We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Got a good deal on hotel so paid $65.00 per night. Was there over the weekend so didn't have to pay for parking as we parked on the street. Close to all major attractions. Safe neighborhood. Nothing too special but good location and nice staff. I would return to this same hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We really try our best to make our guests stay as comfortable and worry free as possible. I'm delighted you did enjoy our great city of Ottawa.


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 811 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were in room 913 for 3 nights from June 17-June 20, staying here on government business. We got the government rate which included breakfast. For the price this hotel charges we expected much better and left disappointed. Here is the good and bad...unfortunately more bad.

The Good
--Beds were VERY comfortable, making for a very good night's sleep.
--Hotel staff on the most part were friendly...front desk, cleaners, etc. They were always smiling and friendly and greeted you in the halls and elevators.
--Toilet paper, towels, soap, shampoo were always new each day, never having to worry about running out.

Neutral
--The Hotel room is dated and furnature shows signs or wear/age. For the price one pays one would expect better/modern.
--Yes there is currently renovations/construction going on with the hotel, but unlike others, it didn't bother us.
--When we booked the room we were only given the option for 2 double beds. Upon checkin they said they gave us a room with 2 queen beds. Upon entering room, it was 2 double beds. Do they not know???

The Bad (so much)
--Absolute worst was the poor excuse for a parking garage. The parking spots are small...very small...and most say to back in which is next to impossible without someone guiding you in so you don't hit the car next to you or the concrete pillars and then you barely have enough room to open your door. Where there are sections with parking for 3 cars, reasonably only 2 cars should be allowed to park.
--Don't put your suitcase or bags down on the floor of the garage as there is a nice layer of dust/sand/dirt on the floor of the garage.
--As others have said, you pay $18 parking as a hotel guest, but if you leave and you want to come back before 2pm or 3pm, good luck in finding a parking spot in the garage that you already paid for.
--Bathroom comes with a bath/shower combination, but you can't have a bath as there is no plug for the bathtub.
--Toilet got plugged up easily so we called housekeeping and they came and unplugged the toilet. However the guy didn't lift the seat and left drops of water from the plunger on the seat...gross!!! Also he left foot prints from his shoes on the bathroom floor.
--Elevators often took forever with some waits up to 5 minutes.
--Elevators - On the 3rd day the 2nd elevator was not working.
--Ice machine was broken on the 3rd day so had to go to different floor...fine we can live with that.
--Internet is limited...ie have a download limit and have to pay if you want to use extra. This luckily was not a factor during our stay.
--Internet was very slow at times (other times fast) and sometimes became frustrating to use/unusable because of the slowness.
--Breakfast - When we booked we were told we would each get a $10 voucher, but the vouchers were for your choice of 1 of 5 preselected breakfasts...tip not included.
--Each day we arrived to an almost empty restaurant for breakfast, but each day they had school groups so the areas were reserved...Day 1 we were put into the cold back corner and service was slow. Day 2 they said they had no room and we said we had to be at work by 8:30am. They didn't seem to care and didn't offer us the bar or any alternative options. We sat at the available seats at the bar which we preferred to where we sat in the back corner the previous day. Service was fast and efficient at the bar. Day 3, they were about to tell us again they had no room, but then found the 1 available table.
--Breakfast - Each day I ordered the egg (ok) / bacon (bland) / toast (very good) / potatoes (yuck...didn't order potatoes the next 2 days). Day 1 and 3 came with a thin sliver of orange and half a strawberry...Day 2 didn't come with that. They too cheap to give a whole strawberry???
--Got an email on day 2 about their new government rates being $10 cheaper...why didn't they apply the discount to us for our remaining 2 nights?
--Upon checkout, their computers were down.

Conclusion
As it is now, we do not recommend people stay here on business or at all for that matter especially if you are driving. We have stayed in better quality hotels for 1/2 the price. 2 of the reasons we chose this hotel as one of the government recommended hotels in the area was for breakfast and parking, both of which did not live up to our expectations.

How to make it right
Refund us for 1 of our night's stay of the 3 nights we were here. We see you have done that for other guests.

Room Tip: Don't drive if you are staying here as parking is very difficult in the underground garage.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MapleLeaf1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for the Review. On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at the hotel in regards to the Parking Garage. I do deeply apologize. I appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the . I welcome for you to contact me thus allowing us to provide you the 100% satisfaction gurantee you deserve.


Kind Regards,
Darryll Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Construction work going on inside and outside the hotel. The noise starts at 9 am and lasts until about 5 pm, during this time, guests are not allowed to use air con or open windows regardless of how hot it gets. The fact that they are doing construction work is not notified to people booking via sites like trip advisor. The gym is closed for renovations, although they do offer the possibility of using the gym at another nearby hotel (but who is going to go offsite?). The cheeky thing, is that despite all this, they are still charging full fare for rooms! I complained and got a discount (one night free).

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pablo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor Review.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Radisson we deeply apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at the hotel. We are working on improving the hotel. We appreciate the feedback.

Please accept our apology and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me any time.


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here in early June for work. I was in room 702 and my colleague in room 708. In both rooms, the air conditioners were unbearably loud, neither of us have very much sleep for the two nights. I believe room 702 is worse than 708. I advised the front desk staff that they should not put anyone in room 702 until they fix it as it is unbelievably loud - the air conditioner starts clicking every 20-30 minutes, and gets louder and louder - even to the point of sounding like ducks quacking - quite something. Was fully exhausted after my stay there. I even took a video of the air con to show my husband the level of noise when I got home - pretty crazy!

Like others, we found the location to be great. We ate at Mystiko the first night and loved it, a lovely walk over there.

The bed was great, the room was very clean (carpets could be updated though, very dark and dated).

We ate breakfast at the hotel both days, and really enjoyed it both days - the staff at the restaurant were great, and the breakfast was good (free range eggs, multigrain bread that they call "brown bread," and good potatoes).

Unless we see that this hotel goes through an update, we won't stay here again - their wifi is very slow and the air con needs to be updated desperately.

Room Tip: ask for a room with updated air con/heat if they have it
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for the Review. On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at the hotel in regards to the A/C and updating of the hotel. We are working on updating the hotel as we speak.

Again I do deeply apologize. I appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Centrally located, well appointed, clean and comfortable. It was a quiet haven after 14 hours of driving. Very close to parliament buildings, so being able to walk around that area to get a bit of exercise was a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend of May 31st - June 2nd as we had a wedding in Ottawa. There's not much to say about this hotel, other than I am glad we paid a discounted rate as booked it blindly through Expedia's unpublished rate option. I would have been upset if we had paid the full amount charged for a room. First off location: it's a good 20-30 minute walk (about 2.5 km) to Parliament Hill. A reasonable walk in my opinion, depending on the weather. Parking: the attached garage does not belong to the hotel and costs $18/day. It's a little tight in there and I'm glad I drive a compact car. You do have in/out privileges sort of. You obtain a ticket from the machine which has your license plate # on it. You can go and come as you please, but there is no guarantee you will find a spot when you return. I would suggest only paying for 1 day at a time (the machine will give you a multi-day option). On weekends, the street parking around the hotel is free and you can park over night. We couldn't find any spots on the street on either night and paid for parking in the garage (we had no trouble finding parking spots in there). The front desk: the staff are friendly and efficient. The room: very basic (we had a standard room with a Queen bed). It wasn't very big and the furniture was a little dated. It suited our needs, but I wouldn't want to have had an extended stay there. I had breakfast at The Southern Cross restaurant attached to the hotel and regretted it. The server was awesome, but the food was over priced. I paid $20 (including tax and tip) for bacon, two eggs, a cup of coffee, and glass of orange juice. Save your money and walk down the street to the Tim Horton's. Overall, this hotel is fine for a short stay and worth the price if you get a discount on the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IWantToSeeTheWorld31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review, On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at the hotel in regards to the room itself. We are planning on upgrading the room itself in the next few months, but I really do appreciate your feedback.

Please accept our apology and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.


Kind Regards,
Darryll Hunter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel is fine except for parking. Use in and out privileges at your own risk of returning to find no parking spots left. Radisson charges $18 per day and does not disclose this issue. The staff were reluctant to reconcile considering there were several groups of guests without a parking spot after paying. The room keycard holder has a small motto stating that if for any reason you are not happy with your stay a full refund will be given. You would probably have to hire a lawyer to argue your point on that. Hotel will serve your needs, but any incident requiring them to return your money will prove difficult.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank George_N905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
0.0 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
ARC The Hotel
ARC The Hotel
#23 of 68 in Ottawa
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill

Address: 402 Queen St, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $132 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Parliament Hill hotel is within walking distance (less then 10 minutes to the Parliament Hill, and at very close proximity to the Supreme Court. The By Ward market is accessible via a leisurely walk toward Sparks Street Mall and can be reached within 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Ottawa
Ottawa Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing