We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many drills (and a sander and hammer too)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have been a Starwood Preferred Guest for years. Usually use Sheratons if I get a chance. On Business/Holiday, booked in no mention of renovations, next morning sometime before 7am people started to move furniture around in the room above us. Then still before 7 hammering and drilling and at seven sanding the floor. Complained told it would not happen the next day and was only being done because they were behind schedule.

Starwood Preferred Guests Lounge not available either and the breakfast provided instead was pretty craby (read that as English understatement)

Next day, same performance. Not again. Booked out was very reluctantly gived a slight reduction in the price. No compensation for ruined time off in an otherwise hectic biusiness trip.

Why when you book can they not tell you upfront that there are problems with the hotel rather than burying it in small print deep in the booking form?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timandjulie1076977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 764 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

There was no valet when we arrived late at night, instead of accepting the car keys we offered her the check in clerk told us to go outside and wait for the valet to return. I asked for a wine glass, she told me to go to the bar and ask there. Not very welcoming and not what I expect from a Sheraton Hotel.

In our room the disappointment continued, we were right by the elevators and the room had 2 beds instead of the king that we booked. The piped music from the elevator lobby was clearly audible in our room. I called "guest services" asking that it be turned off but was told that she had no control over it but she could see if she could find another room that we could sleep in but leave our bags etc in the existing room. I declined the invitation to wander the hotel corridors half dressed in the middle of the night. When we climbed into bed we realized that the 2 beds are not even queens but doubles with barely 10 inches between the bed and the wall.

We have a poor room compounded by a callous attitude... If you are visiting Ottawa stay at the Marriott Residence around the corner instead.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank kabloonak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Well I travel a lot for work and for me an hotel room is more then just a place to sleep. I work long hours in my room and usually stay in the hotel when I am not shooting on location. Long hours of editing in a small and filthy room not my cup of tea! So this is why I love to stay at an Starwood hotel, specially this one! The location is great, the staff is friendly and experience, one of the cleanest hotel you can find. Comfy rooms and beds. This is a full service hotel with concierge, porters and valet. I would recommend. They even have fresh water for your pet in the lobby!

Room Tip: Any room! the ice machines are in a quiet room with a door so the rooms will not get the usual distu...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Epicure30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hello Epicure30,

Thanks for taking time to share your experiences at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel.

Maybe on your next stay you can get some work done in the Sheraton Link and people watch with a cup of Starbucks at the same time.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

For starters you couldn't get a better location for a business hotel in Ottawa, right in the heart of down town and a couple of blocks walk from everywhere. The hotel itself is a typical Sheraton, so it's predictably average in that regard. The rooms themselves are variable, there has been some refurbishment this year so some are brand new and others are a little faded. The gym and lap pool are good and never crowded and the club floor is fairly decent with nice snacks in the evening. The restaurant has a new chef who does standard traditional dishes well, although as is typical for a hotel the price is not particularly good value.

The thing that sets this Sheraton apart though are the staff, they have an immense capacity for making you feel welcome and somehow effortlessly remember the names and likes/dislikes of dozens of regular visitors. This personal touch is what has me returning every time I visit Ottawa.

Room Tip: Request a King at booking as they have often allocated them all by check-in
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My spouse and I stayed Friday night in Ottawa, Sept 28, after spending several hours at the Ottawa home design and cottage show. We stay at this property a few times per year and this stay was among the best. After dining at a local restaurant Friday evening, we enjoyed a nightcap at Sasha's Bar before retiring for the night. Bartender Ricardo was his normal welcoming self and he fixed our drinks perfectly - gracias! Saturday morning, we thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast at the Carleton Grill and the service of our waitress, Sylvie. The very large selection of cold and hot foods was appreciated, particularly because it featured many very healthy alternatives. We look forward to our next stay in Ottawa at the Sheraton on Albert Street.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask for a room on level 10 or higher to avoid the street noise
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had to make a last minute trip to Ottawa and found a good deal with the Sheraton. They were very accomodating and I found the overall experience very good. I would certainly stay with them again. All of my meetings and such were within walking distance which was great.
Next time I hope to stay longer and take in the many sites!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hello LS,

Thanks for taking time to share your recent experience at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your quick visit, and we look forward to welcoming you once again. Hopefully you'll have the opportunity to explore downtown Ottawa at the same time!

Best Regards,
Rob Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at a very busy time as a lot of families were there like us dropping kids off at university. Check in was speedy and our room was very nice. However, we were invaded by ants and they very quickly moved us the next day to another room. We never ate in the hotel restaurants but the food on the club level was fine, not amazing or anything but sufficient. We parked in the hotel garage and it was fine as was the wifi within the room. Beds were very comfy and slept well. The hotel is walking distance to Sparks St, Parliament and Rideau Centre a great location to set off from.

Room Tip: Check that the room does not have those little ants. We were on the club floor and got access to fr...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetinabudhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,085 reviews
ARC The Hotel
#23 of 68 in Ottawa
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
2,136 reviews
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Ottawa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Ottawa Hotel

Address: 150 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $131 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Ottawa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Ottawa is located in the heart of Canada's capital. Our Ottawa accommodations, featuring newly refreshed guestrooms, are just steps away from several of Ottawa's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Ottawa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Ottawa
Ottawa Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing