We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MASS at Notre Dame Basilica”

Notre Dame Basilica
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.02*
and up
Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #8 of 267 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful and ornate gothic-style cathedral is recognized by its twin spires.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“MASS at Notre Dame Basilica”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A friend contacted the basilica and pre-arranged for a mass offering for our group. The church's gothic style and woodwork is beautiful. I love the location because it is walking distance from the By Ward Market.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mayreyestan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    241
    58
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colares, Portugal
Level Contributor
266 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Lots of work”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Notre Dame Basilica is nice but not very remarkable. From outside with the silver roof is different. Inside we can see lots of carving it is interesting also.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
306 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Gothic Basilica”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I love churches - not only as a believer but as architectural beauty and wonder. European cathedrals are my favourites and so when I see one that is comparable I get very excited. I was at the Canadian National Art Gallery and the church is across the street. It was late afternoon on on a Saturday and the art gallery was just closing so I went across the street to check out the cathedral. It just so happened to be 5 pm mass and so I stayed. It was a bilingual mass and the organ music was incredible. The art work, the sanctuary, the stained glass, paintings, all were extremely beautiful and spiritually lifting. I real sense of welcome as well. The grounds surrounding the basilica are also work a walk.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful Basilica”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This church is most impressive. It has beautiful stained glass windows. There is a gilded balcony around the sides & the roof is deep blue covered with golden stars

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
319 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Old Money Knew How to Do it”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This isn't Montreal (or Paris), but this Notre Dame is distinctive in its own right. From the twin tin spires to the ornate chancel and the marvelous woodwork and color, you will not be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notre Dame Basilica also viewed

 

Been to Notre Dame Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing