We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

My wife and I spent a night at Arc The Hotel after we Priceline'd the hotel for $73 USD. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful in assisting us in our vacation.

This was our first experience in a boutique hotel, and one difference that we noticed was that the rooms were significantly smaller than other name brand hotels. However, if room size/balcony is not important to you, then this hotel is a great choice.

Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    426
    174
    82
    32
See reviews for
112
440
94
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

This hotel was only average in terms of the boutique hotels I've stayed at. The rooms are pint sized, although the shower head was amazing in my room - a Waterpik about 3-4 times the size of a normal shower head. Turn down service with complimentary bottled water, apples and chocolates is provided, which was a nice touch. I thought the staff in the lounge was a bit smarmy for my taste (come on - this is Ottawa, not NYC or Miami...), but the martinis were quite delectable. Beware, though, the drinks are Canadian sized, not American sized - so don't expect a 6 oz. martini. They are more like 2-3 oz, but only contact liquor. The gym was hilarious - only a few cardio machines which were incredibly outdated. There were free weights, though. The location is ideal and about equidistant from Byward Market and Bank St/Elgin St. nightlife. Also, less than 10 minute walk to Rideau Centre, which offers decent shopping and amenities. Eat at Eggspectation around the corner on Bank St!

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank missfash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

I had a small room with no view, and the staff could be better trained on locations in the city as well as restaurant recommendations, however, the staff was extremely friendly and I'll admit that I'm probably more discerning than most. I would happily stay here again - it's a cute, centrally located, very clean hotel with great products. It also had an amazing breakfast included with the room charge. On a related note, I thought that lunch was slightly overpriced for slightly better than average food. The vibe of the hotel was a breath of fresh air, however, after staying at an annoying Hilton Suites hotel near Toronto (which I would never stay at again).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tempscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at the ARC hotel recently. Refreshing to stay at this chic place-boutique hotel. Upon arrival we were greeting with a nice glass of sparkling wine and some fine chocolates. Hotel Staff were very friendly and able to provide helpful information about Ottawa. Although rooms were not large, they are very comfortable with a nice trendy decor. Very homey feeling but with a bit of spice! I loved the quality of the beds and the plush duvets. Made me want to stay in bed all day! Ordered Room Service for breakfast (you HAVE to try the french toast, or the smoked salmon!) -arrived in a timely fashion and server was very polite and friendly. Great location of the hotel-within walking distance of Byward Market (make sure you try a beavertail), Parliament Buildings, and Sparks street (famous for outdoor patios!) Had dinner at the hotel one night. Food was excellent, staff were extremely friendly and knowledeable about their wine. Turn down service was great-green apples, bottled water and chocolates were a very nice touch! All in all I truly enjoyed my stay. I will definately be back. It was nice to feel like a person in an intimate unique setting vs. a number in a large everyday place. I would definately recommend this to a friend-you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wino77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

Small, cramped, dark, noisy (could hear every conversation that took place in the hallway) extremely over-priced.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InMyHumbleOpini0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OttawaArc, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2009
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Arc the Hotel. I am sorry to hear that the noise levels in the hallways affected your stay. My staff and I are very proud of the property and the product and services provided. Evidently you did not enjoy yourself during this stay and I would be more than happy to arrange a reservation in the future for you and ensure it is a more favorable experience. If you are so inclined, please contact me at gm@arcthehotel.com. Sincerely, Steve Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

This hotel was booked for me by work for a 9 night stay and even though i had read some reviews stating its flaws i was hoping for better, as i have travel quite abit for work and don't usually take to much of many of these reviews. But listen to me, don't stay here. Well where to start, firstly small room over looking construction site, walls are wafer thin so you hear everything and i was in a King room and the bathroom was tiny.

Secondaly rude front desk staff, when i ask a question i would expect a little more effort in the answer, not just i don't know or a blank look on your face, i'm the guest and a vistor to your city so some help would be nice.

I won't even comment on the lounge/bar.......money, money, money

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmdemoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

Arrived early for check-in around 1.30pm. Room wasn't ready, which is ok as I was supposed to check in at 3, so was told to come back closer to 3, which I did. At 3pm room still wasn't ready, had to wait 45mins more, at 3:45pm room was ready.

Location good, near byward market, and parliament attractions.

Decor of hotel is nice, clean modern look which I like. Room was just tiny, smaller than some University dorm rooms I've been in. Bed was supposed to be Queen but was a double instead. Bathroom had a small sink no vanity counters, and old marble looking tiles, didn't match decor of the rest of the hotel.

At night while sleeping could hear every little noise outside door, other rooms are very close by, was actually woken up many times as I thought someone was in my room as the door shook when other people would open and shut there doors and as I said the room was so small that the bed was pretty much right by the door.

No business center.

Service was always good, polite and prompt, also gave later checkout which worked out well.

Wouldn't consider this hotel again simply because of the room size and noise factor.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JetSetter2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#16 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
The Metcalfe Hotel
#19 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Property: ARC The Hotel
Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing