We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worth a 2nd Look”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not Worth a 2nd Look”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I booked through an online booking site and its not cheap for the downtown location.

The frontdesk staff are courteous but thats where things end.

Everything about this place is outdated and scary. Am surprised that the bldg and health inspectors have not closed this place.

The carpets (even in the corridor) are musty and reeks of something. The rooms smell like they haven't seen sunlight in ages.

The AC/ heating units are antiquated and they barely work. It was so terrifying that i was not able to get good sleep and for the price, I discovered something better and moved out when my 2 day booking was done.

Stay away if you can !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayAsh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    250
    229
    98
    60
See reviews for
204
197
46
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a family reunion (2 grand-parents, 4 adults, 1 grand-children) in 1 suite. It was very spacious for all of us. We ate most of our meal at the hotel because it was tricky to get a table for all of us in downtown restaurant during The Army Run weekend. There was only 4 plates, 4 glasses, etc in the room, and room service promptly brought us some extra. Huge bedroom, huge living room, huge dining room. We felt like we were at home. A real treasure at affordable price right downtown Ottawa! Will stay here again for sure!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is nothing great to look at, but clean, tidy and well-run for the budget-conscious traveller. Service is polite but minimal, but the room was well furnished and tidy. A somewhat musty smell pervades the whole building but it's something that disappears from notice after a while. Bathrooms were clean, tidy and functioned well. The location is perfect for the business traveller as the hotel is 2 blocks away from the Parliament buildings and the Ottawa Convention Centre, and the #97 Bus from and to the airport stops right in front of it. Good for short stays. View from the windows I saw was industrial and I did not use the rec facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krypter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the location. Don't get me wrong. The staff were friendly and everything and the rooms were well maintained. I just found the outside of the building unattractive but then again in comparison to other hotels in the centre apparently it was low priced. Also the elevator was really slow but it didn't cause too much of a hassle

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4ThWaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

By far the most helpful, friendly staff I have encountered in a while! The rooms are a bit dated, but what the heck.....we where there to explore the city and attend the police memorial. Close to everything we wanted to see. Rugs need updating as does bathroom......but all in all good value.

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollies48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Where to start:
First room--linen old and dirty, not convinced it had been washed between guests
Second room--stayed overnight, discovered in morning the taps did not work.
Third room--was moved into a suite for the second night, smelled very musty, carpet & furniture filthy. Top it all off, there was a rat (no, not a large mouse, an actual rat) eating a bag of chips that I had left there during the day. I threw my shoe at it and it escaped through a broken vent.
I left immediately, and given the fact there were serious issues with three rooms, I could never recommend this hotel.
The staff were polite and accommodating, given what they had to work with. The location is excellent, but not worth the misery.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdesJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is somewhat dated but it was very clean and comfortable. The room was large and had 2 queen beds with2 chairs and a sofa. It is located just 3 blocks from the Government Buildings which have splended architecture. The Byward market is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. This area of downtown Ottawa contains many, many shops, restaurants and outdoor produce stands. It has indoor parking for $15 (CAD) per day. I unfortunately left some of my clothes hanging in the closet when we left but when we got to our next destination in Burlington, VT, I called the hotel and they told me that they would have house keeping/ lost and found call me. I received the call as promised and the hotel arranged to have my closed mailed to me by Canada Poste. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCod1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.4 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.6 mi away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Property: Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Address: 88 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hill Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated we are a 3 1/2 star hotel, with 5 star friendliness. Located in the heart of the Nation's Capital, we are a smoke free property with 155 guest rooms and 8 meeting rooms. We are situated in the midst of the city's business and tourist district; only two blocks from Parliament Hill. The only way you'll get closer to the hill, is if you get elected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hill Hotel Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel And Suites
Capital Hill Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing