We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Ottawa East
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I went to this hotel on summer vacation. I booked this hotel on the Hotwire. But the hotwire did not noticed the smoking room. I have child, but they gave to me the smoking rooms. I want to move to non-smoking room, but they said to me "WE HAVE ONLY SMOKING ROOMS". And I entered the room, I can smell the stench of cigarettes. We could not sleep there. Finally I moved other hotel (Holiday Inn), and I paid a lot of money. But We could sleep comportly. I think this hotel is really junk.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Min-Ki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose E, General Manager at Travelodge Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest, I apologies for the error in your booking through the third party site, it does happen from time to time. We were unable to provide you with a non smoking room when you arrived as we were sold out, however I completely understand your frustration. If in the future you wish to ensure the room type is available before you arrive I suggest calling the hotel directly to book or call and confirm before you arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 566 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked along our trip and had a coupon. They appently didn't go together So they led us cancel the booking and accepted the coupon.
We got a good room with all the necessities.
the room was clean, beds were good and although the windows were at the parking lot, it was all quiet. Certainly a motel to go back to.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIETER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose E, General Manager at Travelodge Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your encouraging words and comments, we are always happy to assist our guests at any time. We are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Staff were very helpful , very close to 417 with Mcdonalds , Subway , Swiss Chalet and Tim Hortons all within walking distance . Rooms were small ( including bathroom), very dated and did not offer queen size beds. Our son liked pool and free Wifi with password for his "toys", down side was they did not have or offer hot tub .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose E, General Manager at Travelodge Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Hello and thank you for sharing your stay at the hotel. I'm glad your son enjoyed the salt water pool and the free WIFI however disappointed that the hotel was not everything you were looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location is good for those wishing quick access to the 417. I had a king size bed which was very comfortable but took up most of the room. No problem as long as you don't plan to live in your room during your vacation. The staff was very friendly. The room was quiet, parking adequate and a Tim's next door. I would quite likely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dansyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose E, General Manager at Travelodge Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your positive review, it is most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

If it was not for the very helpful staff then this review whould be worse. Stayed Canada Day weekend so expected it to be busy but did not expect people barbequeing in the car park !
Hotel is tired and rooms very dated. The hotel is too far from town and not in the nicest of areas to warrant the prices There is a half reasonable restaurant attached but you can't take drinks back to the room. How childish! Much better value available elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captaingeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose E, General Manager at Travelodge Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay with us. I am sorry you found the hotel less than adequate but pleased you found our staff helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This place seemed more like a 25 year old motel than a Travelodge. The place was more of a truckstop than hotel. My 3 of 5 rating is generous.

Rooms are small and outdated. Not a nice neighbourhood. OK bar/restaurant across from the entryway. For the money, there are way better places to stay in Ottawa, not far from here. Recommend driving the extra 10Km into Orleans where there are some very nice, new, quality hotels for probably the same price.

Room Tip: Hey, if you smoke, they have smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellTravelled440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose E, General Manager at Travelodge Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Hello and thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay with us. I’m sorry the hotel was not everything you were looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel was shabby. We had a room with a king-size bed, for which the room was too small. There was hardly room to change your clothes. The old air-conditioner was so noisy it couldn't be used at night if we wanted to sleep and the weather was hot.
We accidently left a camera on the bedside table. Even though we went back to get retrieve the camera, within 1/2 hour, it was gone!! Hotel staff were not helpful concerning our "missing" item.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iris_adamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose E, General Manager at Travelodge Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest, as mentioned when we spoke regarding your lost comera we are indeed very sorry the camera has been misplaced, we understand those memories can never be replaced. There are hundreds of items reported as being left in hotels, and many in fact are, so many in fact we have a system in place to deal with them. If your camera is found we will be more than happy to forward it to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa West
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
#32 of 68 in Ottawa
215 reviews
4 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#33 of 68 in Ottawa
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
7.1 mi away
Quality Inn Orleans
Quality Inn Orleans
#62 of 68 in Ottawa
180 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Ottawa East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ottawa East

Address: 1486 Innes Rd | Gloucester, Ottawa, Ontario K1B 3V5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: $76 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Ottawa East 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Canadian adventure begins at the Travelodge Ottawa East hotel, less than 10 minutes from downtown Ottawa. From family to business travelers, our Ottawa, ON, hotel offers a great location and comfortable stay for everyone. Sleep soundly at our Travelodge hotel, then plan your day using free Wi-Fi Internet access. Enjoy comforts like free oversized-vehicle parking, guest laundry facilities, and dry cleaning service. All guest rooms come equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Get the most out of your stay with 24-hour front desk service from our friendly staff. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly Ottawa, ON, hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Ottawa East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Ottawa East Hotel Ottawa
Travel Lodge Ottawa
Ottawa Travel Lodge
Ottawa Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing