We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is somewhat dated but it was very clean and comfortable. The room was large and had 2 queen beds with2 chairs and a sofa. It is located just 3 blocks from the Government Buildings which have splended architecture. The Byward market is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. This area of downtown Ottawa contains many, many shops, restaurants and outdoor produce stands. It has indoor parking for $15 (CAD) per day. I unfortunately left some of my clothes hanging in the closet when we left but when we got to our next destination in Burlington, VT, I called the hotel and they told me that they would have house keeping/ lost and found call me. I received the call as promised and the hotel arranged to have my closed mailed to me by Canada Poste. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeCod1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 756 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of the city minutes walk from the Parliament of Canada, National Arts Centre, Byward Market and National Gallery of Art. We were three friends sharing so we booked a suite with 2 Queen size beds and a sofa bed in the living room. There was a separate kitchen well equipped with fridge, cutlery and dishes and even dishwashing liquid and tea towels. The hotel is old and the room is in need of refurbishment however the beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean and it was very quiet. The location is really the selling point. There were 2 flat screen TVs which we did not even test. WIFI is free but signal weak. There is a small parking lot at back of hotel which costs $16 per day. Breakfast was served in a quaint coffee shop attached to the hotel which had shelves full of books. It has a view onto the street. The breakfast was good and coffee plentiful however I found the service to be slow when I first arrived. They appeared to be understaffed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Got this on a last minute booking for while celebrating Canada Day and it was o.k. for the amount of time we spent in the room. The location was good since it was close to all the celebrations and within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and bars. The room was small, musty, old and the view was overlooking another tar roof and brick building so was dark. But the staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSHickey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Pros: Great location close to the parliament hill, tim hortons, Starbucks, restaurants, and other places, staff is nice and welcoming.
Cons: Outdated rooms, musty smell (really strong) you can be sure that those rooms don't get fresh air in years, you don't feel comfortable at all sleeping in a place like this, one night for me was more than enough.
Parking is really small and tight, you have to leave the keys at the reception desk and if you are lucky you can find a nice spot, because the hotel was really crow during my stay i just prefer don't take the car out and keep my spot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jssossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This dated property in the heart of Ottawa is a good bargain but don't expect a modern porperty. It is old from the facade, to the lifts, to the furnishings - however, the rooms are clean and beds comfortable enough. The rooms are quite spacious and some have access to a balcony which I personally think is a little unsafe due to the low safety rails. It would be quite easy to topple over.

A lot of people here have commented on the slow speed of the lifts which are indeed slow. I found myself doing the dash up and down the fire stairs to save time every now and then which is a good source of exercise.

You cannot go past this hotel for location - it is just down the street from Parliament Hill and a short 10 minute walk over to the Byward Market and also the Rideau Centre. There is Starbucks, Second Cup and Tim Hortons just around the corner as well as a mall with a food court just at the end of the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xcapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were very disappointed. The room and hallway smelled of smoke but they say it is a smoke free hotel!! The beds were very uncomfortable and carpets dirty. We spent one night awake listening to conversation through the vent leading to another room. The entire place needs a serious face lift!! We received very little value for our money and won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed there for three nights in August 2013.The location is perfect(located 5 min walking distance from Parliament Hill) .Service:stuff very pleasant.Rooms are big and also have the small kitchenette equipped with microwave,toaster,coffee maker and small fridge.Beds are good size and comfortable ...If you like to have a breakfast at Tim Horton's or Starbucks-you will find them just around the corner -one street down from hotel. Hotel needs updating,but for the money we paid is OK...I would recommand this hotel to my friends....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadranka66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.1 mi away
ARC The Hotel
ARC The Hotel
#23 of 68 in Ottawa
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Metcalfe Hotel
The Metcalfe Hotel
#20 of 68 in Ottawa
1,083 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Address: 88 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: $97 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hill Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated we are a 3 1/2 star hotel, with 5 star friendliness. Located in the heart of the Nation's Capital, we are a smoke free property with 155 guest rooms and 8 meeting rooms. We are situated in the midst of the city's business and tourist district; only two blocks from Parliament Hill. The only way you'll get closer to the hill, is if you get elected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hill Hotel Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel And Suites
Capital Hill Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing