We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Marvelous hotel on Ottawa.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord Elgin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lord Elgin
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marvelous hotel on Ottawa.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Let me start by saying that Ottawa is an exciting city. Not only is it the capitol city of Canada where government buildings can be seen, but a vibrant city of restaurants and shopping.
The hotel is located in a strategic place for those who love marching bands.
Each morning you can have your coffee while watching the Royal Canadian marching band go by
for the changing of the guard.
The facility provides for all the needs of its guests in a most polite fashion, and is a most comfortable place.
The best fish & chips I ever had was at a little pub on the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Elgin Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed Ottawa. I have grown up here and so am a bit biased, but even with my limited travel, I think it is one of the best cities for living and visiting. It is small enough that it is not unusual at all to bump into someone you know while walking in the Byward Market, or down Elgin Street, yet it has lots of fabulous cultural offerings, being a Capital.

Yes, July is a great month to be here. The guard marches by our hotel each morning enroute to Parliament and back again starting at the end of June until the end of August. In addition, there are lots of festivals going on nearby. We are very fortunate.

We hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again.

With sincere thanks,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    997
    357
    107
    47
See reviews for
501
803
123
670
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location, easily within walking distance of the hill and Byward. Concierge staff are tremendous. Rooms are good but a few pieces short of being really paper end ... TV s are older, no bar fridge. But those are minor complaints. Overall, very good service, clean, comfortable beds.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vitamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, ON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 days. It was in a great location. Close to shops, restaurants, parliament and the Rideau centre. The valet service was slow at check in, and when we needed our car. I say this because the price of parking was ridiculous. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. We turned the heat up because the room was cold, this did not change the temperature in the room, only in the bathroom?
Also the Starbucks closed at 6pm!
Lastly, the staff seemed nice, did not have much interaction with them however.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elyse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Lord Elgin is a wonderful hotel perfectly located so that you can easily walk (10-15 min) to just about any and all tourist areas. The rooms are spacious and the beds were quite comfortable. The front desk staff were more than courteous and helpful in helping us locate destinations and food ideas. The pool and hot tub were clean.
My only negative is having to pay for valet parking.

Room Tip: Choose the park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the Lord Elgin Feb 15th for 3 nights, lovely hotel, rooms spacious. We stayed the last weekend of Winterlude very busy as it was also family day, the hotel coped really well, the staff were all excellent. There is a nice seating area in the lobby, the only downfall was the lifts only 2 working so you had quiet a wait.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise101891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Staying at The Lord Elgin hotel is a wonderful, easy stay. The location is perfect for exploring the town and enjoying the wonderful nearby restaurant precinct. The rooms are very good sizes, with the fitness centre a well fit out facility. The only disappointment was the valet parking. You have to park with a valet but when we arrived there was no valet to be seen. We had to park and locate the man inside the lobby, not stationed at his post. We needed the car on several occasions during our stay and the valet each time was no where to be seen, and the front driveway was often a carpark. It seems as though they either need more staff or better processes in place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at the Lord Elgin for 6 days for business. It is perfectly located in a central location walking distance to Parliament. There are many good redcurrants in the area and walking distance to the Rideau centre and Market which has tons of awesome restaurants and patios for the summer months.

The staff at the hotel are very nice and helpful. My room was higher up in a corner so the view of the park out front was amazing. Only downside was that I was staying in the hotel during a festival that was taking place in the park until really late at night.

The room was perfect! Very clean, spacious, comfortable bed, quiet and felt like home. The washroom was also very clean and upkeep during my long stay was good as room service always came to clean. The room service was also impeccable with breakfast arriving on time to the room steaming hot!
Special points for the Starbucks on site!

Overall, very nice hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manjsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 66 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown
ARC The Hotel
#21 of 66 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Elgin

Property: Lord Elgin
Address: 100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#15 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Elgin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Landmark Hotel in heart of downtown Ottawa: ideally located in the heart of downtown Ottawa - directly across from Confederation Park, the National Arts Centre and steps away from Byward Market, Rideau Canal, Ottawa Shaw Centre, Parliament Buildings and the Ottawa Rideau Centre. Guestrooms reflect Ottawa's elegance. From the tall picture windows, bold tulip inspired artwork, to Biedermeier style luxury furnishings, you cannot help but feel pampered. Ottawa hotel guests enjoy the lap pool with adjoining whirlpool, sauna and fitness and Starbucks on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Lord Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Elgin Hotel Ottawa
Lord Elgin Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing