We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overdue For Renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Yes, this property needs renovating but there were many things we liked about it! We stayed in a one-bedroom suite which was VERY large and very clean. On Thursday night we heard the elevator motor right up against our bedroom, which stopped during sleeping hours. On Friday night I had a sleepless night. When I talked with the manager in the morning I was told that ALL the suites are by the elevator and she was very aware of this issue and refunded Friday night. The rooms really need renovation and the large rooms will be even better. We would stay here again because it's in a great location, parking is good, the rooms are large, and the food in the bar downstairs was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattyjo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lovely big room. Spotlessly clean every day. Quiet air-conditioning - such a blessing. Large kitchen area in the room if you wished to self-cater. Breakfast was truly great value - was included in the price, hot and cold food. Secure undergound parking included free. Bus stops nearby if you wanted to get to downtown Ottawa and did not wish to drive - every half hour, about 25 minutes into town and you get to see residential and riverside views. Comfortable bed. One minor quibble - the lifts are used to transport cleaning trollies and staff each morning which delayed getting up and down each day. This hotel seriously needs a service elevator. Staff friendly, quick check-in. Although not centrally in Ottawa there is a shopping mall nearby with a cinema that charges only 3 Canadian dollars to see a film (MIB 3). Unbelievable value when compared to UK cinemas!! Lovely little bowling alley quite near.

Room Tip: Be aware they only have reception safe-boxes; none in room but staff are most helpful with regards t...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have just spent to nights at this hotel and it was great value for money. I made sure I got the government rate. The room was large and clean but a little dated which felt strange as the hotel did not look old but the rooms felt rather 1980's. Good service at check-in, clean pool ( but no changing facility so had to get changed in a wash room) and breakfast was fine and included in the price. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkOPoloManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at this property for a soccer tournament and found the property to be very clean, the rooms were a very good size and the beds were very comfortable. We had a rate of $140/night which represented very good value for this property

Room Tip: we found cabs to be very expensive to go into the Byward Market, if you have a car it is better to d...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Room smelled like a 1988 smoking room even if it was a non smoking. Not up to the level of quality of other Hamptons i normally stay at. Room was due for a good renovation. Breakfast Areva was a chaos.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank JeffLeclerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We used this hotel as a stop over for the close of our honeymoon and to attend a friend's wedding.

Thankfully, it was close to the event, although you wouldn't know this as the taxi that took us from the hotel, (once it appeared), had no idea where the location was.

The hotel itself was comfortable but the lingering memories will be having to have the front desk hail a cab every time that we needed one, the kitchen in our room, (nothing wrong with that but just different), the scent of chlorine, (or so it seemed as we were a floor above the swimming pool that was on the 4th floor), and, most of all, the breakfasts.

All of the guests were crammed into a small space and left to make do with self-serve breakfast. Most hotels do this, and I have no complaints. However, this was my first experience of a small space and, worst of all, of having Styrofoam like material that our plates and dishes were made of. I had to chuckle when I realized that we were expected to crack a hard boiled egg with a plastic spoon as all the cutlery was plastic.

The area for breakfasts was the same as the lounge bar which we contemplated enjoying upon our arrival as, without a taxi, there is no entertainment in the immediate area - unless you fancy a 20 minute walk to a nearby mall. Our plans were continually dashed as each night a sign was up advising that the bar would be closed at 9:30.

The hotel served it's purpose as a place to stay but I would not visit again. When we checked in and asked about food, we were told that the nearby Marriott had a restaurant. Next time, we will just choose that location instead. Thanks for the tip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel we could not have been more pleased with. The rooms have 12 foot ceilings, great queen beds, clean large bathroom, clean carpets, great breakfast and an awesome front desk personnel. Quiet neighborhood and within close driving , 10 minutes, to the markets and downtown Parliment Hill. Beautiful city and should spend at least 2 to 3 days just site seeing....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohiogirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.8 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
346 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#14 of 68 in Ottawa
598 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa

Address: 100 Coventry Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#13 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $122 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Hampton Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing