We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms, but breakfast not so great...”
Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights during the Winterlude celebrations, the place is clean, but the buffet breakfast was not very good, despite the extensive selection, everything was either over cooked, or simply tasted like it was freezer burnt. I would suggest to go outside to have breakfast to a place like "Chez Cora".

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,459)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Ottawa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Overall, I was satisfied with the hotel, check-in was easy, room was clean, staff was friendly. However there are a few things that, in my opinion, were very poor.
1. I had ordered the breakfast option with my room and had prepaid for the option. When i asked at the check-in for some details about how it works, and where it is, I was told that I did not have that option. (even though I had prepaid 30$ for this) I actually had to show them print out of my charges to prove that the breakfast option was included..
2. On th website, it was stated that check out time was 5pm on sundays (complimentary) Seems the staff was unaware of this policy since they told me I was chardged half a days charge for checking out late... I had to wait for them to sort it out with managers.

Besides theses 2 problems, I was happy with the hotel, however would not stay there again because of the miscommunication between all the staff and what the website promises.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hailey_156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at Novotel in Ottawa from December 28th 2012 for 3 nights in a Suite and I have to say I was thoroughly impressed.

The suite was nice and so was the washrooms. The front desk staff and cleaners were all very friendly. Parking sucked at $20 or so a day (but that's what you get for downtown Ottawa).

This will be my go to hotel when we're back in Ottawa.

The pool change rooms could have been a bit cleaner but it didn't bother me too much.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the suite as they were really roomy.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good hotel - very central. Parking is $23/day extra. If you park on the weekend, just pay the parking lot $8/day instead of the hotel's $23. WiFi didn't work for some reason and hotel staff didn't seem interested in looking into why. Not too big an issue, but a bit annoying I couldn't use the tablet. Instead they have some Macs downstairs which are internet connected. Pool was well used by the kids.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph_Hoflich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I attended a conference held at the Westin Hotel, however it was booked up so I chose to stay at the Novotel across the street. I had stayed here two year prior attending the same conference, and it was under renovation. The rooms have been updated, and are very nice for the price of the room. Breakfast was very good offering continental and full buffet options, along with a la carte selections. The restaurant staff was attentive, and very courteous. Although it was *very* cold out, a short walk across the street gets you into the mall and conference center. walk through the mall, and it takes you into several blocks of very good restaurants. The only negative I can say is the the fitness center is small and is shared by an adjacent hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the interior are very quite.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjriccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0tel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Though my first impression was not very great about the hotel but soon i started liking the hotel.There were no bell boys to carry the luggage to the rooms.But a staff from the front desk help us reach our rooms.I know it is a budget hotel and has limited services but bell boy i guess is a must for every hotel.Now for the room ,the room was very neat and clean,also spacious.Had a nice Kings bed with good washroom .The Hotel has a nice indoor swimming pool which can be used in winters also.The location of the hotel is also very central you have the bay-ward and other markets just 5 mins walk from the hotel.Overall i recommend this hotel for a stay if you are in Ottawa the capital of Canada.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same i guess.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinayLohia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
2,137 reviews
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Address: 33 Nicholas St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $133 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $28+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing