We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uh no”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Cameron, On
2 reviews
“Uh no”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed there Jan 30 to Feb 1, 2013 for family celebration. My husband chose a peanut butter packet off their continental breakfast table. The packet had been chewed by a MOUSE and it was evident that some of the peanut butter had been eaten. The front hotel staff appeared to be not concerned about the situation and no apology from her. The waitress apologised but no one else from the kitchen or restaurant spoke us.

Also all three mornings the hair dryer broke down even after I was assured that it would be fixed the first day.

No we never thought to take a picture of the packet which I regret.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Gerri M

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. My apologies for the issue with the continental breakfast. We take these matters very seriously and we had the Public Health and Food Safety inspectors in the next day. They found no evidence of any mice in our restaurant or in our dry storage. Unfortunately we are unaware as to how this could have happened but moving forward we will ensure that our staff inspect all packaging and alert us of any potential issues. I also apologize that our staff was not as helpful as they could have been and we will strive to ensure this doesn’t occur again.

I understand from our maintenance department that a new hair dryer was placed in your room but the issue might have been the breaker, it is fixed now and very sorry for your troubles.

Again, my sincere apology for your experience with us which in no way reflect our firm commitment to guests satissfaction and I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to regain your confidence in our services and product.

Thank you
George Chaiban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    117
    53
    20
    19
See reviews for
101
78
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked that hotel because it was not expensive, has an outdoor pool and is situated on the way to downtown of Ottawa. And it is very close to the pirate's adventure (one of the our list of places to see in Ottawa))).

It was nice to stay there. The staff was very... very... VERY FRIENDLY! We checked-in in 5 sec. The room was very clean. The area was clean. We had been afraid of mosquito, but we could not spot even single one. My child just asked about pool (what was closed at that time) and in a few seconds one from the staff came and opened it.
And it was quiet even despite on wedding event, what took place in the same time as we stayed there. We felt as we stayed in a family house or in friend's house)))

We liked it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Helen A

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience with The Monterey Hotel, I appreciate your feedback and thank you for your kind words regarding our clean rooms, amenities and Team members. Our staff strives to ensure that each and every guest has a memorable experience.
Once again, thank you and looking forward to your continued patronage and to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerly,

George Chaiban
General Manager
The Monterey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here january 4th for a sports event. Lovely location overlooking the river.
Rooms are small but clean, water pressure was sporadic.
But considering it was one of the best priced hotels availalbe at $85 through Expedia
including continetntal breakfast (although dining room is sparsely decorated)
it was a good deal and would stay here again if returning to Ottawa.

Only real issue was the water pressure for the shower.

Room Tip: Lovely view of the River. Would be nice for kids in the summer, nice big outdoor pool and play are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 552James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josee L, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear James552,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the Monterey Hotel, we appreciate your feedback We are excited to announce that we are currently renovation our rooms and once renovated, all the issues experienced by yourself will be solved. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you,
The Monterey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in October of 2012. I attended a wedding at The Pine Restaurant on their premises and the couple marrying was given a rate of $119 for their guests.

Positives:
- The location is conveniently located near the airport. There is also shopping and restaurants along Merivale Rd, which is a short drive away.
- When we requested to change rooms, the front desk staff did so immediately (we booked a river view room, but were initially not given one).

Negatives:
- The rooms are terribly dated, dingy, and smoky (even in a non-smoking room). There was a horrible stench in our first room (I believe 224) and another, but different, smell in our second room (250).
- Bed was lumpy and uncomfortable.
- The hotel is way overpriced at $109 or $119/night. Should be in the range of $70-80, as other motels are priced.
- The food served at the wedding from The Pine Restaurant was unappealing, the meat was hard, and drinks were extremely overpriced at $5.50 - $7.00 per drink.
- E-mail confirmation provided an e-mail address for reservation queries. I e-mailed the hotel approximately 9 days prior to arrival and never received a response back. I did not follow-up by phone as the issue was not urgent in nature.

Overall, I would not stay here and under no circumstance would I reccomend this property to a friend or family member.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, stay at another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josee L, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Kmjfd,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the Monterey Hotel. I am truly disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are excited to announce that we are currently renovating our rooms. The majority of our rooms are non smoking, and we do charge a cleaning fee of $200.00, if a guest smokes in a non smoking room, but sometimes we will miss which was the case during your stay.
I will look into why your email was not responded to, as we take all guest inquiries very seriously.
I will also pass along your comments to the restaurant/banquet.
Thank you,
The Monterey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night in September 2012. When I researched the hotel online, their website painted a picture that was far from reality. When we got to our room, we were shocked!!!! Everything was so dirtly, the capet was so filthy that we did not take off our shoes, the room paint was dirty, the washroom was so dirtly that we decided that we were better off not to shower that night. The TV was 1990s model.

When we booked, we requested a crib because we have a small baby with us. They placed us on the second floor so it was not easy to get the baby`s sroller up there since there was no elevator. Not to mention that, surprise suprise, there was no crib in the room.

Cont Breakfast in the morning was a joke.

So, if you are visiting Ottawa, think before you book at the Monterey Hotel as we had a horrible experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trave123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josee L, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Travl123456
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the Monterey Hotel. I am truly disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We are excited about our upcoming renovations to our buildings.
Our team takes great pride in providing our guests with a “home away from home” services and we were disappointed to learn of the many issues you encountered with us.
With our new chef at the helm of our kitchen we have revamped our continental breakfast, and we are confident that it will be to the total guest satisfaction.
Thank you,
The Monterey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here one night. Found the room very dingy and dirty and smokey. Not a good impression. The restaurant is a huge improvement. Location for the hotel is great though, right by the river. Hope this place gets a facelift soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josee L, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Nadkr
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the Monterey Hotel. We do offer smoking and non smoking rooms and charge a cleaning fee of $200.00 when a guest smokes in a non smoking room. I will speak to the housekeeping department as to retrain the housekeeping attendant who serviced the room last.
Thank you,
The Monterey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My family had booked the labor day weekend to stay here. We got a room in the front section of the hotel near the office. The room was obviously a smokers room but they deemed it as non smoking. The smell was not good. We looked a the beds and determined that we did not think we could get a good nights sleep. The microwave that I had requested was in the room but looked like someone had a fire in it. We asked for an alternate room but they said they were full. Normally we are campers, so a hotel room has to be pretty bad before we cannot live in it. But this room smelled bad enough and the beds were not good. We were lucky enough to find another motel just up the road that had rooms available at a similar price. We will not book here again.

Room Tip: I assume we had a bad room. Can't believe that most people would not turn around and leave as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josee L, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dave C
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the Monterey Hotel. We do offer smoking and non smoking rooms and charge a cleaning fee of $200.00 when a guest smokes in a room. I will speak to the housekeeping department as to retrain the housekeeping attendant who serviced the room last.
We have placed duvets on the bed under the bedspread, with can give the appearance of the bed looking lumpy.
Thank you,
The Monterey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
1.1 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau

Property: Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Address: 2259 Prince of Wales Dr, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6Z8, Canada (Formerly The Monterey Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of evergreens, pines and tranquil gardens, The Monterey has breathtaking views of the Rideau River. Known for its resort-style lodging and amenities, it is ideally suited for vacationers and traveling executives. Guests can enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast on-site at The Pine restaurant. Located in a charming stone building, The Pine offers an extensive wine selection, with a summer patio and various meeting rooms. The Monterey Hotel remains one of Ottawa’s most affordable destinations, regardless of its superior service and priceless scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Inn Resort And Conference Centre
Monterey Inn Resort & Conference Centre Hotel Ottawa
Monterey Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing