We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location and good quality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Graz, Österreich
Level Contributor
357 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“perfect location and good quality!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown is as the name already said located in the Downtown of Ottawa. All main attractions are reachable within walking distance.

It might take you not more than 5 minutes to the heart of the city and maximum 10 to the Rideau canal.

the rooms were big, the beds were nice to stay in and it was pretty quite there.
There is a parking directly next to the hotel which is around CAD 15-20 per night.

There is free breakfast included, the breakfast was okay - little bit crowded in the morning.

The WIFI is free and works good.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hi David S,
We thank you for your stay with us recently. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our services. Being in the downtown core, it is easy to get around as you have stated. Breakfast,unfortunately, get a bit busy during the vacation months. We have introduced posters in the elevators indicating the common rush periods in the morning and this has helped us this season. We are glad that you were able to walk around the downtown area.
We look forward to your visit again and if there is anything we can do for you please feel free to speak to us.

With kind regards,

Ravi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    420
    122
    36
    10
See reviews for
373
138
28
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014

First, the good things. The location is excellent for seeing everything that Ottawa has to offer. The staff is excellent. They were very helpful, friendly, supportive. We've stayed in many Residence Inns in the past and this RI had one of the best evening receptions that we have ever experienced. As an example, a typical RI might have cheese, crackers, carrots, celery. This RI? Couscous salad, beef stew...

Now, for the "bad". Parking is underground and pretty tight. Breakfast is crazy busy. (I imagine that it is not nearly as busy in the off season.)

I think that the building used to be an apartment building. This isn't good or bad, but it had a different feel or flavor than the typical RI.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irvine_TSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
HI Irvine_TSH,
We thank you for your stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a great team of associated and your comment on the evening socials prompts us to do more! Unfortunately, being a downtown property, the garage is small and in comparison to many in Ottawa. The Residence Inn in a downtown area is very much like in many large highrise cities. You are right that the usual Residence Inns are more horizontal than vertical.
We thank you for your comments and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

With kind regards,

Ravi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNISFIL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed in a King Suite and in all the Residence Inns we have stayed in, this one was the most spacious. The suite was huge. The breakfast offered every morning was exceptional - from hot to cold foods and it was not lacking for anything. We had two manager receptions while there and believe me - enough food to please everyone.
Location was ideal, close to many major attractions. We walked everywhere and never took our vehicle out of the parking garage. The garage is a little tight for bigger vehicles, but we managed.
We did have an issue with the parking garage, but the front desk manager - Doug - took care of it for us, to our complete satisfaction.
Kudos to Doug and his entire staff - so very friendly and wanting to do so much to make your stay relaxing.
Highly recommend this hotel for an Ottawa visit.

Room Tip: King Suite with plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEDandLindaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear TEDandLindaM
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with your fellow TripAdvisor travelers.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself, and I am glad that I could take the time and talk with you during your stay. I do hope you had a safe trip home, and enjoyed the city!

Please feel welcomed to reach out to me directly for any help in the future. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us, and I hope to see you again someday!

Regards,

Doug
613-231-2020 ext. 4004
douglas.crosbie@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2014

This location is with in walking distance to Bank St. and Market area. Lots to do. We tried several restaurants and pubs. Shopping is all near by.
Hotel check in is located on 4 th floor. But once you are located its fine.I met the Manager Ravi, very helpfull and freindly. Hotel is clean and beds very comfortable. They are all new. Front desk was very freindly and polite. They provided over size parking for me witch was great as I have had issues at other locations with parking due to height of truck. I would not hesitate to stay here next trip to Ottawa

Room Tip: We had suite at end of hall. Room 1111. Excellent. Large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear cgmaclean,

Thank you very much for your kind words from your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott in downtown Ottawa! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your suite, and our staff were able to help out during your time with us.

Your room tip is helpful. When booking at the hotel, “corner” suites (like yours) are available and are larger than our standard 1 bedroom suites. If you are looking for more space, try and find this option for booking.

Should you ever need anything, please feel welcomed to contact me directly for assistance. We do hope to see you again in the future!

Doug Crosbie
Guest Services Manager
613-231-2020
douglas.crosbie@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel it's ok if you travel with family rooms are big and beds are comfortable.
They have a snack free lunch some days of the week too.
It's verry close to Ottawa parliament .
Reception staff is verry nice .
Breakfast it's great .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIPSY201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear GIPSY201

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott in beautiful downtown Ottawa.

I am pleased to see that our location and suites met the needs for your visit to the city. We really are a fantastic location to base your Ottawa adventures from, and we provide the comforts of home to relax and unwind after a long day.

Should you ever need anything, please feel welcomed to contact me directly for assistance.

Regards,
Doug Crosbie
Guest Services Manager
613-231-2020
douglas.crosbie@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Very good location and big rooms. Nice busy breakfast. Good size pool.
The beds need to be replaced. The whole room needs refreshing. We found hairs in one of our beds. The room did not feel very clean after that.
If those things are improved, the hotel will be perfect for family stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear sofcal,

Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor review of your recent stay with us in Ottawa.

I am pleased to hear that many of the aspects of our hotel pleased you, and with improvements you would certainly consider us a perfect place for families. We are constantly trying to improve, and we are actually completing a complete bed replacement today (Aug. 22). All of our beds have been replaced, and our double beds are now queen beds. I am very sorry that our timing seemed to miss your stay, however I promise on a return visit you should notice significant improvements. With this project, we also replaced the linens and duvets that complement the beds as well.

Should you look to return to the city, please feel welcomed to contact me directly and I will be sure to make things right for you. You can reach me at douglas.crosbie@marriott.com or 613-231-2020.

Regards,
Douglas Crosbie
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

The suite was a delight. Living room bigger than home and so was the bedroom and bathroom and the bath with shower were a nice touch. As we walked in the whole apartment blew us away and we thought the stay would be great. However if you want to sleep then choose a room off the NW side of the hotel. There is a huge air con system including 4 fans a few floors below our room and they run ALL NIGHT LONG. Double glazing disguises the worst of the noise but it drones on all night and ruined our sleep. I think it's above the pool so can't understand why it is not shut down at night.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NigelJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear NigelJam,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott in downtown Ottawa. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the layout and size of the suite, but I am certainly disappointed to hear that you did not get a relaxing night’s sleep.

If you should return to the city, and are looking to give us a second chance, please feel welcomed to contact me prior to your arrival for assistance with your reservation and so I can be sure to arrange for a higher floor and better location in the building to help make your nights sleep more comfortable.

If you would like to discuss this stay in further detail, I would be happy to hear from you.

Kind Regards,
Douglas Crosbie
Guest Services Manager
613-231-2020
douglas.crosbie@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
1,000 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Address: 161 Laurier Ave W, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing