We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Huge surprise to find out that parking garage was closed. No warning.
Hotel is tired and dirty (especially elevators).
Staff only made excuses for problems: "not our fault".
Horrendous construction noise; no chance to sleep in.

Room Tip: Don't book here
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrickdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADOttawa, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Patrickdolphin,

Thank you for sharing your feedback further to your recent stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience of our parking garage closure caused you. We did find out about it need to close the garage until very close to your arrival date, and although we did attempt to contact all our guests to advise them of alternate driving instructions and parking arrangements - we were unable to reach all of our valued guests.

The city construction in conjunction with the light rail system implementation, combined with the completion of our hotel's exterior refreshments - are certainly taking the toll on our team's ability to keep a "spotlessly clean, well maintained hotel".

Sincerely not an excuse - our current reality.

Please give us another try to change your opinion of our hotel. All will come to an end by early November - so we do look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Warm Regards,

Kristine Dempster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 809 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Reasonable enough hotel.....room was comfortable.....some of the fixtures looked a little tired. Free internet is much appreciated.Attached Restaurant , Southern Cross is good. We had breakfast there......eggs Benedict, excellent!
Horrible construction going on in the area. Hotel parking was $18 / night, which given the state of the entrance and the challenge getting to the front of the hotel, was, i thought , a little high.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzfuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADOttawa, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear PC138,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience our parking garage access and the city construction outside our hotel caused you.

Our team is looking forward to the completion of the city work (preparing for the light rail system implementation) - due for completion at the end of this week immediately outside our hotel. As well the completion of our exterior renovations and interior enhancements - we are excited to share our refreshed new look!

I do hope that you will stay with us again soon -our Southern Cross staff would be delighted to prepare another order of eggs benedict for you to enjoy too!

Warm Regards,

Kristine Dempster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Radisson is a nice place to stay near asian town. Many asian restaurant near the hotel.

10 minutes away from walking to parliament hill.

The hotel is confortable, elevator a little bit slow. Even crowded on some week-end, I will return to this low budget hotel but it's a Radisson and it worth the price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lespas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADOttawa, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear JPL01,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback further to your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that our exterior refreshments did not deter from your stay. Our team looks forward to their completion at the end of September.

I do hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit Ottawa - it would be our pleasure to host you again!

Warm Regards,

Kristine Dempster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson Ottawa Parliament Hill in August 2013. This hotel is very well located to explore Ottawa. The Parliament and is about a 10 minute walk and the Byward Market is about a 20 minute walk. There are not a whole lot of restaurants right around the hotel, but lots of options once you start heading towards Byward Market.

Since we had a car, we had dinner in the China Town area, which is a 5 minute drive away. There are a whole bunch of Vietnamese restaurants within this small area, and the restaurant we went to had great food (not sure what the area is called, check with front desk).

There was construction going on in the hotel but we were not affected by it. Rooms were clean and well stocked. Parking in the garage next door was easy. For the most part you will be able to park and exploer the city on foot if you are up for it. The is also BIXI bicycle stand close by if you would like to use the public bicycle system.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecaribou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADOttawa, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear thecaribou,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback further to your recent stay with us.

Our proximate location to Chinatown and the Parliament Buildings and House of Commons, with Sparks Street a stones throw away, makes us convenient for our guests to walk and enjoy all that Ottawa has to offer.

I do hope you will consider our hotel as your "preferred business address" the next time you visit our Nation's capital - we would love to share our refreshed look with you!

Warm Regards,

Kristine Dempster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Got a decent deal on this place at the last minute on Priceline. It is nothing special. Needs a major overhaul. Hopefully they are redoing everything. Right now the common areas are dingy. The carpets do not appear to be vacuumed anymore. The elevators are beat up and sketchy. The rooms are average. The bathroom fixtures are in need of replacement. I was pleased to find the dial-a-bed adjustable mattress. The large flat screen TV was nice but cable choices were minimal. The entire hotel has a funky smell. Kinda like smoky furniture. Not sure if smoking was permitted in any rooms. The parking garage is small and the spaces were extremely tight. $18 daily with in/out privileges. It's within walking distance of some places but Byward Market & the University of Ottawa are a little too far. You take your chances with places like Priceline. I'd say this was one of those times when it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADOttawa, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Grant R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback further to your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our team, I would like to sincerely apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

I am delighted that our Sleep Number beds afforded you a comfortable night's sleep.

Our hotel, is currently in the final stages of completing our exterior renovations, scheduled for end of September. Once the hotel take our "wraps off", will allow natural lighting to return to the interior of the building, while we will reveal our hotel exteriors' newly refreshed look.

Our product improvement plan will continue in the interior through the end of this year, to include new guest room casegoods, to compliment the refreshed bedding program, carpet, and vinyl the hotel recieved last year. In addition, we will be implementing one cup coffee makers, Ihome MP3 clock radios, and several other brand amenity items to further delight our guests.

I do hope that you will consider "checking back in, to check us out" again in the future!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our renovated hotel!

Warm Regards,

Kristine Dempster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Although the hotel was undergoing renovations during our stay, we were not bothered by it. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to all the attractions. It's also pet friendly and their is a small park at the end of the street and a walking trail where you can walk your dog. The restaurant was very good, but extremly busy. We waited more then an hour for breakfast. The waitress was very apologetic and we were not charged. I ordered room service for dinner and that was very prompt and the burger & fries were excellent. It's not a 5 star hotel, but if you are looking for a clean hotel in a great location you won't be disappointed here. We'll definetly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spencer123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADOttawa, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your important and balanced feedback.

We pride ourselves in delivering a "value centric" guest stay experience. No fuss, a simple, comfortable, and affordable restful nights sleep.

I hope you will chose our location again on your next visit to our Nation's Capital!

Warm Regards,

Kristine Dempster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

While the lobby appeared to be fully renovated, the whole building is cloaked in scaffolding. No way to get any sort of view out of the room. AC wasn't working in the hallways, it was stuffy. David at the front desk was very helpful. Due to a mix-up, we did not have a reservation, but he did his best detective work to try to find out what happened, to no avail. He managed to find us a room with "2 queen beds". I say this because due to renovations, beds were taken and replaced into the rooms. We had a queen-sized headboards, but came to the conclusion after the 1st night that they were double beds (and the mattresses were very firm, aka hard (not a good sleep). Told this to Francois at the front desk, who promised to note that for future bookings. It was the only time in 3 months the parking lot was being cleaned, we had to park at the National Hotel (formerly the Delta) for the first night (there 2 nights). Left the car there for both nights, National honours the Radisson nightly rate. Still, it was an inconvenience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADOttawa, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback further to your recent stay at our hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory stay due in part to the exterior renovations taking place at our hotel.

We too, are looking forward to the completion of our exterior project, expected end of September followed by the removal of the scaffolding following to reveal our refreshed new look!

I can definately appreciate how this would contribute to your less than satisfactory stay, combined with the inconvenience that the regular maintenance to our parking garage (meant to ensure a "spotless" sense of arrival for our guests) further placed on you.

The team at Radisson would appreciate the opportunity to "make it right" - so please contact me directly - so we may discuss and resolve your concerns to your satisfaction.

It is our desire that you return to Radisson Ottawa Parliament for future visits to Ottawa!

Warm Regards,

Kristine Dempster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
0.0 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
ARC The Hotel
ARC The Hotel
#23 of 68 in Ottawa
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill

Address: 402 Queen St, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $131 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Parliament Hill hotel is within walking distance (less then 10 minutes to the Parliament Hill, and at very close proximity to the Supreme Court. The By Ward market is accessible via a leisurely walk toward Sparks Street Mall and can be reached within 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Ottawa
Ottawa Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing