We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel & one of the safest around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel & one of the safest around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

First stay at this hotel was for a week for business. The second stay was with the family on vacation (as I was very impressed with the first visit).

There is free underground parking in a heated garage (which would be a real bonus in the winter time).

The hotel was very clean, staff friendly. The pool was very warm.
This Hampton inn had a limited lunch/dinner menu (in the restaurant) which is different from most Hampton Inn's (which only serve breakfast). But keep in mind, this is VERY limited. Don't expect to eat at the hotel each night, or have much of a selection to choose from.

The hotel is located right beside the 417 for easy freeway access.

As far as security goes - it couldn't be safer - it is located right beside a major RCMP (Royal Canadian Mounted Police) Headquarters. This is a favourite hotel stop for officers when travelling to this headquarters. Each morning while I had breakfast, there were between 10 & 20 RCMP officers in full uniform eating breakfast. It is quite possible that there were countless more out of uniform (in civilian clothes) No hotel can get any safer than this.

Cons
The hotel is not near any restaurants. There is a mall (I believe the St. Laurent mall) a short drive from the hotel which has a large food court, and several restaurants around the vicinity of the mall, but don't stay at this hotel if you don't have a car. The limited onsite restaurant menu is not where you would want to each every night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdn_Traveller_300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    347
    93
    25
    6
See reviews for
371
160
42
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on business but could not help to think that this would be a very nice place to stay for a family visit to Ottawa. Hotel rooms are huge with all the amenities. The hotel is very conveniently located by the Queensway making moving around town quite easy. However, you will need a car to get to restaurants and attractions. My only reservation is for the breakfast and breakfast room. It was very crowded when I was there with relatively boring foods to chose from.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuceHenriette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

It's a Hampton inn, so it's a value hotel. Don't expect a 5-star experience and it'll fit your expectations, although it was a little expensive.

Close to the 417 which was convenient, staff was nice, underground parking, rooms were good/clean, bed was comfy and breakfast was about the same as any other hampton inn breakfast -- orange juice, coffee and a waffle maker.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Don't expect a lot and you won't be disapointed. Old rooms, very dated, tiny hotel bar with bar snack and in the middle of nowhere. Had to stay her with a conference, but if there was another option next time I'll take it

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twillmill
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Best Ottowa vacation. The location is just maybe 10 minutes outside of town, but with that you get FREE parking, easy in and out of a garage, no valet(I dislike valet parking). FREE breakfast and it had lots to choose from including hot food,like sausages eggs french toast. The pool was the warmest hotel pool I've ever swam in. Best of all the hotel staff was very helpful, accomodating and available for all our questions. The room was very spacious and included a fridge and micro with extra sink for kitchenette. Our soaps and shampoos we replenished when needed, beds were comfy with soft white comforters, TV had enough channels for us including some Boston channels. I would stay again if I go back to ottowa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twillmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Ottawa for the Winterlude Weekend. Despite the fact that the hotel was completely booked the front desk treated each guest with patient and individualized attention - including getting us information for the festival and trying to fix a booking error. The hotel itself was clean and well maintained and our room was incredibly spacious- we had the hospitality suite. The breakfast was quite good both mornings and they planned ahead for the large crowd by opening a second seating - which was greatly appreciated. The staff went out of their way several times to meet our needs including finding bowls for us for soup and providing a glass of milk in the evening. The beds were very comfortable and we liked the options of firm or soft pillows. The only complaint I have is the use of disposable ware in the suite - which had a dishwasher. It was the only less than top notch detail in the whole stay.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a group, book a hospitality suite - the huge conference table was an unexp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deuxcentimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizza13
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it was the closest to the train station... the location is great for that, but not really that central.. it was a 10 minute drive to parliament hill and Rideau shopping center. I would definitely stay here again.. breakfast was pretty good. One style of eggs, one meat, lots of bagels, toast, English muffins, ect... The pool was overly packed though. There were a couple teams staying on the fourth floor, so even if we wanted to go into the pool, we would have been with a bunch of 14-17 year olds.. and I mean about 30-40 at all times in the pool.. Would have been nice to have a little more control on the people in the pool.

Room Tip: We had a room on the end, which was bigger, however, close to the staircase, so we heard the door sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#10 of 69 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Courtyard Ottawa East
#9 of 69 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 69 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Address: 100 Coventry Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Hampton Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing