We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,631)
Filter reviews
1,631 results
Traveler rating
395
785
297
106
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
785
297
106
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrideau centrealbion roomsbyward marketgreat locationparliament hillbreakfast buffetwalking distanceking bedfront desk staffjunior suiterenovated roomhotel lobbycentral locationtwo blocksdecent hotelheart of downtownles suites
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 1,631 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2017

We stayed for a week. Staff were very helpful. We were upgraded and even though there was more floor space there was less storage. Only one cupboard for hanging clothes - no clothes drawers. The hotel is very close to the Byward Markets, Parliament House and you can walk across the bridge into Quebec.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper ask to be located away from the ice machine on each floor
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Prue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Dear Prue B,
Thank you for sharing you experience with the TripAdvisor community and we do appreciate your comments. I do apologize for the limited storage space in the room that you were registered in, I will share the comments with my team and see if there is a way we may make changes.
Ottawa definitely does have some great attractions and we are fortunate to be near by them all.

We look forward to welcoming you back,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

The Novotel on Nicholas Street in Ottawa is located ideally for all the sites and places you'd like to get to in Ottawa. Comfortable room and bed...probably equipped with the quietest air conditioning unit that we have ever experienced in a hotel! There was no mini bar in the room as such, tv great, desk area, nice and quiet.. We utilized their late check-out ...$10 per hour... for a few hours on our last day to accommodate our late flight and that worked out great.We had four nights in this hotel, enjoyed the Albion Rooms restaurant downstairs for a lovely evening of drinks and charcuterie. Breakfast provided by the hotel every day was excellent. Lots of choices from a Hot and Cold Buffet and ala carte items if that didn't suit your fancy. There was a pool and exercise room hidden deep in the halls on the 5th floor. The pool didn't have much appeal. I think the gym is shared with the Suites hotel next door and seemed well equipped. As for the location it's a quick walk to everything, the Byward market, the parliament buildings , etc. It can be a little sketchy on the market side in one small area but if you avoid that route, you'd never know it was even there! And it's still safe, just seems to be a proliferation of homeless types in one area. The Byward market for us wasn't particularly appealing...abit of a zoo but you are spoiled for choice in the restaurant department. It's right across the street from the big shopping center called the Rideau Centre... filled with a great variety of stores and everything you'd want. Great stay in a great City!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Skyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Dear Skyegirl,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we greatly appreciate your comments.
I am glad that we met your expectations and yes we are lucky to have a very quiet cooling system!
The Albion Rooms restaurant is definitely a true asset to us and its great that you got to experience their best.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

Central location for this novotel. We spent one night in a nice room on 9th floor. Very modern room clean and refreshed even USB port close from the bed! Good room service as well. Parking under the hotel. Very nice hotel for ottawa!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Rodolphe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Dear Rodolphe D,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Novotel Ottawa with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the services we have to offer. Hopefully we can welcome you back your next visit to Ottawa!

Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

Location of hotel is very central to almost everything; parliament buildings were 10 minutes away, Byward Market is less than 5 minutes away, other government buildings were all walking distance and Rideau Canal is close by . The Rideau Shopping centre is just across the street. The room was excellent for cleanliness and staff were attentive except one small glitch pertaining charging our room again when it was already prepaid before check in. Still awaiting for resolution from the Novotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenren2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Dear Tenren2299,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Novotel Ottawa and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very centrally located and just steps from all the great attractions.
I am sorry to hear that there has been an error with the billing and will follow up with our team. I can also be contacted directly if the problem has not already been resolved at nicolasglucksman@novotelottawa.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future,
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

The best thing about this hotel is the location, from there it goes downhill. We were greeted by a receptionist who made no effort to be welcoming or informative. We were not given breakfast vouchers and were embarrassed the next morning when asked for them in the restaurant. After I had booked in I checked my credit card account and found that the hotel had put a hold on my account for $600 more than the booked price. When this was querried I was offered all sorts of excuses and reasons and was told that I would have to wait until the next day for the manager to sort it out. It was sorted out the next morning but I recieved no apology just excuses. The Junior Suite was a good size but the carpet was dirty with many stains in both rooms. The couch was also stained and uncomfortable. This hotel needs renovation and staff training.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Pkhoadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Dear Pkhoadley,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Novotel Ottawa and please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms however the rooms that remain to be updated should still are to be at our standard for cleanliness and it sounds like this was not the case for the room we provided to you.
In regards to the entire front desk experience, we have followed up with our staff to ensure that the problems encountered both with the arrival experience as well as the billing issue do not occur again.

I do hope that if your travels bring you to Ottawa again that you might give us another try so we can meet your expectations.

Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews