We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cozy Place to Stay”
Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Vaughan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cozy Place to Stay”
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We went to Novotel for a Winter Get Away in Ottawa. The location is amazing, it is literally a 20 second walk to the Rideau Center (Shopping Mall) and 2 mins from the Byward Market. It is within walking distance to all major attractions as well. The hotel itself is quite nice, very modern and fresh. The room we got was very nice. It had a king bed with a little desk area and a pretty nice bathroom. The Hotel staff were very nice and polite. We didn't use room service, so I'm not sure how good that is, but overall I was very satisfied with our stay and when I return to Ottawa I will definitely stay here again.

Ottawa is a beautiful city to see. I stayed or 5 days and still didn't get to see everything. I would definitely recommend everyone to visit this beautiful City.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank permic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    667
    259
    90
    40
See reviews for
334
392
96
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We just left Ottawa from a 3 night stay at the Novotel. It was a really great stay for us. We were looking for something close to the downtown Byward Market and shopping and this hotel has the most wonderful location. Steps to the mall and right on the edge of the market.

Our room was nice. We upgraded to a Junior Suite for 30 dollars a night. We had purchased a deal allowing us to get 3 nights for the price of 2 which worked out to be a total of 135 each night after discount and including the upgrade. I found that to be a suitable price for the room. The bed was comfortable and sheets were soft. Lots of pillows as well.

There were some signs of wear ans tear in the room. The wall paper was seperating in some areas but overall we enjoyed the room.

We ordered breakfast in our room every morning and it was very good. We also ordered dinner in our room one night and loved that we could order hagan daz ice cream. Such a treat.

The hotel was fairly quiet when we were there which was a nice change from usual weekend traffic. Even though our room (714) was right next to the elevators we rarely heard anything at all.

Service was always prompt and polite and very friendly. We will stay again for sure

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Beware, travelers with disabilities: "accessible" rooms are accessible only because the doors are wide enough and there are grab bars. Space is standard and nearly impossible to use in an average power chair. No space next to toilet, no shower bench, no walk-in shower. The pool is up a flight of stairs, with no access. Breakfast buffet involves a trip through the back kitchen and up a steep ramp if you use a wheelchair. Staff are rude and restaurant service is minimal.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JessiElanaAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed in a renovated «Novation room» which is nice and european style room. The hotel is well located close to the Rideau shopping center and to the Byward Market(restaurants).

The only problem is the size of the room. It is so small that when you are working at the desk, your partner cannot move from one side to the other side within the room.

Besides that, everything is OK: clean, nice gym, indoor pool.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Like everyone else says, location is terrific! Rooms are very small and the beds do take up most of the space, but who travels just to stay in the room?? It's meant to be a place to sleep!! Big comfortable bed with nice pillows (not hard like others). The staff is friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast offered at 13.95 is a good add-on, well worth the value!!!
Free Wi-Fi is a nice bonus. That's all the good...The one bad thing, is the parking. 4 levels underground and very tight. SUV's & pick-ups beware !!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-Stinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BhamUK08
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2009

With a conference scheduled at the Westin, this location was an excellent (more affordable option) only one block away. The location is situated close to wondeful resturants, shopping, and sightseeing. A stylish modern decor. Overall wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhamUK08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Not bad for a 4-star hotel in downtown Ottawa. Very conveniently located next to the Rideau Centre and very near the Byward Market. Room was modern and clean, however, the King Size bed took up most of the floorspace...very little room to walk around. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very good. The buffet was $13.95 but you could also order a la carte if desired. I recommend a la carte...it will be cheaper than the buffet price unless you intend to fully stuff yourself with 2-3 visits thru the buffet line. The only real detractor to this visit was the hotel elevators. There are three elevators but one was out of service for complete replacement. At times during my 6-day stay, only one elevator was functional and my room was on the 8th floor. Even with two elevators working, you can expect to wait 2-3 minutes for the elevator to reach your floor and then expect the elevator to stop on EVERY floor on the way down or up. Therefore, give yourself 5-10 minutes to get from your room to the lobby or vice versa. Also, expect to be crammed into the elevator like sardines by the time you reach the lobby. I talked to the elevator maintenance man and he said that the hotel plans to change out all three elevators so expect the two-elevator (or one) configuration to remain constant for the next several months.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Property: Novotel Ottawa
Address: 33 Nicholas St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $23+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing