We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and great, great staff!”
Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I recently stayed there from November 19th til 22nd. It's the staff that make this a great place to stay. There is no one that is not too busy to help with any concern whether it's big or small. It's located mere steps from the fantastic Rideau Mall but more importantly it's a 2 minute walk to Byward Market and 10-15 minutes from the Parliament buildings. The first night I did not sleep because my room was too near the air conditioning vents outside of room. I kindly asked to be moved and within 5 minutes I was in a new room on other side of the building. This is a great place to stay. The rooms were clean. The bed was very comfy. My only complaint and it's a small one is that there was no tub and only a shower. It was a beautiful shower however I enjoy a nice long soak after a long day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Capette123,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
dannyponte@novotelottawa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good hotel in an excellent location in downtown Ottawa close to the Byward market, Parliament buildings, Rideau Canal etc.very quiet building. A comfortable clean room and good beds. Room was a little smaller than normal but overall I was pleased and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Retired424,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
dannyponte@novotelottawa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runoo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My family and I stayed here on November 9th 2012. We arrived early and when I went to see if I could park the car in the garage they saw I was with my infant son and told me to make things easier for my family they would check us in early. We recieved a bigger room to fit the crib. The hotel is very modern and offers free wifi. It is extremely close to the market and Rideau Centre. I would highly recommend this place and definately would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brodzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Brodzki,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
dannyponte@novotelottawa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We've stayed at this Novotel several times before and it's pretty standard. Locatiion is great, close to everything in the downtown. Rooms are quite small -- ask for a corner room (these are larger and you don't feel as cramped). Also ask for a higher floor as the street noise can be noticeable. Front desk staff are GREAT. The first night, we had a bad problem with noise from guests in the next room. It was past midnight but they were having loud conversations (seemed like more than two people) and then started playing loud music! This had never happened before in previous stays at this hotel as most guests are in Ottawa for business and don't party. We called the front desk, and someone came up within 10 minutes to check. The music stopped but talking continued. We requested a room change the next morning and the front desk was very accomodating. On our return after meetings, we moved to another room and had a quiet comfortable rest of our stay. The mini-bar set-up is a landmine -- don't touch or pick up any item unless you want it or you'll be billed for it! My husband picked up one of the bottles of water but put it back -- we didn't want it and never drank it, but guess what -- they're on sensor pads and as soon as you pick something up (even if you replace it), you'll be charged. We didn't realize this until we were at the airport (we had a 6 a.m. flight and weren't looking at the bill too closely when we left). A minor thing but annoying. I don't think we're the only ones who've noted this issue.

Room Tip: Higher floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear JJ503,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I would be glad to remove any item form the minibar that was charged to you that you didn't consume. Our minibar attendants verify all sales from the minibars on a daily basis, and give us a list of all items that were vended but replaced.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
dannyponte@novotelottawa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is comfortable, but nothing espectacular. I enjoyed the location, near Byward Market and a shopping mall. I didnt need to use public transportation while I was there, because everything is near. Breakfast is good, bot not cheap. The hotel offers good free internet and also some computers at the lobby. The use of the minibar is extremelly unfriendly and unpleasant. They have a control that simply locks the door of the minibar from time to time, and then you have to ask at the reception to unlock it. Moreover, if you simply move the itens they detect and the expense is included in your bill. They also say that you can't use it with your personal items and that if you do they will take your items out of the minibar. I've already been at Accor hotels around the world (France, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Brazil, ...) and i've never seen anything like that. Extremelly unnecessary and annoying. I also had problems to park my car, since i temporarily lost the access card and they wanted to charge me another day just to let me leave with the car without the card (the 1st parking day was not over, but i would have to pay another day just to be able to leave with the car cause i had to return it to the rental agency)...another problem when i was leaving...i used a voucher from aclub and they didnt consider it on the bill...i had to return to the hotel to ask them to correct it...the money was refunded to my card in about 3 days....So, i cant say its a bad hotel and maybe I was not lucky, but i would probably try other nearby options in future visits to Ottawa. I've already have better experiences in other accor hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asbarreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear asbarreto,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Ottawa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
dannyponte@novotelottawa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here for a conference and it was everything I needed. Centrally located, immaculate with all the necessary comforts to feel at home. The fitness centre was small but serviceable and the front desk staff was helpful when needed. My only issue was with the card access elevators that worked sporadically at best. They were the only headache that I remember. And having stayed at even other hotels close by I know the parking rate was good in comparison. I would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank DairyQueen9139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear DairyQueen9139,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
dannyponte@novotelottawa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
430 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,137 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#10 of 68 in Ottawa
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Metcalfe Hotel
#18 of 68 in Ottawa
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Address: 33 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#20 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $126 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $28+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing