We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for pets, magnificent views and quiet room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Brantford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for pets, magnificent views and quiet room”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed there for a family event, 5 of us rented 4 rooms in different buildings and all were very impressed. All of us would stay here again. We rented a pet room on the water which was perfect. Beds very comfortable. All 5 of us gathered each night to sit and watch the boats on the Rideau River. Room was very quiet I knew we had neighbours but I never heard them. Pet room had sliding doors out to the river view. When the steps down to the water are completed it will be amazing. Front desk staff very helpful, Jeff advised about Pet Smart having doggy daycare and it was just a 5 minute drive, it saved the day for us. I think it was Louise who gave us several menus for delivery to the room. Pine Restaurant which is now known as the River Lounge didn't open until a few days after we left but they made it available for our family event and catered it. A beautiful restaurant Debra was a huge help in advising us and planning the event and the food was wonderful and plentiful. Tim Horton's on site, but the in-room coffee was excellent.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river, they have balconies. Bring bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyVerana, Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your magnificent reviews. You made us proud on our product, amenities and services.

See you on your next visit in Ottawa.

The Monterey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    116
    52
    19
    19
See reviews for
100
78
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Clean, comfortable, and friendly staff. Good healthy breakfast (self serve continental). Pool was not open in early June. Rates are good. Small dog welcome and ground level rooms offer patio exit to riverbank. New dock being built in June may allow for canoe use in summer. Evidence of renovation and updates obvious. Road sign a bit hard to see at night. Good location to access airport; easy downtown trip 15-20 min via Hunt Club and Airport Parkway.

Room Tip: Rooms in Prince of Wales building face the river.This is quiet since farthest from road, but wifi ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyVerana, Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi Margaret,

Thank you for taking time to write a beautiful review for Monterey Hotel. We acknowledge and appreciate all the kind and good words in your review, you make us feel very rewarding. It is always our pleasure to serve all our guest the best that we could offer. In regards to road sign, we are on the process of re-branding our hotel, for sure we will change the road sign pretty soon.

Hope to serve you in the future.

Thank you from The Monterey Team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our stay at Monterey Hotel was just for one night this time. We wish we had more time to stay longer, We were pleased to see all the changes that have been done and learn that more improvements are in progress. The new breakfast room and soon to open Reception area are very nicely done! The room we stayed in has recently been renovated. It was very comfortable, clean, quiet and a pleasure to spend the night in. It was a very hot day when we checked in and I wished the pool was ready but I am sure it will be next time and I'm sure we will stay longer.

Room Tip: Our favorite are the rooms that have a balcony overlooking the river. The view is nice and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEAFAN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyVerana, Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
A great compliments from a repeat guest, it is a sign of satisfied and happy guest. It is our pleasure to serve you. Thank you for acknowledging the changes and improvements in the property, we take pride on it. From the bottom of our heart - thank you for a beautiful review and looking forward to welcoming you back.

The Monterey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I wasn't expecting much-we were there for one evening and it was a cheap hotel to stay while we were in Manotick for a soccer game. But the main reason we picked this hotel was because it was close to the field and because it had an outdoor heated pool. Except it didn't, which they tell you when you get there. It's "seasonal"-the temperature was 30 degrees out and we are in June but I guess that wasn't seasonal enough. So we had seven 13 year old boys with nothing to do or several hours at night. The front desk lady just shrugged her shoulders like "I can't do much about it". Didn't even offer to let her manager know or apologize that their web site wasn't clear. The beds are tiny-bathrooms even smaller. Their breakfast was pretty much like you get at most continental breakfasts except they didn't keep it well supplied...all of the brown bread was gone, no bagels, and the jugs of juice were empty. And not a soul in sight to ask for help...they were busy getting the brunch tables ready for their "paying" customers. When you are disappointed in a hotel that you didn't expect much to begin with that says something.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe321_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyVerana, Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. My sincere apologies for your experience with us which is no way reflect our commitment to our guest satisfactions. We appreciate your feedback and we take it seriously. We will do our best to avoid this to happen again.

I am positive and still hoping that you can give us another chance to serve you in your future visit in Ottawa to regain your confidence in our services.

The Monterey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Trenton, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had the great pleasure of staying at the Monterey Hotel...(twice, in fact ─ May 26th and June 3rd), and the accommodations were simply magnificent.

We were greeted by a young chap named Tom who went out of his way to make sure everything was to our liking and arranged for a shuttle bus to take us to and from the airport. He also provided us with a spot to park our vehicle while we were in sunny Key West.

We checked out very early on May 27th and Rico, the night auditor, went way beyond the call of duty be sure our connections were on time and even went into Google maps to print out GPS directions for our drive back to Kingston via Kanata. We had business there.

Our sincere thanks and congratulations to the management and staff at the Monterey. The rooms were superb and spotless...and the view of the Rideau from our balcony was enchanting. It is a first-class operation from top to bottom and the Monterey's good name will remain on the tips of our tongues whenever we discuss travel with friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: If you can arrange a room in the 240 series, you'll have a balcony and a lovely view of the Ride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyVerana, Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
What a great compliments. We appreciate all your kind words and compliments. Your review indicate that our effort are being rewarded by the way of satisfied guests with an enjoyable experience. In behalf of the management and staff, thank you for choosing Monterey Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Monterey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

It was okay for just a night.

Pros: Clean, friendly staff, reasonably priced
Cons: Terrible sleep quality (you could hear when people in adjacent rooms were moving or using water, a lot of noise from the street), the bathroom was too small, WiFi was terrible

I would consider it more as a motel than a hotel specifically since the individual room entrance was from outdoors.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0ve2TravelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyVerana, Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your stay with us. My apologies for your experience with us which in no way reflect our commitment to our guest satisfaction. I am looking forward to serve you back in the future to regain your confidence in our services and product.

The Monterey Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Monterey Hotel is closed to but not too close to the airport and a great place to leave your car but a better place to come home to after a long trip. I loved the friendly staff who guided me in and out and made me want to come back

Room Tip: I chose the river side and was greeted after an 18 hr trip with moon light on the river, the climb w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyVerana, Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi John,

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are pleased that you had a great stay with us. Your reviews indicate that our team efforts are being rewarded by the way of satisfied guests with enjoyable experience like yours.

Thank you for choosing, The Monterey Hotel. We are looking forward to serve you again in the future.

The Monterey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
1.1 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau

Property: Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Address: 2259 Prince of Wales Dr, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6Z8, Canada (Formerly The Monterey Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of evergreens, pines and tranquil gardens, The Monterey has breathtaking views of the Rideau River. Known for its resort-style lodging and amenities, it is ideally suited for vacationers and traveling executives. Guests can enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast on-site at The Pine restaurant. Located in a charming stone building, The Pine offers an extensive wine selection, with a summer patio and various meeting rooms. The Monterey Hotel remains one of Ottawa’s most affordable destinations, regardless of its superior service and priceless scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Inn Resort And Conference Centre
Monterey Inn Resort & Conference Centre Hotel Ottawa
Monterey Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing