We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for one night with 4 other young ladies all of us in our early twenties. Thank God it was only one night! We stayed here because it was a bit cheaper (We were 5 people and wanted to be in one room if it was possible), the pool was open till 10pm, free breakfast and free Internet. Spend a little more $ and stay somewhere else, the pool which was the main reason we went away was disgusting!!! They don't mop around the pool so there was water everywhere, normally hotels have somebody check regularly and push the water into a drain. The border all around the pool was STICKY and FILTHY!!! What a major disappointment, we didn't stay long after seeing things floating in the pool. The paint was peeling in places also. The hot tub was fine, looked fairly new and the water was very hot.
The Internet is not wireless but it's free.
The breakfast was ok, nothing special at all, went around 9:30ish and there were still eggs, sausage a few breads, no yogurt and not much fruit left but the staff that was taking care of the area were working very hard and refilled the coffee machine and waffle batter right away when asked. Really nice people!

The indoor parking was a joke! The lanes are very small and when you go up/down a level its extremely steep. The lanes are supposed to fit two cars but don't, when it's busy it must be a nightmare!! To leave you have a rope you pull on to open the garage door! How outdated!!!!

We got a renovated room, thank God! I wouldn't want to see an old one. The kitchen is a nice size, fridge is big, washer, dryer, dishwasher, granite counters, it was basically a one bedroom apartment.
The bathroom was not so nice, didn't look updated, the bathtub looked especially outdated. When we got there the toilet wasn't flushing that well and of course it overflowed! We called maintenance which did come right away but all they did to clean the floor was just wipe it with a bath towel! Yuck! I called again to the front desk and asked them to send somebody with a mop!! So stupid!!

Over all stay somewhere else! We visited a friend staying at the Westin and the room was beautiful, clean, classy, spend a bit more and at least enjoy your stay. We felt ripped off!!!! Plus the Westin has a mall attached!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ki855montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

958 - 964 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2008

My husband and I spent a three day weekend in Ottawa, as we were looking for a summer get-away.

We booked the Residence Inn, as we had some Marriott points to use, and found availability there. The hotel itself is adequate, but a little older and in need of some renovation. Our room was comfortable and quiet, which is basically what we were looking for. Being a downtown hotel, the on-site parking was a little pricey, but the convenience was worth it. It is a little tricky to find your way from the parking garage to the lobby, as some common areas are shared with the Hotel Indigo on the same site. Once we maneuvered the elevator system, we were content to leave our car in place, and do all of our sightseeing on foot. We did enjoy the daily breakfast buffet, although the dining area was very congested each morning. The indoor pool was OK - no outdoor sunning area.

The hotel is located in a very good location, if sightseeing is in your plans. We were within a short walk of Parliment, and enjoyed taking a tour of that building and were able to observe the changing of the guard. The walk to the downtown market takes about twenty minutes, which was no problem, as we enjoyed the exercise. We found great resturants in that area and ended up there each evening. This was the most lively area of the city, and some people might want to be nearer that location. Visits to the National Art Gallery and the Cathedral of Notre Dame were also walkable.

The hotel offers complimentary bus passes to the casino across the river in Quebec, and we had fun going there as well.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Stanleymaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

I recently traveled to Ottawa for business and absolutely loved staying at the Residence Inn Marriott on Laurier Ave. This hotel caters to the needs of business travelers. I stayed in a one-bedroom suite that had a washer and dryer (not coin operated) and a full kitchen. There was abundant space in the suite, and it's worth mentioning that the bathroom was very spacious. The kitchen was stocked with everything one would need for cooking meals, baking, drinking wine, etc. Filters were even provided for the coffee pot. The Residence Inn offers a free buffet breakfast each morning that is worth making time for when you're on your way out the door. Once night each week, a free dinner is provided entitled "The BBQ", which features either hotdogs or hamburgers with a variety of side dishes and desserts. A movie night is offered one night each week and the hotel has a spread of snack foods and desserts available while a movie is played on the tv in the dining area. Beer and wine are available for purchase at both of those events.

The hotel staff provided excellent customer service. When I first arrived, I was not booked for a room with a washer and a dryer, but the hotel employee who checked me in immediately amended that once she saw the length of my stay; I did not have to make a special request for it. Two days later, the hotel staff moved all of my belongings for me into the new room with an in-suite washer and dryer.

A free grocery service is available to all guests, which I took advantage of. You can provide the front desk with a grocery list in the morning and they will pick up your food and return it to your room that same day. You are only charged the price of your groceries. They also provide a dry cleaning service in conjunction with a local cleaners. I sent my clothes out to be dry cleaned often and it was so convenient to have the hotel take care of that for me. Again, you are only charged the price of the dry cleaning.

The Residence Inn is in a prime location in Ottawa. 2 blocks away is a movie theater, Blockbuster Video and Hartman's (a grocery store) are with a 1/2 mile walk, Parliament is within 1/4 mile or so and numerous restaurants are just blocks away. The Rideau Canal is located about 2 blocks away, which is excellent for any runners or bikers traveling to Ottawa and the Byward Market is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The Byward Market area is great for buying fresh, locally grown produce and for trying different restaurants. There is also a car rental agency located next door to the hotel, along with a 24 hours Tim Horton's.

I was extremely pleased with my stay at the Residence Inn in Ottawa. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area, especially if you will be staying for any extended period of time. Hands down, it's just like home.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Loves_to_Travel_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We have stayed at all three Marriott hotels in Ottawa and this one worked out best for our family of 5. The rooms are huge, very spacious, just what you would expect of the Residence Inn chain. Breakfast was one of the best out of all the Residence Inns we have stayed in (Canada and US), had scrambled eggs, sausage, hashbrowns, pancakes or french toast plus contential items.

This hotel is in a great location, very close to walk to the parliment buildings, National Arts Centre etc. The pool was very clean, as well as the rooms. Yes, the decor is a bit outdated and will need updating eventually but it is perfectly clean and you can't beat the size. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, great hotel for families with full kitchen, seperate bedroom/ living room with pull-out couch and 2 tvs.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ontariogirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Stayed at this Residence Inn based on our previous experience with the Marriott chain and the expected standard of the hotel chain.

This may have been the worst of the Marriott hotels we have stayed at with the Marriott chain. The room was dated. The carpet felt sticky if you walked on it with your bare foot. The bottom of my socks were brown from walking on the carpet. The fold out sofa bed had a stain on the undersurface. The King sized bed was lumpy and was not of the same quality of beds in the previous Marriott locations that we have stayed at. The washroom is small and dated. The toilet did not work properly. The airconditioning was very noisy. If you turned the air conditioning off then you would hear the shower and water running in the adjacent rooms. You could also hear the elevator bell ringing inside your bedroom.

The staff at the main reception area on the fourth floor were excellent, polite, and helpful.

There is a laundry room with several washing machines and dryers.

The breakfast station is always busy. On several nights of our stay, the hotel catered to large tour buses. Therefore, the morning breakfasts were extremetly busy. If you did not arrive early, alot the the breakfast items ran out and were not replenished (ie: fresh fruit, yogurt). Other items included in the breakfast (bread, bagel, english muffin, oatmeal, cereal, wafles, juice, milk, scrambled eggs, sausages, hash borwons).

The hotel was a 10 minute walk to most attractions in Ottawa (Parliament Building, National Gallery, Royal Canadian Mint, Byward Market).

This hotel is connected to the Hotel Indigo via a walkway and shares the pool and Fitness Room with hotel Indigo. The Hotel Indigo appears to have been newly renovated. It is part of the Holiday Inn chain. I would probably recommend staying at the Hotel Indigo in the future.

Dinners at the Byward Market were reasonably priced. The Keg was up to par but was extremety busy. The Pasta Market was average with entrees about $15 but the servers were disinterested and appeared tired. Also tried Tucker MarketPlace which is a buffet with a good salad station, individually prepared pasta station and a carving station with beef, and ham.

Cab fare from the Ottawa Airport to downtown was about $15. Cab fare to the Via Rail train station was about $7.

Would strongly recommend the tour at Rideau Hall, National Art Gallery and the Royal Canadian Mint.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank needvacationah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Disappointing Hotel,

We booked the Marriott it based on favorable reviews on tripadvisor, but it was not a good stay. Upon check in, we were told we were being upgraded to a two bedroom suite with Jacuzzi. It ended up being a one-bedroom with a pull out couch in the TV room, and the Jacuzzi was a suspect looking tub-shower combo with air jets. The staff, while friendly, should learn about managing expectations.

We were booked for 3 weeks and told over the phone we'd get free parking, but when checked-out, there were parking charges were on our bill. We complained to the manager, he was nice, but wouldn't change anything and said there was no way we would have been offerred that.

The rooms are ill-lit and very dated and worn, with suspect carpeting and uncomfortable beds. The kitchenette is just serviceable, but not what you'd expect from the Marriott Chain.

The breakfast was greasy, ill-stocked, and awful. They would routinely run out of utensils, plates, glasses, and food for 30-40 minutes periods. And no one seemed to be managing the food service or care how awful it was. When we mentioned this to the manager, he seemed to acknowledge it, but said the contract for food services was with another company, and there was nothing he could do about it. Not the type of attitude we'd come to expect from Marriott staff. Polite but resigned.

The entire hotel seems to diminsh the Marriott Chain, as this hardly compares to other Marriotts we've stayed at in the U.S. and Asia.
There, Marriott hotels are professional outfits with top notch facilities. Here everything was D+/C-, and nothing impressed.

We'd ended up going with the Marriott, over the similarly priced but excellent Arc Hotel because of the free internet, free parking and breakfast. In the end, only the free internet was delivered. The parking was not free, and the breakfast was not edible.

Marriott HeadQuarters needs to send someone over to fix this location or dump it.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ottawatraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

This hotel should not be included in the Residence Inn Marriott family. It does not compare to other Residence Inn properties. The rooms are very dated, bathroom is right out of the early 1980s with recent repairs done incorrectly (the tub moved/shifted very time one showered). The kitchenette belongs in the 1980s as well with dated, worn-out appliances and cabinetry. The included continental breakfast is less than impressive with greasy eggs, sausages, and hashbrowns; don't expect any fresh fruit. Do not expect anything for the one time $85 pet charge, not even poop bags!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Masthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown

Address: 161 Laurier Ave W, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $149 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing