We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger ever!”
Review of Cafe My House

Cafe My House
Ranked #395 of 2,773 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: International, Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best burger ever!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This die-hard carnivore fell hard for the tempeh cheeseburger with miso gravy. This burger joins the O'brien beef burgers at Hintonburger and the ebikatsu burgers in Japan at the top of my best burger list. The food is fresh, the service is friendly and the decor is charming. Fellow dinners enjoyed their meals as well, but the highlight was definitely the burger!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    16
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome Healthy Food”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife and I have eaten here many times since it first opened. This is a very charming place, small but cute and with a great heart as it is family operated and they are all really nice. Some people may find the food a bit expensive, but considering what you are getting, it's not bad at all. The food is not only fresh but they support all the local farmers; they buy all fresh organic foods, which to me is worth every penny.

You are always severed with a smile, and I have never had an issue with the service. I also have to say the cook is really good because the food is always so delicious and not only that, it is so well presented on the plate as well.

So if you are into the health foods or are a vegan, I suggest you check this place out. I totally recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Montalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I can't remember exactly when I went here but it was when it had just opened. They were already so busy!
The server was very friendly and apologetic when he asked if we could share a menu. They didn't have enough yet! This was perfectly fine with us. The sever handled it very well and it was completely understandable since they had just opened and were so busy.

I ordered the banana french toast. This was very very good. (And vegan! to my pleasure). My partner had a vegan "hungry man" style breakfast complete with faux breakfast sausage that he said he enjoyed. My friend went for a non-vegan traditional breakfast of eggs and bacon and she said it was good as well.

The service was a little slow but the friendly service made up for it. I imagine that the service is much better now that they have been on their feet for a while.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant; Delicious meal”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Had breakfast at Cafe My House this morning. It was lovely. A charming, comfortable, contemporary interior & a great menu.

I had the Healthy Start Breakfast & two organic poached eggs. The meal was beautifully presented & delicious, with wonderful grilled vegetables & steamed kale which was still a beautiful bright green. my friend had thevrice bread French Toast, topped with toasted coconunt. Again, it was beautifully presented. We shared a French Press of good coffee (Kicking Horse). It was very good.

The service was couteous & prompt.

I look forward to returning for breakfast & want to now try some of their lunch & dinner menu items.

It is a lovely spot for vegetarians, vegans & non-vegetarians alike, as there is something for everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank htravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is fantastic”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

It's not a strictly vegetarian or vegan restaurant, but the majority of its menu is vegan. The food is creative, healthy, and delicious. It is possibly the best place to go for vegan brunch in North America. I went to New York recently and couldn't find any place that had a comparably vegan-intensive brunch menu with as much variety. (I've also eaten extensively in Toronto, Montreal, Washington DC, Ithaca, and Indianapolis.) The owner's daughter (who also works there) is vegan, and she knows her stuff, which is partly why it's so vegan-friendly.

My favorites are the Healthy Me Breakfast, Mini Macrobiotic Burgers, and the Creamy Soba Noodles. My partner loves the breakfast bagel, and I've heard rave reviews about the tofu scramble. CMH also has quite a few gluten-free items, both for brunch (i.e. vegan buckwheat pancakes and French toast), and lunch/dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela_Vegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe My House also viewed

 

Been to Cafe My House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing