We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy for a Reason”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Busy for a Reason”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Everything was easy during my stay here. Breakfast included with the room was very good with lots of choice. Pool was quiet and good for end-of-day dip. Didn't use the exercise room, but it looked fine. Hotel is adjacent to the conference centre, so its really convenient if you are attending a function there. Underground parking was easily accessible. Front desk staff efficient and friendly as was housekeeping. Rooms were very clean. Will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review you wrote on Trip Advisor! We are very glad your stay was pleasant and will continue to do our best to make our guests' experiences as nice as possible.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hampton Inn Ottawa soon again!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    435
    117
    27
    9
See reviews for
459
207
54
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel was great for my visit to Ottawa. Especially convenient to the University of Ottawa and downtown core, as long as you have a vehicle.

The hotel provided an excellent breakfast. Good service. The English lady that took care of the breakfast area was very friendly and helpful.

Excellent underground secure parking provided for free.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant on site. The only restaurant within walking distance is a Starbucks about 2 blocks away. Not a great location if you are depending on transit or walking.
If you have a car then it is very easy to get to the downtown core.

For some reason I was given a wheelchair accessible room. This room was big with excellent accessibility and great amenities for people in a wheel chair. If you need an accessible room then I would highly recommend this hotel.

Everything I needed for business was included... good internet, good business resources, good work station in the room.

By paying in advance I got a reasonable price for my room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location and amenities up to your standards.

I am sorry to see that you were not informed there is actually a restaurant closer than the Starbucks you saw - it is located at the Courtyard by Marriott just behind us, adjacent to the Conference Centre. Maybe that is something to take into consideration for your next visit to Ottawa.

As for the wheelchair room, it is possible that we had people who extended reservations and in order not to move them from rooms they have been occupying, we would move new reservations - it is possible that was all we had available. If you wish to discuss this any further, please do not hesitate to contact me, I would be more than happy to discuss.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back at the Hampton Inn Ottawa soon again!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights for the Canada Army run. Price was great and location was great. There is underground parking which is excellent when it's raining. Check in was quick and efficient. Rooms wew great. There is a fridge, microwave, sink, coffee maker. Pool and hot tub. The hot tub was a god send after the race. Complimentary breakfast was excellent. One of the lady's that looks after the food is so chipper and friendly. Always a smile and a good morning. She even remembered an older gentleman who was there previously and visiting a sick relative. She was so kind. I don't remember her name but she had an Irish accent but always went out of her way.
I would definitely come back.

Paula Farrell

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Ms. Farrell,

Thank you very much for writing a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay!

I also wish to extend my thanks for the kind words about out breakfast hostess: I have printed your comment and left it in our breakfast pantry - she is opening first thing tomorrow morning and will see it as soon as she walks in. It is always a great pleasure to start a day with such a nice praise!

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back at our hotel soon again!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn last week (Sept 18th nite). The roads to the hotel are are under construction presently and hence the route to get to the hotel is difficult at nights. However, with the onset of winter, I am told that the construction will be complete making the exits easy to manage.
The hotel is a great location for business or family travelers, just off Hiway 417. It has all the conveniences of a hotel with easy underground parking, FREE internet access and a gym on each floor. the breakfast buffet is well stocked with the staff filling the trays quickly to make for a pleasant breakfast with no waiting. The rooms are quite big.There are plenty of nearby eateries for all palates with a mall located close by as well. Checkout is a breeze.
I highly recommend this hotel for business or family travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEEElody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found all our facilites and amenities up to your standards!

We do apologize for the troubles with construction, unfortunately, this is out of our hands: we were ensured it will be all finished by the beginning of December: hopefully, before the first snow!

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon again!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our first trip to Ottawa and we were not looking spend a lot on accommodations, but were looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay. Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa provided that and even went far above our expectations!

FRONT DESK STAFF: 1. Very helpful and friendly. We checked in with a gentleman (named Boro or Bono, can't quite remember), who was very personable and friendly. 2. The next day we asked about where a shopping center and gas station were and they provided us with a printed map of the area. 3. We were planning to stay from Friday night until the following Wednesday, but something had come up and we had to cut our trip short on Monday. We approached the front desk at 2:00PM and asked if we could check-out early. They told us that the check-out cut-off was at 11:00AM, but said they would not charge us if we could be out of the room by 3:00PM. We said that was no problem to do and they gave us the final bill with no extra fee or penalty for the late check-out! What great experience!

THE ROOM: We got a room with 2 Queen beds. I was very much surprised that the room had a kitchen area with a freezer and microwave! I thought they had given us the wrong room at first it was so nice! It was very clean and the beds were comfortable (they felt a little hard, but we have a pillow top mattress at home, so we probably noticed a difference more, but the beds were still nice). The bathroom was big and clean as well. The shower worked great, lots of hot water. The TV was nice (NOTE: it takes a minute to turn on, we thought it was broken at first). Walls were pretty soundproof...better than most hotels we've been in. The heater in the room did not work well the first 2 nights, so we called the front desk at about 10:00PM to see about someone fixing it. At first they offered to move us to another room, but as that was a bit of hassle for us, so they sent a maintenance guy instead (it took him about 40 minutes to get to our room, but it's big hotel, so we can emphasize with the fact that he's a busy guy). I can't remember the maintenance guy's name, but he was younger with glasses and very friendly. He fixed our heater in a few minutes and we had no issues with it after that. We didn't require much of the cleaning staff, but they did a great job when we did.

OTHER: 1. FREE underground parking! Free parking is a big one with us, especially when you are budgeting accommodations and then find out parking is an additional $20 a night or whatever. 2. FREE wifi! We were in room 405 and the wifi signal worked great on our iPhone. Note: After not using the phone for a bit, the signal went back to our 3G, so we had to be careful to put it back on the wifi so as not to use our data. I'm not sure if it was our phone that did that or the hotel, but either way it wasn't a big deal, just letting you know). 3. FREE continental breakfast! The breakfast buffet was yet another pleasant surprise. I'm a more healthy diner and that was accommodated with a selection of fruits, yogurts, oatmeal, breads and bagels. They even had a waffle maker, which my husband used almost every morning! Note: The closer you arrive to 8:00AM or after, the busier it definitely becomes in the dining room area. We were still able to find seats, no problem, but if you don't want a crowd, it's far less busy at 7:00AM or earlier.

OVERALL: When deciding on a hotel, I called other similar priced hotels and they just couldn't compete with the Hampton when it came to room price and the bonuses that come with it (free parking, free wifi and free breakfast). I was lead to the Hampton by TripAdvisor reviews and it definitely did NOT steer us wrong! I have already recommended this hotel to everyone and when we return to Ottawa one day, we won't stay any where else! Keep up the great service and thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 405. It's on the 4th floor. Has a kitchen area. Good wifi signal and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your extremely detailed review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! I am sure it will help many travellers, just as you were helped by other's reviews.

I wish to thank you for your kind words about our front desk agent, Boro (yes, you did remember the name correctly) - he is a very hard working young man who deserves the praise, a very valuable member of our front desk team!

As for the maintenance gentleman, it was most likely Alex, another excellent team member - he willb be very happy to hear your comment!

I see you have an iphone, up to very recently even we didn't know about a little tid-bit about Apple gadgets: this will help you when staying at different hotels, not just here: apparently, once an Apple device attaches itself to a certain wi-fi hot-spot in a hotel, and there are a number of those spots, it will keep looking for that same hot-spot even when you move. For example, if you are using the hot-spot in the lobby, it will look for the same one if you go to the room and your internet will not work. Our help desk told us that guests have to disconnect and connect wi-fi when they go to the room in order to enable the device to find the new hot-spot. This is why it helped when you turned your wi-fi off and back on. I hope this will help you in future...

We do hope to be able to welcome you back at the Hampton Inn Ottawa soon again!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Among the cleanest places I have seen from the hallways to the room to the pool. Breakfast good with friendly and efficient staff. Beds with good support. Underground parking. Only minor issue no recycle bins.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pentime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and found our facilites and amenities up to your standards!

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon again!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I've stayed in Ottawa many times now, and always seem to get substandard lodging. Not any more. This place is awesome. Right off the 417, by the University, with shopping and dining right down the street. Hotel is beautiful, had a great king room, used the pool (which was not big, not too small, but real clean and real nice) but didn't eat there. Bed was amazingly comfortable, room was spacious. Only "problem" (minor) was that one elevator was out of order, and the other was slow. I used the stairs at corridor's end, so no biggie. Underground parking lot had plenty of spaces, and I think they have a big outdoor lot too, not sure about that. The staff were super friendly and helpful. I'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: I had a first floor room, right near lobby, very convenient. Pool and fitness center are on fourth f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ-RichardJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and amenities suitable.

I do apologize for the trouble with the elevator, unfortunately, the motor died and it had to be taken out and redone - as you know, this has to be done by certified elevator company personnel only for safety reasons.

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back at the Hampton Inn Ottawa soon again!

Until then, we remain
Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.8 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
1.6 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Address: 100 Coventry Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#13 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Hampton Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing