful room and view... the whole nine. Unfortunate incident led to some damage to stored luggage as we arrived too early in the day for a room. Staff immediately acknowledged the accident and volunteered to replace the item. After leaving it for a few months, I was reminded when I needed my suitcase so I emailed to follow up on the previous committment. No questions asked, they were more than willing to help solve the problem with nothing but efficiency and politeness. Stuff happens to everyone but they solved it right away, not many places would do that. Well done, Westin! We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Great location, great venue, great service. Hard to go wrong here. Worth the price.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RoadMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Recently stayed at the Westin in December of 2011. The stay was excellent. Very comfortable beds, the bathroom was very nice, and the mini fridge was a nice touch. I was on the 10th floor, so the view through the massive window was amazing. There were chairs setup with the backs facing the window, but I couldn't resist the view and I ended up turning them around so I could be greeted with a wonderful view of downtown Ottawa when I took break from work on my laptop.

The room offers free Starbucks coffee and tea which I didn't actually end up using but is a nice gesture. They also have an LCD TV which I was able to connect my computer to via a HDMI cable so as to watch any movies. But there is a lot to do in Ottawa so don't

The location of the hotel is excellent as well. Parliament Hill isn't very far away and I found that Elgin Street is always a nice place to walk down as well. The hotel connects to Rideau Centre via the third floor. So if it's too cold outside and you don't have to walk outside if you don't want to. The hotel itself is also very close to the market. You can even walk through Rideau Centre, use the overhead walkway into The Hudson Bay and head into the Market from there. That again, reduces the amount of time walking outside in the cold.

The only downside I came across was that room service was very pricey. But again, that is a minor inconveniance. I ate out or went to the food court in Rideau Centre.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again on my next trip to Ottawa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kash_K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Every business trip to Ottawa, my first choice for hotels will always be the Westin! I've stayed in a variety of Ottawa hotels and the Westin is always consistent in meeting my expectations. Granted, they are standard rooms, but the heavenly bed, the in-room Starbucks coffee / tea, the bathrobes, and now the availability of having your own mini fridge (without anything stocked - which is perfectly fine) adds to the convenience for the business traveller.
In addition the hotel is attached to the Rideau Shopping Centre where you have Godiva chocolates within steps of the hotel.
The only reason I did not rate this hotel excellent was the lack of understanding from the housekeeper when I left a note beside the daily housekeeping tip asking for 10 additional cream for my in-room coffee (placed beside the coffee maker), I come back at the end of the day to find 10 hand lotion bottles in the bathroom. I gather that English may not have been the first language and I understand that in some countries, hand lotion is sometimes called hand cream. Just a minor inconvenience, so I walked down to the Starbucks in the mall and bought additional coffee and took some cream back to my room (stored in the mini-fridge) to be enjoyed for the rest of my stay.
Ordered room service for breakfast and although it's pricey, it's a great way to start the day. Had the egg white omelet with cheddar & broccoli along with a side salad...yummy and healthy. I would not hesitate to recommend the Westin for your stay in Ottawa!

Room Tip: My first choice is always a corner room with a king size bed, but this time there were only doubles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_G08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear Victoria_G08
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Westin Ottawa! I was very pleased to read that our hotel is your first choice when visiting our beautiful city. I do however apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the cream vs. lotion request. In the future, you may wish to contact Service Express by dialing “0” from your guestroom telephone. One of our agents would be pleased to fulfill your request at a time that is most convenient for you. Thank you once again for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Ottawa time and again.
Be well,
John J
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse ny
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here last weekend. We had heard Ottawa was a pretty city with the ByMarket and Rideau Center for good shopping, so thought we'd head up and do some christmas shopping. The Westin is gorgeous, very modern and up to date, great room, but the best thing about it is the location. It is attached to Rideau Centre, a very nice and huge indoor shopping mall with some upscale shops so we didn't even need to go outside to get there. It also connects to the Bay, a huge Canadian Dept Store. ByMarket was wondeful. Its a huge (about 10 blocks by 10 blocks) district of old historical storefronts (an old historical farmers market) with tons of unique restaurants, shops and bars. We spent hours walking around here. Parliment buildings were a few blocks away, an easy walk. Our room overlooked the Rideau Canal and we could see the city all lit up with xmas lights, the entire city puts up colored lights everywhere. The Westin is the place to stay if you want to get there, park the car and explore on foot! (Underground parking for 48 hrs was $20, not bad!)

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear mlb50,

Thank you for your comments! I am very to read that you enjoyed our hotel, and were able to take advantage of our unbeatable downtown Ottawa location! The National Capital Commission certainly does an excellent job of lighting up our beautiful city around the holidays, and I am pleased to read that you were able to enjoy their efforts from the comfort of your room after a day of convenient shopping and exploring the Byward Market.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Be well,

John J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
0.7 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#10 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#20 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Ottawa

Property: The Westin Ottawa
Address: 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is near Parliament Hill and the scenic Rideau Canal, historic sights and world-class shopping at the adjoining Rideau Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Westin Ottawa
Westin Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing