We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Kolkata
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Though my first impression was not very great about the hotel but soon i started liking the hotel.There were no bell boys to carry the luggage to the rooms.But a staff from the front desk help us reach our rooms.I know it is a budget hotel and has limited services but bell boy i guess is a must for every hotel.Now for the room ,the room was very neat and clean,also spacious.Had a nice Kings bed with good washroom .The Hotel has a nice indoor swimming pool which can be used in winters also.The location of the hotel is also very central you have the bay-ward and other markets just 5 mins walk from the hotel.Overall i recommend this hotel for a stay if you are in Ottawa the capital of Canada.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same i guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinayLohia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    662
    256
    89
    37
See reviews for
326
388
96
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is certainly its location. It is very close to Byward Market, a convention center, there is a big mall across from it, and it is walking distance from the Parliament Building. The room was ok. The bed was comfortable, and everything looked clean, but if you are used to the big European Novotel rooms you will notice the difference, it is not tiny though. The staff was really nice and helpfull. The only downside of my stay was a fire alarm in the middle of the night. All the guests went down, firefighters came in, but there was no fire. The elavators were shut down and everybody had to use the stairs to go back to the rooms. We had no explanation about what was going on, and 3 minutes after I was in bed the alarm went on again, followed by an announcement that it was a system error and we should not leave the room again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Goncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed there for three nights on a business trip.
Best location , near all major attractions and buildings.
Comfortable and clean room .
Volume flow of water in the shower was weak
certainty recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I spent two nights at this hotel.
We booked it online because of its convenient location in downtown Ottawa and because of the room rates. It met our expectations.
The hotel lobby is very modern and has several free computers for guests. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and overall what you would expect at a Novotel.
The hotel is centrally located, close to many sights and a short walk from the Market.
The front desk staff was helpful and accommodating.
Overall, this hotel is definitely good value for money. I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Ottawa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollandtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place gets high marks for location on the edge of the Market, right beside the Rideau Centre, close to the Hill and museums and galleries.

It loses marks for its stark modern design that is cold and not very comfortable. Tiny bedside shelves are part of an IKEA-like headboard, with built-in lights that too low to actually light up one's nighttime reading. The pillows were awful - flat and limp.

The bathroom doors are two swinging panels that don't actually meet or lock, so not great for those sharing a room. My room only had a shower which was disappointing. The elevator requires a room key and mine did not work well.

Room did have a fully stocked mini-bar, coffee maker and safe which did hold my laptop.

I got a very good last minute deal, so it was good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pengAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed here for one night on a snowy December evening. From the moment we walked in, we wished we had longer at this hotel. Check in was easy, I was asked if we wanted a room with views, any floor I liked, and was provided with area maps and detailed directions for car parking. The car park contains an elevator which allows you to go to and from your room floor.
Our room was spacious and the bed was very large. Pillows were a little too soft. Others have mentioned the glass bathroom door, this didn't bother us, it's stained glass and you can't really see through it.
Location is excellent, close to the Rideau centre (literally across the road) and just two blocks from the Byward Market.
Breakfast at the onsite restaurant was wonderful, the best croissants I've ever had!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutieb00tie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Property: Novotel Ottawa
Address: 33 Nicholas St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $23+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing