We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,397)
Filter reviews
1,397 results
Traveler rating
677
529
143
35
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
529
143
35
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground parking coventry road the breakfast area laurent mall st laurent conference center complimentary breakfast great hotel breakfast staff large bathroom microwave and fridge hot tub close to downtown short drive yogurt easy access nice stay
Filter
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 1,397 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Hampton Inn is a great hotel. Our room was very spacious (so spacious that we were able to fit a cot in the room as well) and the bathroom was double size. This room also included a kitchenette. Very clean hotel throughout and the breakfast was good. They must have anticipated a busy weekend and included a breakfast on the main and second floor. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karmar1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear karmar1965,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review and share your thougths on your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and are glad you found our services, facilities and location suit your needs.

I can see you were here on one of our very busy weekends: yes, we do open up our meeting rooms upstairs for breakfast overflow on those days, to make sure everyone can get breakfast and actually sit and eat it without being rushed by waiting people.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Good service, always met with a smile but it definitely needs updating. They have updated the front desk, entry area and eating area but have left out the most important...the rooms. It is the old Hampton Inn style and look. If you are looking to spend your time near the capital than this is not the place for you but if you are touring all of Ottawa than the location of this Hotel would be a good choice.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank ChezQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear ChezQuebec,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review of your stay at our hotel! We are very glad you loved our service - our staff works very hard on making each and every guest feel at home and welcome!

You are right, we have updated public areas of the hotel, and now we will be moving into guest rooms - we have already changed most of the mattresses in rooms, and very soon will be updating all king rooms with brand new pull out sofas. Stay tuned for more updates, they are coming soon...

We appreciate your feedback very much, please feel free to contact us directly should you wish to discuss anything further.

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

On July 4 I wrote a letter to General Manager Nuala Dinardo expressing some concerns that my husband and I had with regard to the suite we rented Canada Day weekend. (Dishwasher...no dishes; microwave...no dishes... cutlery, glasses, cups - nada). As of today (July 31) I have not had the common courtesday of a reply. The staff finally provided us each with one set of dishes....no room for more than one meal! We had a dishwasher in the suite...but no soap. All very strange. But strangest of all is the fact that the hotel has not responded. Tells me all I need to know about their customer services.

Jean Crowell, Lewis Lake, NS

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank jeanc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Jeanc c,

Thank you for your comments on your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! I have just called our General Manager, who is currently on holidays, to verify whether she has received your comment either via email or mail. She has not received anything - she will be back from holidays on August 11th, and would appreciate if you could either provide your contact info or call her directly at 1-877-701-1281.

In the meantime, I would like to try to shed some light on dishes and soap - Hamptons, by brand standards, do not provide any dishes or soap. Hampton is not a suite hotel, as, for example, Homewood Suites. Hamptons are not required to provide microwave or fridge in rooms - we do provide both to ensure comfort of our guests. By standards, Hamptons are not allowed china dishes or cutlery in rooms, or regular glasses or cups: only 100% biodegradable paper is used. Until brand standards change, we cannot change what is provided in rooms. Our guests are more than welcome to express their thoughts to the brand.

As you are not a HHonors member, we cannot update your profile with your preferences, but please feel free to let us know, at time of booking, what they would be: we will be more than happy to provide any answers to questions you might have.

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This Hampton Inn is a soulless but functional big box that forms part of a convention centre complex which it shares with a Marriott. Near the freeway, the location is convenient for the car driver only -- there is no neighbourhood nearby, no shops, no restaurants.

The room and the interior are nice enough, but plain and rectangular. The breakfast was good, up to the Hampton Inn standards, but there were too fews seats on this crowded Sunday morning. Opening a spill-over room on the second floor was a poor solution.

The dreary underground garage was packed on the Saturday of my stay. But the staff took no notice. Someone should have pointed out that there is a gigantic and underused outdoor lot just behind the convention centre.

I found this place to be a serviceable stopover for a business trip. Certainly not a destination hotel, or a romantic getaway. Functional, that's all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear NW_Raven,

Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts on your stay at our hotel!

We are very sorry you found our hotel soulless with a dreary underground garage, but believe me, that dreary garage is very much appreciated in winter, especially on days when we get a couple of feet of snow in a single day! Our staff was not supposed to direct you to the empty parking lot beside the hotel as it doesn't belong to us, but to the City of Ottawa: cars parked there can be ticketed and towed as per City's decision. I don't think you or any guest would appreciate being directed there after all.

We appreciate your feedback - please feel free to contact us directly should you wish to discuss anything further.

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Our room at the Hampton Inn was very spacious and clean; especially the bathroom! Lots of storage space and furniture + the charging ports were great to have!

The hotel was very full during our stay but it was relatively quiet other then during during breakfast. Breakfast was just plain crazy! Too many people in a tiny space plus the Hampton staff trying to keep up. There was lots of variety but hardly enough space to get it! Elevators were slow due to the amount of people staying at this time (I assume).

Wifi was horrible to get and I was constantly trying to refind my connection. I've never had to answer so many questions to get into the network! We were at a farther end of the hotel so maybe more central areas worked better?

All in all it was a nice hotel but maybe a better place to stay during the not-so-popular seasons.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TheTannerRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear TheTannerRabbit,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and service - we are aware breakfast gets really busy on weekends in summer - this is why on full-house weekends we open up serving and seating in the two meeting rooms we have on the second floor. I am not sure whether it was one of the weekends you were here. Unfortunately for our guests and us, the plans for breakfast area were dictated and approved by the brand, and although we managed to get around a few building rules, it is still too small when you put a large number of people in.

We do apologize for the inconvenience again, and do hope to see you soon again!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews