We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new favorite in Ottawa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Ottawa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“My new favorite in Ottawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

The Sheraton has recently become my new favorite place to stay in downtown Ottawa. I have travelled to Ottawa before on business and stayed at other hotels, but the Sheraton has so far been the best. The service is excellent. The reception staff are efficient, and I also appreciated the wait staff in the restaurant, as well as the bellhop. Tom, the server in the restaurant in the morning, was friendly, efficient, and very accomodating every time I went down for breakfast. Francois, the bellhop, was always very helpful and friendly, and goes out of his way to help everyone that crosses his path.

I chose a room on one of the upper floors and did not notice the hotel as being noisy at all. The rooms are well kept, and though they are a bit dated, they make up for this with nice furnishings. Also, the front desk gives guests tickets for the breakfast buffet, which is AMAZING (even the continental breakfast is wonderful).

This building is also near Parliament, and a reasonable distance to the byward market.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlebear0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    308
    115
    35
    14
See reviews for
149
178
39
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

This hotel is in a good location but, the windows are poorly sealed, and the walls are paper thin. This is the loudest downtown hotel I have ever stayed in. I could hear the person on the other end of the phone in the adjoining room. When I asked to change rooms they were less than willing to help and told me they were full ( which I later found out to be not true ). As r.eported by previous reviews, the bedding is very nice but don't expect a good nights sleep due to the noise

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loriWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, Director of Sales at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
My name is Desmond and I am the Director of Sales at the Sheraton Ottawa. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel and that your concerns were not adequately addressed. Kindly contact me and let me know when you are back in Ottawa. We will insure you have a quiet and restful stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

I stayed here for 5 nights for business in Ottawa...a regular city for me to visit on business. This was my first time at the Sheraton and loved it. Fast check in, super (super staff) and a huge room. The pillows, bedding and mattress were pristine. Room: spotless. Crisp white...wicked pillows and well...I was in heaven. The shower was fabulous...nothing worse than a weak or pitifull shower head and the one in my room was outstanding. Great location, good meeting rooms and the food served during meetings was top notch. This will be a return hotel for me for sure!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodthingsinlife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights, in a Club Floor room. The beds are wonderful, free internet, and the continental breakfast and evening hors d'oevres were excellent, especially when combined with the very attentive service provided by Ian, the attendant in the lounge. I normally stay at the Westin but this hotel is actually a lot more convenient to a lot of the downtown offices.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario , Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

I recently stayed in this hotel on a professional conference for a 6 nights. What a nice hotel! My room had a king -sized bed (with pillows galore) that was extremely comfortable and the room itself was very large. The amenities, both in the room & as part of the hotel's complimentary services, were very much appreciated. I had trouble with my TV one night and the problem was promptly & courteously resolved after one quick phone call the the front desk. All the staff that I encountered during my stay were just as friendly & helpful. The pool, while small, was a clean & a treat at the end of each day. Very proximal to all the major downtown attractions & also right on the OC Transpo bus route. Valet parking could be a bit pricey for some ($18/night), but there was other cheaper parking available at a few surrounding lots. Hotel food very good but (as usual) expensive, but the hotel'slocation is within walking distance to any number of restaurants and coffee shops. A clean, reasonably priced hotel in a safe & convenient location make this hotel a winner in my books!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lnlkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Ottawa during a self-made long weekend, to catch up with friends and see a concert in Ottawa. We got an excellent price through Tourism Ottawa for a "Club floor" room with a king-sized bed. The room was clean and spacious; the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed never disappoints, and noise levels were good (we were right next to the ice machine, so there was some late-night traffic). There are aspects of the room that *could* do with some minor upgrading - some wood panelling makes the room feel a little dated, and the washroom is nice but not spectacular. Very minor complaints.

As part of our Club room we got free continental breakfast - both the food and service were excellent (I think the regular breakfast price is $16). We also received vouchers for free evening hors d'oeuvre (5-8pm in the lounge), but were out for those times and didn't make it to that.

The location of the Sheraton is quite convenient - close to Parliament, Rideau Centre, Byward Market, Canal and all the things you normally see when in Ottawa. It's right on the main bus routes to get you to the airport (we took it mid-afternoon, not too much hassle) or to Scotiabank Place (where our concert was held) or anywhere else in town (remember that a Day Pass is good for two adults or a family of four on weekends!).

I would definitely stay here again, particularly with the type of deal we got through Tourism Ottawa.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

A central location, friendly staff, and the usual Sheraton comfortable rooms all added up to a predictable stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roomtoview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
ARC The Hotel
#21 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Lord Elgin
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#19 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Ottawa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Ottawa Hotel

Property: Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Address: 150 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Ottawa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Ottawa is located in the heart of Canada's capital. Our Ottawa accommodations, featuring newly refreshed guestrooms, are just steps away from several of Ottawa's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sheraton Ottawa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Ottawa
Ottawa Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing