We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well Done”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Location, Comfort and Price what more one can ask. The room was clean, comfortable and with WIFI reaching all the times. This trip was a week long and got the same service & amenities as last year. I had a kitchenette, which was replenished with clean dish clothes every day , nice. Quite location area, mainly business clienteles so no ruckus to interrupt you. For the second time I had made the booking via HOTELS.CA and had no problems checking -in . At the time of the check out I left baggage with the counter and it was placed in a lock up area, nice. Very central location where you can shop down the road at a Metro, grocery store LCBO, liquor store and many local restaurants along the walk. Alternative would be to head to the By Ward market for more pricey, trendy and some ethnic places to choose from. Over all, Capital Hill is ready was able to meet all of my needs. Well done !!!
Nav

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    268
    236
    102
    60
See reviews for
214
212
47
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Stayed six days for a course held in a hotel a block away.

Paid $100/day for a room with 2 double beds and a kitchenette (off of Expedia).

I read the reviews beforehand and wasn't expecting very much but to be honest, our stay was way better than we expected! Rooms were clean. Flat screen TV. Mini-fridge.

Washroom is a tad small. Front desk (Erin) was super helpful and friendly. Free globe and mail newspaper daily.

Location is perfect. Close to the parliament buildings (3-5 minutes away) and Byward market (7-10 minutes).

No complaints. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacmanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Decent hotel and great price for the location. I usually pay between 90 and 110 for a week night. Beds were clean, though a but stiff. Small rooms are really small so get one with 2 beds even you're alone. All major coffee chains within 1 block or less.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Was in town on business and to see some friends who came downtown to meet up with me. Wasn't sure what to expect because of some of the negative reviews, but was really impressed with how helpful the staff were and that the hotel really was as close to all the tourist stuff as they say it is. Thought it was typical of many of the other hotels I've stayed in for business. The room was comfortable, clean, well maintained and had free wi-fi, so that was a perk. Perfect for what I needed it for. Smaller size parking lot, but easier to manouver through than some of the downtown Toronto hotel lots I've parked in - and the price was reasonable for downtown parking. Hotel was was very well priced for the location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obione28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Our suite had nice beds and couches - but the bathroom was depressing. Drab and run down with a door that barely worked. The staff were fine and the location close to the main attractions. The room could be cleaner. We found an old book and a dusty dead bug on our pillow.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We booked this hotel through Expedia??? Is this why we felt we were treated like second rate citizens? When we booked we were not informed of the minimal parking spaces available at this hotel. Upon our arrival we were requested to hand over our keys to the front desk person, as parking was very limited and the staff would have to "move vehicles if necessary and 'cram them in like sardines'".....first RED FLAG. When we getting off the elevator, very disgusting and dirty carpet. We found our room in a dingy little alcove. When we opened the door, all we could say was "well, the location in good". The security lock was broken, the bathtub needed a good scrubbing and no place to put our toileteries. The concensus was between the two of us "we are only here to sleep". Long story short...our sleep was interrupted very early in the morning as we were awakened by barking dogs. .... and again later that night and early the last morning of our stay. We called the front desk and were told others had complained about the barking dogs. For us, a learning experience, as we had never stayed in a hotel with dogs and do not want to in the future. We should have asked if animals would be in next rooms?????
We have stayed in Ottawa many times, and this was our first disappointing experience in a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Toshiba54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Abbotsford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2011

My stay at this hotel was extremely disappointing. The sanitary conditions were absolutely deplorable. Despite constructive complaints, I did not receive any change in the condition of my room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1982_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.2 mi away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Property: Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Address: 88 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hill Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated we are a 3 1/2 star hotel, with 5 star friendliness. Located in the heart of the Nation's Capital, we are a smoke free property with 155 guest rooms and 8 meeting rooms. We are situated in the midst of the city's business and tourist district; only two blocks from Parliament Hill. The only way you'll get closer to the hill, is if you get elected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capital Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hill Hotel Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel And Suites
Capital Hill Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing