We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK StAY!”
Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is ok, room is average service is average, I wanted a bath tub but only the 2 doubles had bath tub. we had a room with a king & shower. I did not like the lobby decor too modern for my taste. I would stay here again if I had to. Hot tub was not working and too many people in pool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank west154992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelRM, Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear west154992,

We appreciate all of the feedback you’ve given us concerning your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear that the hot tub wasn't working properly during your stay and that your room and service were not up to your expectations. We strive to give the highest level of service to all of our guests to ensure a memorable experience.

If possible, could you contact me at the hotel so that we could discuss things further? Please call our toll free number and ask for my office. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Mark Thompson
Director of Revenue Management
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 838 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is located only a short walk from the Byward Market area and most of the major attractions are easily walkable from here as well. We were very pleased with the location. Lobby was nice, check-in was pleasant and the room was pretty nice as well. The only complaint we had about the room is the bathroom door - privacy is a tad lacking. The parking garage was easy to find (though you do have to keep going and going and going to get to the hotel's lot all the way down.) We didn't take the car back out until we left, so I can't comment on ease of in and out. Would recommend this place others who want a decent hotel in a good location for walking around the city.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank wraar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Spent one night here as part of our driving vacation. The room is very spacious and we weren't tripping over our luggage like we were in other rooms we stayed in. Hotel parking was right next door and easy access to the hotel, in and out privileges were easily setup. A short walk to the Parliament buildings. Our second stay at a Novotel and very pleased again. Just - remember to check to see that the windows are closed before going to sleep - otherwise that explains all the street noise you may hear during the night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theteflonpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear theteflonpm ,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Well it is one of theses new concept hotels: no valet, no porters. The location is great, next to the market and next to Rideau shopping mall. It is a quiet hotel, friendly staff, good security, you can only access your floor if you have an access card. Rooms are great, small but nice. Just one thing please get me real glasses not the plastic ones! I felt like I was in a cheap motel! please revise the price of your bottle water in the rooms it is outrageous! I could purchase 2L OF COLD WATER for the price of one 500ml. It is almost great beside that. I would go back and recommend but not at full price.

Room Tip: Well here is the QUESTION: look behind the painting on the wall and you will find a secret switch! T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epicure30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My company just wrapped up workshop in the Red Experience room at the Novotel Ottawa. We were very impressed with the service we received. Making our banquet booking was a breeze with the relevant contact names and information being readily available online in the form of a pdf file. I thought this was a great idea as it provides customers with a contact list of all personnel involved with meeting and banquet bookings. The sales and banquet staff we dealt with were extremely friendly and accommodating. I'd like to mention Jill G. who helped us with every aspect of our event even going as far as setting up our powerpoint presentation and making sure everything was to our satisfaction. She demonstrated a high level of professionalism and efficiency which we greatly appreciate. Another special mention is Barry J. who provided us with excellent customer service, he was friendly and interacted well with our clients to provide them with a memorable experience of their time with us at the Novotel. We will definitely consider booking further workshops and events at the Novotel Ottawa.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praveeni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Everything you want here and more. Beautiful room with extremely comfortable bedding. All amenities you may wish. Courteous staff.
Breakfast is a gorgeous buffet.
Free wifi is fast and working well. Cabled internet also available in the room for more reliable data xfers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

It's hard to think of a better location for a hotel to be in Ottawa. Located in the heart of downtown, walking distance from the Rideau Center and the Byward Market.

The hotel itself is rather quaint, and relaxing. The need to use your room key to reach the upper (room) floors is a nice security notion, but can be annoying.

The breakfast assortment is standard, but leaves a bit to be desired for Kosher/Halal seekers.

The concierge/front desk staff are absolutely wonderful.

Assistance with luggage is a critical point the hotel is lacking, as I had to hassle with around 4 bags myself, taking them in, one by one.

The king room I stayed in was clean and the internet speed was great.

The TV system is also rather good.

I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
431 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,139 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#10 of 68 in Ottawa
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Metcalfe Hotel
#18 of 68 in Ottawa
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Address: 33 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#20 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $128 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $28+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing