We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, very good hotel”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The place was really good and the location just perfect. Walking distance to Parlament Building and more. Great breakfast, excelent! Room very large, good kitchen . There is no parking but they hVe some good options very close by.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor and we got the two double beds. Great room ! Very quiet.....the only probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Greetings Bruraf,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our hotel. We are glad you had a chance to enjoy the hotel and the surrounding area.
We are also very pleased to hear that we were able to rectify the noise adjacent to your suite and find you alternative parking. The parking garage was under construction during your stay and we again apologize for that inconvenience. However, we are now pleased to say the parking is open again and looking better than ever.

Looking forward to your return,

Sarah Bolton
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    410
    118
    35
    9
See reviews for
364
132
28
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Was in Ottawa on business last week and stayed for 4 nights in a HUGE room at the residence inn. Full living room and bedroom with a bathroom that could have been used for a game of floor hockey.

The setup is a bit odd - while you enter on the ground floor, you have to elevator to the 4th to get to the lobby. Odd, but not a major issue. Check-in was easy with no issues. Room was clean - things are a bit dated but pretty much in line with other Residence Inns. The bed was on the firm side and not very comfortable (broken springs maybe?) but having the bed was also big, so I could move around and find a comfy spot.

I didn't notice the construction at all despite getting a couple of email warnings from management prior to travelling.

Great experience overall

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Michael G,

It is great to hear you had such a pleasant experience with us during your recent stay. We are glad the hotel was able to provide you with a spacious suite during your stay and we appreciate you bringing the bed’s comfort level to our attention, as your comfort is our priority. We are also very happy to hear that the construction surrounding the hotel did not affect your stay. We look forward to welcoming your back to the hotel.

Sincerely,

Sarah Bolton
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it: location is excellent, pool and fitness centre is decent, breakfast options are plentiful, rooms with kitchens are a bonus. However, many of the fixtures and much of furniture has a outdated appearance, there were not many healthier options at the breakfast (too much bread, sugar, meat, fat, only a bit of fruit) and my encounters with front desk staff were not very pleasant. The parking was a hassle as other reviews have mentioned, but I understand they're fixing that soon. Overall, it was fine for the price and location, but not a luxury stay by any means.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Lauren S,

We’d like you take this time to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We at the Residence Inn Ottawa strive to exceed our guest’s needs and provide an up-to-date and comfortable hotel environment. In addition, guest service is of utmost top priority and I was very disappointed to hear your less than satisfactory interaction with the front desk. We’d like to apologize regarding your recent stay, as it was not as luxurious as you had expected it to be.
Your comments regarding our breakfast have been passed on to our Food & Beverage Team to see if we can come up with some healthier options in addition to the fruit offerings. We are happy to announce that we are currently in the process of fully renovating the pool area to ensure a quality facility is available to our guests. We have also just completed the parking garage renovations and again apologize for the inconvenience of having to park off property. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to showcase these improvements in the future.
I would appreciate discussing your service comments further and invite you to contact me at your convenience.

Kindest Regards,

Sarah Bolton
Guest Services Manager
sarah.bolton@marriott.com
1-877-478-4838
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our winter getaway because the kids wanted to swim. Well that was a disappointment. No towels, pool up keep looked questionable, pool was shared with another hotel, hot tub was filthy and not working. On the up side the room was ok. We had requested a suite for three adults and two kids and got a one room with two double beds and a pull out couch, not exactly what we were expecting but we were coming from a very rustic cabin we rented so to us this was nice. We enjoyed the free breakfast but had a very interesting time with parking. We were dirrected to a location a few blocks away from the hotel for parking, not exactly great when you have two kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing and sharing your thoughts. I am sorry to hear your stay was not what you expected. Winterlude is one of the busiest times of year for us, meaning our pool & jacuzzi are in high use. We do maintain a very stringent monitoring schedule but the quality can very much depend on how many swimmers are in the pool at one time.
Our parking garage is under renovation until end of March and we do apologize for the inconvenience of not having it available on site during this period.
I would invite you to contact me further if you wish to discuss your stay further. I can be reached at sarah.bolton@marriott.com
I hope that we have the chance to speak and that we can welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,

Sarah Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marystown, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a comfortable, reasonably-priced downtown hotel. Friendly staff. The rooms are humungous. Mine had large separate bedroom with 2 beds and TV, large living area with TV and tiny balcony looking into adjacent office tower, fully equipped kitchen and average bath. Little dated, but clean & comfortable. Free hot breakfast buffet and comp manager's reception with hot hors d'ouvres were excellent bonus. Location ideal for anything downtown - Tims in lobby, Starbucks on corner, D'Arcy McGees and National Arts Centre short walk away and main stops of Ottawa's excellent bus service only 2 blocks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dufferMcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience. Our rooms are definitely suited for long term stays. We host the evening receptions at least twice a week to enhance your stay and to give you a social experience with other guests.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Sarah Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay during the week but on the weekend the rooms were not as clean and the free breakfast was a vultures feeding frenzy. Clearly this hotel is not prepared for their potential volume. Nice rooms but Ill prepared staff and planning. The staff lack the edge of the nearby regular marriott.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank zapoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. I’m sorry you felt your experience was not up to the Marriott standard you have been accustomed to. The Winterlude Weekends are our busiest weekends of the year; besides Canada Day. It was all hands on deck during these weekends but at some peak times it may have been hard to keep up with the demand. I know all of our associates were trying their best as Winterlude is an exciting time for the hotel and the city.
I would invite you to contact me further if you would like to discuss your stay in more detail. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back. I can be reached at sarah.bolton@marriott.com

Kind Regards,

Sarah Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Over the last 3 months I've stayed several times at both the Residence Inn and its neighbor (Indigo/Holiday Inn).

These propereties share exercise facility (gypm & pool). This was ok for the most part except on the weekends when there are many hockey teams in and kids are all over the gym un-supervised.

They also share parking garage, which is currently under construction. So you either have to find your own parking or use valet parkings. Call for your car at least 1 hour before you need it. This can be VERY fustrating if you are in a hurry.

The room (I had a suite with full kitchen) was great. All the appliances are in great shape and the room was comfortable. There is some glitch with the TV in the main sitting room that required me to flip a light switch on/off to get the tv to turn on. This happened with two different stays.

Great location: dining, coffee, shopping all close by. Very easy access to the 417 highway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wapp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your loyalty over the past few months. I am happy to hear our suites and amenities suit your needs when you are away from home for a longer period of time.
During tournament season, we do tend to host quite a few different teams since our suites are suitable for families and we have alot of value added services available.
I’ll take this opportunity to update you on our parking garage. We anticipate being complete end of March and are excited to unveil a newly constructed and updated garage. A decision was made to cancel the valet service and we are now operating with only self park options close to the hotel.
Our maintenance team will be informed of the TV glitch you mentioned.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Residence Inn.

Regards,

Sarah Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Address: 161 Laurier Ave W, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing