We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Pagentry

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this experience this summer. We loved the various types of... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Islandseeker
,
Philadelphia, PA
Changing of the Guard Ottawa

Amazing. Could not help but feel sorry for the soldiers as the temperature was in the mid 30,s... read more

Reviewed October 11, 2018
Ivan C
,
Wodonga, Australia
Read all 421 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Ottawa
from $108.10
More Info
from $22.60
More Info
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
220
105
33
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
105
33
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marching band pomp and circumstance parliament hill bag pipes takes place front row drill hall rideau hall visiting ottawa ceremony parade precision pageant soldiers inspection marches spectacle
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this experience this summer. We loved the various types of bands both traditional marching as well as bag pipes (which for us Americans was a novelty). We did some research online beforehand to determine the best place to stand and found that just next to the roped off entrance was ideal for seeing the guards/bands up close and personal. We didn't even have to arrive that far in advance to get a spot there. I would recommend this activity when in Ottawa and found it well worth the time.

Thank Islandseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Amazing. Could not help but feel sorry for the soldiers as the temperature was in the mid 30,s Celsius. It was a real heat wave unlike normal Canadian conditions for that time of year. Great for kids and adults alike.

Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

I really enjoyed it, though it was a little long and repetitive for my 8 year old. I think he liked the opening music, but the inspection of the guards takes some time and isn't as exciting to watch. If you really appreciate the history behind it, you'll have more fun. My father was in the army, so I really respect the tradition. Make sure you arrive early to get a spot in front and bring sunscreen, water, and a hat in the summer.

Thank LifeOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

What can I say, it was perfect!!

We arrived for the morning change of guards and we’ve been very pleased with all the ceremony.

Great marching band, soldiers very synchronized and the off voice explaining all the key steps, so nice.

I’m living in Angola but Canadian and I was proud of it!

Morning or evening change of guards worth to be seen

Thank MCourtemanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

Arrived on time. Be there about 9:45 as it starts at 10:00am. Entire performance lasts about 30 minutes. Great performance, music, pageantry. It’s explained by 2 young narrators in both English and French. Walk around Parliament and be sure to view the library in the back. Open to public tours

1  Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

Definitely a must see free event while visiting Ottawa. You can see from any place on property. Starts shortly before suggested time of 10 am, so I suggest showing up 930ish to get a front row spot.
Beautiful.

Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

This is a must see summer event. They start a bit before 10 with the old guards and bag pipes marching down the street onto the parade grounds. They are joined by the replacement guards who march in along with the marching band. It is very ceremonial, with military Inspection of the troops.

Thank kathiev_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

As a Canadian does not get to visit very often, I was thrilled to be able to view the ceremony.

The pride I felt as the Pipe and Drums led The Old Guard onto The Hill was amplified with the arrival of The New Guard.

The ceremony is precision, pomp , and truly Canadian and should be viewed by every Canadian and visitor at least once.

We have a long and very glorious history and this ceremony is a true representation of all that is good.

Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

We saw this on a perfect sunny day. It's about 20 minutes long. The kids might get bored. But for those who love pomp and ceremonies, you will love it. And it's free! They explained it over a microphone in both French and English as it proceeded, but it was hard to hear. It takes place every morning around 10 a.m. They march up Elgin Street to the grounds by the parliament buildings. There are two marching bands involved.

2  Thank F4981JCmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

Catch the thrilling spectacle of the Changing of the Guard ceremony. Come early (9:45 am) to learn about the symbolism, history and proceedings of this free ceremony.

Changing the Guard takes place on the East Lawn of Parliament Hill, in Ottawa, Canada, every morning, beginning at 9:45 a.m. - 10:30 a.m., from late June through late August, and provides a colourful spectacle of pomp, pageantry and music.

The parade begins at the Cartier Square Drill Hall with the drum major, followed by the band, and the two divisions of the 'new guard'. Turning north onto Queen Elizabeth Drive, the parade continues underneath the Laurier Avenue bridge and then turns left onto the ramp leading onto Laurier Avenue (Ottawa). then North onto Elgin Street.

While the New Guard is en route to Parliament Hill the Old Guard forms up behind the East Block with the colour. They set off at approximately 9:45 a.m. with the Pipes and Drums of the Ceremonial Guard leading. They march to the east lawn and move into position, then they await the New Guard arriving.

The New Guard marches north on Elgin Street up to the National War Memorial and onto Wellington Street before the parade arrives on Parliament Hill precisely at 10 a.m. At this time the band begins to play "The 10 Provinces March" by Howard Cable.

The parade marches onto the east lawn of Parliament, with the band centred at the northernmost edge of the lawn and facing south. The old guard is in position on the west side of the east lawn and faces the east block, while the new guard marches to the east side of the lawn and faces west towards the old guard.

After the old and new guards are formed from three ranks into two and independently dressed off for proper alignment, the two sergeants of the guard – commanders of the two divisions of new guard – advance to be inspected by the company sergeant-major. Following inspection, the number two division sergeant marches to his position while the number one division sergeant stands still.

The new guard is then given the order "Get on parade", at which point they advance to the tune of "The British Grenadiers" from the band, and form up dressed off the sergeants of the guard. The new guard's persons and weapons are inspected by the company commander, and they are stood at ease.

Following the inspection of the new guard, the old guard is inspected. After this inspection, the sergeants of the guard and division seconds-in-command are ordered to 'take post' – the sergeant of the guard marches from the right flank to directly behind the guard, while the second-in-command marches from the left flank to the right. The parade is then called to the present arms for the marching on of the regimental colours. With the colours marched on, the new guard advances at the slow march, ceremonially 'taking up the ground' from the old guard.

The old guard and new guard salute each other at present arms. Following this, the old guard commander presents the key to the Guard Room at Rideau Hall to the new guard commander.

The parade is then formed into three ranks and marched off at the slow march, transitioning into the quick march. The order of march differs only in that the old guard is now at the rear.

This large-scale production includes a regimental band and pipers. If you love pipes, drums, and full Regimental band then this is a must see event in the summer in Ottawa

6  Thank debrakgrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews