We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Royal Canadian Mounted Police Musical Ride Centre
Ranked #11 of 47 Tours in Ottawa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Musical Ride Centre for a free tour of the facility, the Stables and the horses that captivate all who see them perform in the RCMP Musical Ride. May through August (Monday to Friday, 9am- 3:30 pm). September through April (Tuesday & Thursday, 10am-2pm). Tours are every half hour. Groups of 20 or more call or email to book your tour.
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was an unexpected highlight of a brief visit to Ottawa. A mountie wearing the red serge was on her horse near the entrance. You'll need a camera. Take the guided tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A long-awaited visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

You can get a free tour around the stables and training facilities. The horses were magnificent but stabled. The riders were not there during our visit but the guide was informative. As a keen fan of Due South in the UK the riders may have been a little bemused by my interest had they been there. I genuinely wanted to see the training facilities. A lovely morning - take the time to go.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“so much fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The musical Ride if you can catch it is terrific! We loved seeing the horses

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Bring a chair or blanket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

No seats, but a great FREE show. Check their website for tour dates and times as they travel all over and only perform in Ottawa once in a while.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a missed opportunity”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

As a serving English Police Officer i thought this would be the highlight of my tour of Canada's Eastern Cities. Sadly i was wrong. Not a uniformed officer in sight and all of the horses were unsaddled and stabled. Our guide, who was very informative stated that there were 32 officers attached to the unit for tenures of 2 or 3 years. For that period all they do is prepare for and ride in the Musical Carousel, well its a shame they couldnt find ten minutes each in their day for visitors to their centre. Our coach party of 40+ went away thinking it was simply an excuse to get us to visit the gift shop!
I should point out that this attraction is free but i would add that most, if not all of our party would have quite happily paid to visit the centre for the opportunity to chat with an officer and have a photograph taken.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank bigfoot3432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Canadian Mounted Police Musical Ride Centre also viewed

 

Been to Royal Canadian Mounted Police Musical Ride Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing