We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
dundee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were based in Hamilton but took our third trip to Ottawa this is the third hotel we have stayed in in this city. The last time was the Lord Elgin with family including 1 3 year old. On the whole this hotel provided a better experience. The place is tired and decor dated but rooms were clean beds were comfortable and shower worked. Location is great (who wants to spend time in a hotel room anyway) and staff helpful. In comparison to the Lord Elgin which I also thought was dated I feel it is value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    243
    227
    98
    60
See reviews for
199
194
46
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The major plus point for this hotel is the location. The hotel itself is not bad but does need updating and redecorating. Upon arrival we had to park the car and this could have been a bit of a problem as there are not many spaces for a hotel of this size. Luckily we found the one remaining space and left the car there for 2 nights at $15 plus tax per night. OK so the price is in line with other public car parks but as a guest of the hotel it could have been free in line with other hotels. Our family party of 4 were upgraded at no extra cost to a suite and this was spacious, clean and had comfortable beds. The rooms could be excellent if they were redecorated as the wallpaper was now beginning to peel away and the bathroom has had its fair share of wear and tear. A nice big table in the suite and 4 comfy chairs around it and a large screen television in the sitting room and the bedroom. Strangely though this suite for 4 persons with the 4 chairs only had 2 cups for coffee and only 2 glasses and towels in the bathroom. A little kitchen is also part of the suite with a microwave and fridge and would be useful for a longer stay.

As I stated, the location is excellent for walking to most of the attractions and places to eat. Parliament hill is only a 5 minute walk away and worth seeing is Mosaika a free sound and light show on the evening. Bytown museum is free of a Thursday evening and the Bytown area has lots of places to eat from fast food to pub restaurants. There are plenty of attractions to keep you occupied for a few days, see my other reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trompa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place was horrible. No fridge in rooms, no ice buckets, elevators weren't working properly, 3 drink machines and none of them worked, garbage on the floor in the hallway for the 2 days we were stuck there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricebag11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Mississauga, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had two families for July 01 long week end in Capitol Hill hotel. I called last day be for arrive and asking early check-in and they agree but we got room after 5 pm , supposed to be official check-in time is 3 pm and we wanted 2 pm. My room Air condition not working well I ask and they came to check but said its like that so you don’t have any choice , we did not sleep well. Elevator running very slow, one was not working, when you go down from 12 floor keeping in mind coming back take 30 to 40 minutes because of big line and slow elevator. Staff was ok, no microwave or fridge. I don’t like this hotel pay 200$ per night and looks like 2 start or may be less.

Room Tip: should pick better hotal in same area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a massive room here with a sitting area which was nice to spread out. Quick walk to the Parliament area and easy access to the main attractions. The hotel is of an older style, however it is very well looked after and clean. A great place to stay in Ottawa if you are looking to sight see.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietravelgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room was clean, but it was very dark, we stayed over a weekend so was quiet, but just outside was a building site, the bathroom had no extractor fan and the hair dryer did not work. The whole place has a very run down look. The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Capital Hill Hotel & Suites is located within walking distance to everything you'd want in downtown Ottawa, Parliament Hill, shopping, restaurants, ByWard Market, boat tours and lots more. The location is excellent!

The hotel itself is older but kept very clean.

I had no issues with the wifi. It wasn't slow at all.

The room we got had 2 double beds. Beds were comfy enough, no lost sleep. Room isn't fancy but what do you want for the price? We had a little kitchenette with a fridge & sink, that was nice.

There is a nice little restaurant in the hotel called Bibliothèque Café - good place for breakfast.

No pool.

I would stay at this hotel again, the price was right and location was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdotbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.4 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.6 mi away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Property: Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Address: 88 rue Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hill Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated we are a 3 1/2 star hotel, with 5 star friendliness. Located in the heart of the Nation's Capital, we are a smoke free property with 152 guest rooms and 10 meeting rooms. We are situated in the midst of the city's business and tourist district; only two blocks from Parliament Hill. The only way you'll get closer to the hill, is if you get elected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hill Hotel Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel And Suites
Capital Hill Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing