We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better!”
Reviewed April 9, 2009

I stayed here in April of 2009 and thought the hotel was excellent! On short notice, I was given an early check-in to my room and because I was hosting some people in my room that night, I was given a corner room, next to a room undergoing renovations.

The room was spacious and very clean -- the bathroom was huge! King size bed was also great.

The kitchen did lack some of the things I needed - a measuring cup, a baking sheet, but otherwise pretty good. The dishwasher in my room was broken, but I called down to the front desk and they sent maintenance up right away. It couldn't be fixed that night, but I was told not to worry about the dishes.

The fire alarm did go off once during my stay. It was a huge inconvenience, but no fault of the staff or the hotel. My only issue with this is that the elevators were already extremely slow due to the renovations and workmen using them and the many, many kids staying in the hotel on the weekend. I ended up walking up to the 8th floor (which is fine by me), but the stairs are very difficult to navigate -- different doors lead out to the parking garage, some flights of stairs only go up to the 4th floor, other stairs go from 4 to 8 --- very confusing. In this sort of situation, the staff should've been directing people.

Excellent hotel -- I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    504
    173
    67
    44
See reviews for
541
252
46
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northern new york
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We have been bringing a group of family and friends to Les Suites for Ottawa's Winterlude celebration for many years. We love the convenience of the hotel. But, what we can't tolerate is the noise from a nearby bar that keeps us awake all night long. Is there no noise ordinance in Ottawa? The vibration from the music is so powerful I wonder if it will "bring the house down." Please, you (and your elected leaders) must do something about this. I recommend that you spend a Saturday night (and early Sunday morning) "trying to sleep" in one of your hotel rooms.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank NorthernNewYorkApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackcat64, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, April 15, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor voicing your concerns regarding the noise level from the nightclubs in the area. We work very closely with the authorities and we take every opportunity to keep our municipal councillors informed of the distress it causes our guests. Our staff are also trained to call the Ottawa By-law Services should they receive a guest complaint regarding noise levels and action is taken.

Please accept our sincere apologies. We pride ourselves in exceeding guest expectations. In this case, it is obvious we did not attain this goal. Once again, our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay. When you next make your reservations, please ask the reservationist to place you in a suite facing the inside courtyard. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Ottawa.

Sincerely,


Steve Georgopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian Prairies
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Recently stayed for two nights on a business trip to Ottawa. I loved the location of Les Suites...within walking distance to attractions such as the National Gallery, Parliament Hill, the Mint, and shopping at Rideau Centre and the Byward Market.

The staff went out of their way to help me when my reservation got messed up and I arrived late at night without a room.

My room was clean and spacious. I loved having a sitting room and separate bedroom. I didn't use the washer/dryer or kitchen on this short stay. I was amazed at how quiet the hotel was.

I would definitely bring my family back to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cottonwoodgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2009

The staff was friendly and the suite was clean and very spacious. My suite was quiet and the location is convenient if you want / need to be close to downtown Ottawa. The general manager, Steve, and the head of housekeeping, Estelle, gave my colleagues and me each a very thoughtful card. The sentiment was appreciated. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
200 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

I had to stay in this hotel for many weeks due to water problems at my house.

Suites:
I stayed in two different types of 2-bedroom suites. They were both very large and clean. Of the suites even had a walk-in closet and two bathrooms. There's also a laundry room and a sofa bed, two Tv's and a balcony. You can get a view on the City, or a suite that faces the patio. I recommand facing the City (The Byward Market).

Location:
Right in Downtown Ottawa, near all buses, beside the Byward Market, Rideau Centre, Rideau Canal, a few blocks to Parliament Hill. Almost every clubs at a walking distance, douzain of restaurants at a walking distance and a 24hr grocerie store at a 5 minute walk.

Kitchen:
You get a complete kitchen with each suites and they are supposed to be fully furnised. You get the basic and the varies from one place to another. I had to buy a few things to the kitchen in order to make it work for me(mash potato handler, cookie sheet) but if you're only staying a few days, it shouldn't be a problem for you.

Gym, etc:
The gym is small but it has everything you need for cardio and basic, small weight training. There is even a water cooler and a TV in there. The towels are provided on-site for the pool, the sauna and the hot tub. There was some problems with the heater int he hot tub back in June/July. Hopefully this has been taken care of. The terrace is accessible to all. You need to ask the Front desk for the door code to access it. I've been a few times to tan there.

Room service:
Room service is provided by Presse Café downstairs and offers a good variety but is totally overpriced. A simple one-topping pizza will cost you 30$, a poutine, 12$... and the quality is not that great. I would suggest you call a local pizza place, such as GABRIEL'S PIZZA and go pick it up (2 minute walk) or have them deliver it to you at no fee... Much cheaper and better quality.

Room Cleaning:
The maid came whenever we put our door sign for it. She always did a good job and also took care of the dishes for us one the days where we just did not have time to pur our dishes in the dishwasher.

Front Desk:
There is a lineup if you go at a busy time, but the staff is professional and most of the time, bilingual (french + english)

Overall, This is a really nice place to stay at with you're traveling with another couple (you can get two different rooms but share the kitchen, living room, balcony, etc.), if you're staying in town town for awhile or if you're with a family and want to save on the restaurant, this is great for you.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anikabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackcat64, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, January 15, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment extensively regarding your recent long-term stay at Les Suites Hotel, Ottawa. One of our goals is to exceed our guests’ expectations and many of your comments have let us know that we are on the right track. I am, however, disappointed that you did not receive a cookie sheet and some of our other special attentions for our long-term guests’ stay. We also note that with our concession operator, Presse Café you had poor comments. We have forwarded your comments to them for their immediate action. If you would like to express your comments further, I would be pleased to speak with you. Please call me at our toll-free number 1-800-267-1989 or send an email at steve.georgopoulos@whg.com. Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Steve Georgopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Stayed here for a hockey tournament with my sons team. The place is clean but we found our suite very dated with very old appliances and mattresses. Bathroom was fine though.

Every worked, it was just tired and it needs a renovation/update.

  • Liked — Large suite, location
  • Disliked — Suite needs updating, parking difficult to get in and out.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bajan_loch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackcat64, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, January 8, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at Les Suites Hotel, Ottawa. Our goal is to exceed guest expectations and it is obvious that we did not meet our standards with regards to satisfying you with our Traditional Suite. Please rest assured that this is certainly not a Les Suites standard. The Hotel began its first series of Premiere Suite Floors in 2006 and is continuing again this Winter with this product. Thank you for your comments about the standard of cleanliness. We have passed on your kind comments to our Housekeeping Team.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,


Steve Georgopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

We Paid $149 for a two bedroom suite for two nights (Nov. 14-16, 08) through Expedia. Was impressed with the lobby, then found out the room is tired and dated, the kitchen appliances (fridge, stove, DW) are about 20 years old, same with the matresses, old and firm. The only thing I liked was the free wi-fi internet in the room. The gym and pool (indoors, shared with Novotel guests) looked okay but we didn't try it. Location is fine, a block away from Byward and 5 blocks from Parliament, A 24-hour supermarket is 2 blocks northwest for basic necessities. Hotel service is so-so, our friend requested a 6am wake-up call and they totally missed it!

I am planning on going back to Ottawa next year but definitely won't be back to this hotel unless they renovate the suites. Changing the beds to newer pillowtops would be a nice start.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank yam1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackcat_ottawa, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, December 22, 2008
Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies. Our goal is to exceed guest expectations and it is obvious that we did not meet our standards with regards to satisfying you with our Traditional Suite. Please rest assured that this is certainly not a Les Suites standard. The Hotel began its first series of floor-by-floor renovations in 2006 which are continuing this winter and we would have been pleased to accommodate you in one of our Premiere Suite products.

Sincerely,


Steve Georgopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
193 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
2,054 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#29 of 67 in Ottawa
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Hotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Hotel Ottawa

Property: Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
Address: les Suites Hotel 130 Besserer St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Suites Hotel Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Les Suites Hotel, Ottawa, you really do have the best of everything-the luxury of a great location and the comfort of spacious elegance. Situated in the heart of downtown Ottawa, Les Suites Hotel is next door to great shopping at the Rideau Centre and surrounded by fine dining and entertainment. Ideally located near major travel routes, government offices, and popular attractions, we offer the perfect location for business travelers and leisure guests alike. Les Suites Hotel boasts spacious One Bedroom Suites (700 sq. Feet) and Two Bedroom Suites (over 1000 sq. Feet) complete with full kitchen amenities, ensuite washer & dryers, seperate living and dining room and private balconies! Arrive Empowered and Leave Refreshed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Les Suites Hotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Les Hotel
Les Suites Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing