We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and modern hotel.”
Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and modern hotel.”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This is a very modern hotel in a perfect location. The price is very reasonable... In my opinion, one of the more affordable hotels in Ottawa. Its right accross the road from the Rideau shopping center, about a 2 min walk to the Byward Market and 5 min walk to the Rideau Canal and Parlement. The rooms are a little on the small side, but there is enough space. The bathroom doors don't give a huge amount of privacy, so if this is an issue for you, that's something to keep in mind. The hotel has room service, a pool, fitness center and a restaurant... We didn't have a chance to try any, but they all looked nice. I would reccomend this hotel, and will stay there again for sure on our next trips to Ottawa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    667
    259
    90
    40
See reviews for
334
392
96
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Very dissapointed. I was expecting something much better such as Novotel Paris or even Montreal. No such luck.

The design of the hotel seems to have been an after thought of construction. It is connected to an adjacent suites hotel. I think it was originally a twin tower and it didn't work and they made rooms.

There is no elevator access to the parking. Not convenient for luggage.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Location is just steps from Parliament, great restaurants and short distance from ViaRail. Rooms are very nice and quiet but the customer service for rooms and business is outstanding. Competition wanted double the rates for everything. Good job guys, i will be back.

Room Tip: Smile and they wlll offer anything you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Like every one else, the location is excellent! It is easy to get to and from 417. Although the parking lot leaves a little to be desired, many of the spaces would only fit a compact car and the elevator only serves one level. It might be better to park across the road at the Rideau Centre parking lot.As has been noted the rooms are compact but are adequate.The swimming pool and hot tub are a nice feature, however a good distance from the elevator. A co-ed steam room would have been nice rather than separate. I found the staff both friendly and effecient .
Good value for a downtown hotel, especially if you are able to take advantage of their specials.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here during NHL Allstar Weekend Jan 2012. The staff were helpful. Location was excellent for shopping & site seeing. 2-3' from the Rideau Centre. The hotel has an unusual layout. The floors are much like a maze with narrow corridors. The rooms are very plain and small. Very little drawer space. A few mirrors on the bedroom/desk wall would give it a larger feel. Bathroom & shower are fine. Room service was prompt with tasty food. The pool was a nice size. Overall the best feature of this Hotel was the location & price. Because of the small rooms - you will not want spend much time in them other than sleeping.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avalon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This was an affordable hotel, with a clean room. We had pool access which was a bonus with the kids. The location is very central and convenient. The underground multilevel garage was also a plus.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnricoNovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Property: Novotel Ottawa
Address: 33 Nicholas St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $23+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing