We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,655)
Filter reviews
1,655 results
Traveler rating
405
796
298
108
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
796
298
108
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rideau centre albion rooms byward market great location parliament hill breakfast buffet walking distance renovated room front desk staff king bed junior suite central location two blocks heart of downtown underground parking les suites major attractions
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 1,655 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2017

This was our first time to Ottawa - I was there for a work conference and we wanted to stay a few extra days to explore the city. We got a great deal on the Novotel through TravelZoo, and it included their complimentary breakfast buffet. We were thrilled with the hotel. Service was excellent and our room was very nice. Not huge, but plenty of space. The bathroom was very modern and had a lovely shower. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The breakfast buffet was very nice - held in a very nice room with lots of seating. We appreciated the more unique options, and especially the lovely jam selection.

What really made this hotel stellar was the location. We were almost across the street from Byward Market, and only about two blocks from the Parliament Buildings, etc. We would absolutely recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again if we are lucky enough to visit Ottawa a second time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yusqueya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear yusqueya,
Thank you for such a great review! It is always greatly appreciated to receive such positive feedback from our guests and we do thank you for taking the time to share it. We are very fortunate to be in such a great location that caters to everyone's needs. I am glad you enjoyed your stay as well as The Albion Rooms restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Middle of the down town and and around all the great landmarks . Service was fair though the there is no free break fast. One thing that impressed me is having to extend by hour so that I can leave late in the day and the hotel allowed me for a charge.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Seth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Seth r,
Thank you for sharing your experience with Novotel Ottawa with the TripAdvisor community, we value your feed back. I am glad you enjoyed your experience and that we were able to accommodate a late departure for you. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back next time your travels bring you to Ottawa!

Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

We stayed for a week. Staff were very helpful. We were upgraded and even though there was more floor space there was less storage. Only one cupboard for hanging clothes - no clothes drawers. The hotel is very close to the Byward Markets, Parliament House and you can walk across the bridge into Quebec.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper ask to be located away from the ice machine on each floor
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Prue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Dear Prue B,
Thank you for sharing you experience with the TripAdvisor community and we do appreciate your comments. I do apologize for the limited storage space in the room that you were registered in, I will share the comments with my team and see if there is a way we may make changes.
Ottawa definitely does have some great attractions and we are fortunate to be near by them all.

We look forward to welcoming you back,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

The Novotel on Nicholas Street in Ottawa is located ideally for all the sites and places you'd like to get to in Ottawa. Comfortable room and bed...probably equipped with the quietest air conditioning unit that we have ever experienced in a hotel! There was no mini bar in the room as such, tv great, desk area, nice and quiet.. We utilized their late check-out ...$10 per hour... for a few hours on our last day to accommodate our late flight and that worked out great.We had four nights in this hotel, enjoyed the Albion Rooms restaurant downstairs for a lovely evening of drinks and charcuterie. Breakfast provided by the hotel every day was excellent. Lots of choices from a Hot and Cold Buffet and ala carte items if that didn't suit your fancy. There was a pool and exercise room hidden deep in the halls on the 5th floor. The pool didn't have much appeal. I think the gym is shared with the Suites hotel next door and seemed well equipped. As for the location it's a quick walk to everything, the Byward market, the parliament buildings , etc. It can be a little sketchy on the market side in one small area but if you avoid that route, you'd never know it was even there! And it's still safe, just seems to be a proliferation of homeless types in one area. The Byward market for us wasn't particularly appealing...abit of a zoo but you are spoiled for choice in the restaurant department. It's right across the street from the big shopping center called the Rideau Centre... filled with a great variety of stores and everything you'd want. Great stay in a great City!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Skyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Dear Skyegirl,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we greatly appreciate your comments.
I am glad that we met your expectations and yes we are lucky to have a very quiet cooling system!
The Albion Rooms restaurant is definitely a true asset to us and its great that you got to experience their best.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

Central location for this novotel. We spent one night in a nice room on 9th floor. Very modern room clean and refreshed even USB port close from the bed! Good room service as well. Parking under the hotel. Very nice hotel for ottawa!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank rodolphed44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Dear Rodolphe D,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Novotel Ottawa with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the services we have to offer. Hopefully we can welcome you back your next visit to Ottawa!

Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews