We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice enough hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #40 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Capital Hill Hotel and Suites is a very large hotel, and its strong point is definitely its location - just a few minutes walk from both the Canadian parliament/government buildings and the downtown area and Byward Market.

A group of us stayed here for five nights while visiting Ottawa and it was a decent place to stay. Although the lobby/reception area is quite dated (as is the exterior), the rooms themselves are large and clean, and some have a kitchenette with fridge etc, while it appeared all rooms had coffee machines, iron etc.

There is also a cafe located on the ground floor which did good breakfasts/lunches, while there are a large number of coffee shops less than a minute from the front door.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Ottawa, particularly as the rates seem very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 776 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed here for two weeks on business in a Standard King / kitchenette. The hotel is old, the bathrooms are old (noisy toilets the seem to run for about 30 mins after a flush - total waste of water), the tub dripped and the fan barely worked (i think it was just clogged), the television is old (like probably made in 1994), the pop machines are out of everything and/or they were filled wrong - beware, one of their two elevators was always out of service, the parking was $15/day but they park your car for you in a garage because of limited space (be sure to call down at least 30 minutes before you leave for them to get your car). However the bed was very comfortable, the staff was very friendly and the wifi was good which is all really expected from this hotel.

Room Tip: I had a corner room which was very quiet, however there is no good views. My view was of an office b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We checked in and checked out quickly. The front desk staff was VERY friendly and helpful and the location terrific. Valet parking is cheap for the location. On the other hand, the entire place smelled like disinfectant, the elevator was SLOW (and very small), a custodian was riding the elevator with guests and a bucket of DIRTY mop water, there were several dogs on the elevator (which initially took over 5 minutes to get to the lobby). Some guy in a tank shirt was hanging out behing the reception desk. The room was large, but the carpet was stained and the smell of Lysol wafted into the room. The bathroom reminded me of a 1950's Mobil gas station. The kitchenette was sparse and in an odd location. The towels were very small and thin. With such lovely people, I wish that the facilities were worthy of them.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flam1ngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Location close to places of interest for a visitor.
Reception desk reponse kinda lukewarm.
Parking spot is not big but they have somebody if you need help.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank sat-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The best things about this hotel are its great location for a visit to Ottawa and its price. The hotel itself is comfortable enough, but it's obviously tired, worn and in need of renovation. It's a bit above-basic place to sleep, at a reasonable price. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean, but again, it looked tired and in need of upgrades. The bed was very comfortable. That bathroom was clean but with obvious signs of wear-and-tear.

The only major complaint I had was the room's AC unit. It was big and noisy. Opening the windows is not an option. Even when we had our AC off, the noise from AC units in other rooms was obvious.

We have few complaints about this hotel – mostly just the AC – the hotel was definitely kept clean and the staff were friendly and helpful, but the place just looks old, and not the quaint, charming old, but rather the tired, a bit shabby type of old – keep your expectations realistic before booking there. The place is a trade-off, for which you'll get a great location at a very good price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidc068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel is in a really good position, within easy walking distance to the main areas. We were very pleased with the size of our room, it included sitting room, dining table and chairs, very small kitchen and two double beds. Unable to comment on price as it was part of a tour of USA and Canada. Everything was clean. I think the hotel is a little jaded though, and the lift was probably the worst we have used, although I don't think that would spoil anything unless you were particularly picky. The corridors also need a bit of an uplift, the carpets a bit old now. Overall though a good and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Abbasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The staff, when I spoke to them, were always polite and ready to help. It was just me in my room, but it was absolutely huge. There were two queen size beds, a bathroom, a desk, a sofa and even a little kitchenette. The kitchenette had a fridge and microwave, but I think th coffee machine was broken and a kettle would have been a great help. Otherwise, it was an excellent stay.

Tip: You get a free paper in the morning which was great. But you have to remember to actually pick it up from outside your door. I forgot to one morning and in the evening I realised the housekeeping staff had taken it, assuming I didn't want it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kafferz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.4 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.7 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#35 of 68 in Ottawa
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill
0.1 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Address: 88 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: $95 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hill Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated we are a 3 1/2 star hotel, with 5 star friendliness. Located in the heart of the Nation's Capital, we are a smoke free property with 155 guest rooms and 8 meeting rooms. We are situated in the midst of the city's business and tourist district; only two blocks from Parliament Hill. The only way you'll get closer to the hill, is if you get elected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hill Hotel Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel And Suites
Capital Hill Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing