We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be much better”
Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for one night on Canada day - Figured for the price and a last minute booking, this was reasonable and extremely well located. I loved how we were just ten mins away from Parliament and steps away from all major downtown attractions.

We arrived early in the morning and were able to use their parking (23$/day) from 8am and the price paid was good until the following day 3 pm. Checking in was simple and fast, I got the room a couple hours before I expected it to be ready.

I stayed in the "superior king room" as listed, on the 6th floor, not much of a view as it was facing the Rideau Centre mall parking lot and a new construction site,but quiet enough despite being right by the elevator.

Pros: bed was very comfy, firm mattress, soft sheets, comfy chairs, nice renovated bathroom with large shower (basically they just took out the bath tub and replaced with glass doors). Free and functional wifi.

Cons: and this is the biggest one!! The air conditioner was not cool at all. We walked in to a hot and humid room, the air was turned off, and for some reason, there is NO ac in any of the hallways either! When it feels like 42 degrees outside, it makes no sense to have such a stuffy hotel because this is going to be everybody's first impression. After leaving the ac on the lowest setting all night, it only cooled half the room.
I have a feeling this is just one of the steps Novotel has taken towards a "greener" alternative. Water pressure for toilet and shower wasn't the greatest either. It was frustrating to see a slow swirl of water when flushing, and more than one try was needed to get the job done.
TV also sucked. We had a small flat screen mounted on wall that could not be re-positioned, the image quality was poor and worse of all, the remote was unresponsive. Just navigating through the menu and selecting desired channel took far too long.
Last of the issues is concerning room service/customer service, the hotel couldn't accommodate to special requests, like they did not have a fan nor extra pillows when inquired. Their housekeeping is not 24/7 so if you're missing any items at night, they can't help you.

Another thing that bugged me, but which is probably standard in many hotels nowadays is the mini bar equipped with sensors. There was also some type of sensor tray for water bottles. It scares me to think that if the bottles were touched or knocked over accidentally, you'd get charged.

Bottom line, this is a perfectly good place to stay if you just need something convenient for a night or two, but you don't expect anything fancy or fun.
Book this for the location and price, but even then, I paid over 200$ for just one night, they could have thrown in a free "continental breakfast" or something...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear me0kat,

I sincerely apologize that your recent stay with us did meet your expectations.

On Canada day the hotel was very busy and many families were requesting extra items for their rooms and this is why we were unable to accommodate extra pillows. I am very sorry to hear that the air conditioner had been turned off in your room prior to your check-in. It was a very hot day and I understand that it must have been very disappointing for your room not to have been as cool as you would have liked. Like you stated, we are a green hotel and we do have energy efficient toliets in the room, so you do need to hold down the handle a little bit longer to flush.

I am glad to hear that you were able to benefit from the location of the hotel.

If your travels bring you back to Ottawa and you would like to stay with us again, feel free to contact directly so I can assist you with any special requests you may have.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
tconstantineau@novotelottawa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Everything about this hotel are good, parking fee charge $23/night, I don't really know why i just stay from Jun 30, 14 to July 1, 2014, 2Days 1night, but parking fee was charged 2 nights? It really doesn't make sense.........weird......

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chucky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Chucky A,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the mistake on your invoice. Upon your departure our Guest Service Agents always confirm the charges with the guest before they charge your credit card. I am happy to see that it was rectified promptly once you verified your invoice.


Regards,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I have been staying here for quite a while for a tradeshow and we always pass up the "show hotel" to stay at the Novotel- great location, EXCELLENT service, and the restaurant is "farm to table" amazing. Michael and his staff have been great and the chef's popcorn in the evening is outstanding! I still remember the dill pickle popcorn we had last October... it's THAT outstanding! Rooms are clean and updated, they even have a shoe shining device near the elevators- awesome touch! I highly recommend and will continue to stay there for years to come. I LOVE THIS PLACE! I look forward to returning year after year.

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome- but don't leave the hotel to find a restaurant- the food here is outstand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Molly0429,

Thank you for your wonderful review about Novotel Ottawa.

We love to get feedback from our loyal guests so we can ensure that we are consistantly providing outstanding customer service.

I will pass along your wonderful comments about The Albion Rooms to my colleagues from the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Ottawa.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great location for downtown Ottawa and all of the sights, shopping and attractions. Have stayed at this hotel several times now and it is always our first choice hotel when visiting Ottawa. Convenient under ground parking which is great in the winter although it does cost $23 a day. Staff always friendly and attentive. Rooms clean and the beds are really comfortable. Our room had a great powerful shower too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NY152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear NY152,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Novotel Ottawa.

As a Senior Contributor, it is a pleasure to hear that we are your first choice hotel when your travels bring you to Ottawa.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Ottawa soon.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank nadavid420
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The staff was very friendly and professional. Rooms are nice and clean with modest but sufficient furniture. The hotel is well placed in a city with short walk to major attractions or congress facility.



  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Ed W,

Thank you for sharing your comments concerning your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa.

I am very pleased to know that you only had positive things to say about your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Ottawa in the future.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 69 in Ottawa
453 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#11 of 69 in Ottawa
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARC The Hotel
#23 of 69 in Ottawa
1,298 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 69 in Ottawa
795 reviews
The Metcalfe Hotel
#18 of 69 in Ottawa
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Address: 33 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#20 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $135 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $28+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing