We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Check in Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Vancouver
Level Contributor
206 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Poor Check in Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

This is not my first stay at this hotel
I arrived at the hotel at 22:30 knowing I had asked for a late arrival. I asked if the restaurant was open as my flight time was around 14 hours and I was hungry. I was told it was closed and at the same time my room is not ready due to our computers being down they should be up in 35 or 40 minutes. Tired I said could I leave my bags here and go into the bar for a glass of wine while I wait, she said sure. I go have at $13.00 dollar glass of wine(this is the average glass price??) I return to the desk and asked if my room was ready, I was told "I guess so" and the colleague working with her said try this room it should be clean?
This hotel was a nice boutique hotel but it is becoming less so. The Trio staff are great

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffkVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    653
    255
    88
    37
See reviews for
325
385
96
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

we stayed a couple of nights , the hotel was very clean , staff polite , friendly and really helpful, the location is good , close to just about everything a visitor would want , a nice little touch was the computers ( free ) in the lobby, so if you wanted to find or check something , it took only a couple of minutes, I would have no hesitation to go back to the Novotel

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

I have been to the Novotel Ottawa twice so far. The first time I was rather disappointed by it (tiny room, very slow Internet connection, unhelpful staff), but I thought it might have been a fluke. After having just visited it for the second time, I now think that the hotel is simply poor.

Here are some of my criticisms concerning my most recent visit:

1. There was somebody else's half-eaten apple in my room's garbage.
2. The garbage and recycling were never emptied during my stay.
3. When I asked for a plastic spoon during the evening the front desk staff was EXTREMELY unhelpful. No effort made at all. The front desk staff the next morning was more helpful.
4. I found somebody else's eye mask under my bed.
5. The hotel has automated minibars which means that you cannot store anything else in it because the sensors would go crazy. You have to ask for an additional fridge for which they may charge you (unless you have medicines that need to be refrigerated).
6. One of the two chairs in my room was wobbling.
7. The rooms are all incredibly small. Not as bad as in Quebec but much worse than anywhere else in Canada.
8. There was a pile of paper underneath my desk to prevent it from wobbling. Not very pretty.
9. The hotel is more expensive than other comparable hotels.

The only plus of this hotel is its location -- it is very close to the Rideau Centre and to the Byward Market.

But apart from that it is consistently a disappointment -- and I do not at all understand why many government agencies and the University of Ottawa continue to use it as their hotel of choice. Avoid it and you'll be happier!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

We went to Novotel for a Winter Get Away in Ottawa. The location is amazing, it is literally a 20 second walk to the Rideau Center (Shopping Mall) and 2 mins from the Byward Market. It is within walking distance to all major attractions as well. The hotel itself is quite nice, very modern and fresh. The room we got was very nice. It had a king bed with a little desk area and a pretty nice bathroom. The Hotel staff were very nice and polite. We didn't use room service, so I'm not sure how good that is, but overall I was very satisfied with our stay and when I return to Ottawa I will definitely stay here again.

Ottawa is a beautiful city to see. I stayed or 5 days and still didn't get to see everything. I would definitely recommend everyone to visit this beautiful City.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank permic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

We just left Ottawa from a 3 night stay at the Novotel. It was a really great stay for us. We were looking for something close to the downtown Byward Market and shopping and this hotel has the most wonderful location. Steps to the mall and right on the edge of the market.

Our room was nice. We upgraded to a Junior Suite for 30 dollars a night. We had purchased a deal allowing us to get 3 nights for the price of 2 which worked out to be a total of 135 each night after discount and including the upgrade. I found that to be a suitable price for the room. The bed was comfortable and sheets were soft. Lots of pillows as well.

There were some signs of wear ans tear in the room. The wall paper was seperating in some areas but overall we enjoyed the room.

We ordered breakfast in our room every morning and it was very good. We also ordered dinner in our room one night and loved that we could order hagan daz ice cream. Such a treat.

The hotel was fairly quiet when we were there which was a nice change from usual weekend traffic. Even though our room (714) was right next to the elevators we rarely heard anything at all.

Service was always prompt and polite and very friendly. We will stay again for sure

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

Beware, travelers with disabilities: "accessible" rooms are accessible only because the doors are wide enough and there are grab bars. Space is standard and nearly impossible to use in an average power chair. No space next to toilet, no shower bench, no walk-in shower. The pool is up a flight of stairs, with no access. Breakfast buffet involves a trip through the back kitchen and up a steep ramp if you use a wheelchair. Staff are rude and restaurant service is minimal.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JessiElanaAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed in a renovated «Novation room» which is nice and european style room. The hotel is well located close to the Rideau shopping center and to the Byward Market(restaurants).

The only problem is the size of the room. It is so small that when you are working at the desk, your partner cannot move from one side to the other side within the room.

Besides that, everything is OK: clean, nice gym, indoor pool.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Lord Elgin
#20 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#10 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Property: Novotel Ottawa
Address: 33 Nicholas St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $23+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing